We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!! This place is awful!”
Review of Dalem's Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dalem's Chalet
Ranked #4 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Augusta, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG!! This place is awful!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

If it was not for my husbands family staying here, we would have left as soon as we walked into the smelly molding room! Just plain awful awful awful. I was up half the night because I could not breath!! ther has to be better places in this town!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
We are very sorry for any discomfort you may have had while with us. As you said, "there must be other rooms in town" but you did choose just about the least expensive one in town. We have 2 more levels in our Inn, both are more modern, have better views and are thus, more expensive. If you had come to the office, we would have been happy to move you to one of our better rooms. Many guests stay in the lower-level rooms and are quite happy with them. We hope you'll come back and try one of our upper level rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    6
    4
    14
See reviews for
15
22
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I knew right away when our party arrived in the unpaved, muddy parking lot during a rainy day that things might not be up to snuff at this Inn. It looked like we were the only people staying here. We were given a room on the first floor. The hallway was dirty and musty smelling. I unlocked the door to our room and had to put my shoulder into it to get it open. Did this place have flood damage? Our room wasn't much better. The carpet was dirty, the bedspread had a huge stain in the middle, and when we went to use the ice bucket in the room they told us there was no ice machine and that they couldn't share their ice with us. Even the alarm clock on the night stand didn't work. If it wasn't so late and we were not with a group, we would have looked elsewhere. Everything was run down, dirty and musty smelling. At night there was minimal lighting outside and the quaint church nearby ran it's bells every hour on the hour, all night long. Others in our party complained of water leaking in the roof and no air conditioning. As another reviewer wrote, this place is old, run down, not kept up and spooky.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
We are terribly sorry for any discomfort. We certainly would have moved you to an upstairs room but no one ever came to the front desk to express their disappointment. We don't know anything about leaky ceilings or many of the things this customer says they encountered. We have plenty of ice. :) Of course, this is our least expensive room and possibly the least expensive in town that weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The actual physical condition of this motel does not correspond with the photos on the website. We booked and paid for a night but ended up leaving before we even unloaded the car due to the poor upkeep of the parking area, stairs, bathroom and oddly spooky and dangerous interior hallway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Womble05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
We are terribly sorry that you were not happy with the appearance of our exterior. We are a small family-owned and operated business and Hurricane Irene left us with extensive damage to our parking lot and retaining walls. We have been working diligently to make repairs but the costs have been well over 100,000 dollars. The hallway behind your room is a fire escape and not usually accessed unless there's an emergency and then lights automatically come on and point the way to the nearest exit. We are very surprised that you did not find your room 100% satisfactorily clean as we get consistently good ratings from all our guests that our rooms are very clean. I'm not sure how you could have rated the "sleeping conditions" if you checked out before you "even unloaded your car" but again, we're sorry for any inconvenience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

While visiting Vermont for a recent family reunion, so glad I chose to stay at Dalem's Chalet...attentive and responsive service adds to the charm of the already warm, old-world atmosphere, complete with wood beam construction in dining and guest rooms (ceilings)...walk the grounds and watch the sunrise over the church steeple and nearby waterwheel, use the outdoor pool (in season), all while surrounded by the beauty of the lush, tree-filled mountains...summer/fall/winter/spring, this is a gracious, comfortable experience, especially when compared to the chain hotel/motels in the area--in fact, Dalem's should have its own 5th season: Anytime!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view--upstairs or down
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cavalier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My wife and I used the Dalem's Chalet for our wedding reception, and it was everything we could have asked for and more. Mrs. Dalem helped us with everything we could possibly need, she was very friendly and flexible. The upstairs hall was great and the views were awesome!!!

It happened to be a very hot, late September day, so having the outdoor decks was a great thing.

The room rates were very reasonable as many of our family members and friends stayed in the rooms and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Now we plan on going up to Brattleboro every September 24 and staying at Dalem's for our anniversary.

Thank you to the entire Dalem’s Chalet staff for making our day so special!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Upon arrival, we approached the counter to check in only to find out our reservation we made online was not an actual reservation for the actual room we booked. The reservation print out we brought listed the exact room and price expected to receive, however, the lady behind the counter was adament that the particular room reserved was not available. This was a big disappointment as we had reserved a room on the top floor and with a private porch. We ended up in a room on the lower floor with no porch access. In fact, we had a second door in the room that entered into a dark unlit hallway.

When we tried explaining to the lady that we had made a reservation for a specific room she was not accomodating in the least bit. She began to get frustrated with us the more we questioned it.

Thankfully we didn't have to pay the same rate as the room we reserved, we'd paid less because the other room was on a lower floor with no porch. I just don't understand why she could take a reservation but then not keep it, that's the most important part!

The room was clean and the views were nice. The TV didn't work at first, then we realized the plug was hanging out of the outlet, which also was exposed with no plate on it. TV was poor quality - but manageable. It was easy to get to and was wonderfully decorated. The hassle of dealing with the innkeeper was not pleasant and was very unfortunate. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Be flexible on what room you want. Or call ahead, perhaps that would help?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ImJustSayingIsAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience. This happens to be the busiest season of the year in Vermont. Our on-line reservation system is not always updated with reservations taken over the phone. This happens very rarely but since it is the busiest time of year, it happens sometimes. I tried my best to be accomodating and tried to explain the situation.

We are happy that you were happy with the views and cleanliness of the room. If we had known there were any problems with the switchplate cover we certainly would of taken care of it immediately. We need to be notified so we can make the repairs.

We hope you'll give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orono, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I and our two kids recently stayed at Dalem's at the end of a two-week trip around the northeast. This was our fifth visit to Dalem's. On this occasion, Dalem's was the last of four hotels we stayed in, including Gaylord National in National Harbor, MD. If Gaylord National is your speed, you won't like Dalem's. We, however, preferred it to the chain experience. Dalem's is personable and homey with old-world charm. We slept to the sounds of crickets and church bells. We found everything to be functional, including an excellent shower with plenty of hot water and lots of pressure. The beds are standard fare and adequate. Given the room rate, this is as expected. This trip was our first opportunity to dine in the restaurant. We had an excellent breakfast with good coffee and plan to time our next visit so we can have an evening meal in the restaurant, which is the most charming and beautiful part of the hotel.
Dalem's Chalet is like a trip to the old world--a step back in time. It is apparent that it has seen better days, but it still has much to offer the traveller interested in something other than a chain hotel/fast food experience. Our children enjoyed the room and their breakfast, absolutely loved swimming in the spotless pool--which they preferred to the pools of the chain hotels--and, despite seasonal allergies, were not bothered during their overnight stay.
As for Mrs. Dalem, she was extremely pleasant and thoughtful. My sense is that if we had had any problems that she would have done what was in her power to address the issue. She could not be any nicer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeasieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
2.9 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
340 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 10 in Brattleboro
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
154 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 10 in Brattleboro
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalem's Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalem's Chalet

Property: Dalem's Chalet
Address: 78 South St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6153
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dalem's Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alpine Lodge and seasonal restaurant. Old fashioned hospitality, cozy ambiance yet modern comfort and conveniences. Seasonal pool, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Facilities to accommodate weddings, parties or business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dalem's Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing