We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with Character! Great view!”
Review of Dalem's Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dalem's Chalet
Ranked #4 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had company coming to town and didn't want to put them on the busy, ugly strip. I didn't want to put them right in the center of downtown and they prefer the unusual, off-the-beaten path kind of places so I put them up at Dalem's Chalet in West Brattleboro. The outdoor pool was beautiful and quiet. It was very clean and half shaded by a huge old Oak tree and half in the bright sun. The setting is rural but on a hillside overlooking a church and mountainside. It's a little dated but I felt right at home and loved the innkeeper. I checked out several rooms because I was renting rooms for 3 families. The lower level rooms are very dated but clean. The mid-level rooms were a bit dated but cozy and sweet with traditional pine beam ceilings and the upper level rooms were much newer with private balconies. The nice thing is that ALL the rooms were reasonably priced especially for the season.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms with a private balcony were really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

I loved staying here! The room was musty but I've stayed in places more expensive but a million times worse. The outdoor pool had a great view. The food was AMAZING. The whole vibe was really quaint and interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julsy709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was a last minute weekend getaway and I did read the reviews here. This hotel needs major TLC. It is very dated but you can see how nice it once was. Room was musty and needed a good scrubbing. It was very inexpensive but it is bare bones.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Visible bedbugs and their droppings in the bed. We checked out immediately without spending the night and I hope we didn't bring any with us! The woman at the front desk refunded our money but yelled at me and vehemently denied it. I was calm and non confrontational (also had my sleepy children next to me in pj's) but she got very angry and refused to come see the room. Also it smelled moldy and the wall to wall carpeting was damp. An awful experience I hope no one shares!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are terribly sorry this customer was so unhappy with our room. She had rented the least expensive room on the lower level for she and her 4 other family members against my recommendation because the room is so small for 5 people. I was very busy checking in other guests and with the diningroom when she decided not to stay so I refunded her money and did not have time at that moment to look at the room. I did go down the next morning with an employee/witness to look the room over carefully. We turned over the matress, we pulled off all the bedding, we checked under the bed, in the corners of the room, and under chair cushions. We could not find any sign of bedbugs or any other kind of bugs. We are a family-run establishment and have been doing this for 48 years and have NEVER had a bug problem. Because of this customer's accusations, I have called the State of Vermont to come and do an extra inspection to confirm the fact that we do not, nor have we ever, had bedbugs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed at the Dalem's Chalet in January with my husband and our dog for 3 days.
I have to admit that it could stand some renovation, but this does not mean the place is dirty or badly kept. People sometime can't distinguish between old and dirty. The rooms have everything you need and unless you are used to 5+ stars hotels, you'll be fine. I've seen many newer places that were much dirtier.
The owner, Mrs Ursula, is a sweetheart. She let my dog stay for free and one afternoon invited me over for a chat in front of the fireplace and some truffles. She has so many stories to tell!
Overall, the price is absolutely acceptable for what they offer and if you are not too picky, this is definitely a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed here for one night on our journey thru VT in early Oct to see the colors. Got great prices from the internet, but made our reservations by phone. The sweet woman running the place said we didn't need a email confirmation, so we crossed our fingers. When we arrived we got the room just fine and pretty much had the place to ourselves (one other guest). The place sits on a bluff up from the main road, so noise was minimal. (The photo of the property is probably 50 years old, so the pond is totally overgrown.) The room (downstairs King) was very spacious, clean, well insulated (walls have to be 12" thick with a wood storm door for winter) with good coffee setup and refrigerator in the room, a wonderful bed but with a low ceiling (which didn't bother us at all). Wi-fi worked but sluggish. We didn't get a chance to sample the German cooking at their restaurant as it was closed that day. Overall, I have to say that this place is a good budget stop for those looking for a non-chain motel run by very friendly down-home folks close to some of the ski areas. We would definitely stay again given the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed at Dalem's Chalet during hurricane Irene and a year later, were very happy with the rooms, dining hall, delicious food, quaint ambience, very friendly service, kind advice about the surroundings, internet connection, adaptability to our needs. A huge wedding party was there last time, and they seemed more than comfortable and happy.This is the place to stay in the Brattleboro area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antanas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brattleboro hotels
2 mi away
The One Cat
The One Cat
#3 of 4 in Brattleboro
33 reviews
2.9 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 10 in Brattleboro
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
327 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalem's Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalem's Chalet

Address: 78 South St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6153
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range: £59 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dalem's Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alpine Lodge and seasonal restaurant. Old fashioned hospitality, cozy ambiance yet modern comfort and conveniences. Seasonal pool, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Facilities to accommodate weddings, parties or business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Dalem's Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing