We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great way to start your morning from May to October.”

Brattleboro Farmers' Market
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Brattleboro
Attraction details
Putney, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great way to start your morning from May to October.”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The farmers market host a wide array of varied vendors. It' s a great place to start out in the morning with homemade donuts and coffee from Ralph as your come in .You can sip your coffee as you stroll about the market checking out the various vendors, before making your purchases,
You will find fresh local vegetables, fruits and herbs... even eggs and local cheeses as well as locally grown garlic from Linda. You can pick out fresh flowers individually for your bouquet to take home. There are potters of all kinds, with pottery for both your daily use or gifts. Herb remedies, massages being given, home made soap and more. You will often find seedlings and potted perennials for sale,depending on the time of the year. You name it they have it ! The other draw is that the vendors are overall friendly and relaxed lending a nice air to the market.
.
Late in the morning, near lunch time.... if you stay that long there is local music adding to the festivities of lunch. Lunch is a wonderful variety of many cruisines. My favorite is Shrii's Kitchen, she had the most wonderful Indian food. Anon's Thai food is very good too.

One of the things I like the most is that each week to some small degree vendors and their wares may change, There are the ones you see every week, but now and then a new one pops up just often enough to add a smidgen of change.

I like to go early in the morning best without the crowds, however lunch time is a treat too. I admittedly try to avoid it during busy tourist weekends ....when it is a little more difficult to more around freely.

The farmers market is definately worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gardnbug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Local, fresh and delicious”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Brattleboro Farmer's Market opens on May 4th. It is not only a wonderful place to buy local fresh produce but the best place to get some great ethnic cuisine for lunch. There is excellent Thai, Vietnamese, African and Greek dishes to name a few. One of my favoritebooths is Newfane Creamery which makes their own delicious gelato as well as fresh ginger lemonade. I also always stop by early to pick up some French sesame bread made by Orchard Hill Bakery and often hang around to see who has arrived for musical entertainment. I live locally and enjoy shopping and meeting friends but if your just passing through it is well worth the stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smadrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern VT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Don't miss it. It has everything. Live music. Local foods. Ethnic specialities. Massage. Pottery. People. Vibe. Goodness all around.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wintertime special outing.”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We enjoyed this market very much. A variety of artisans displaying their work and we found several unique items that we purchased. Vendors were very friendly and shared information about their businesses and about the area. Several had homemade food for sale from hot dishes to sweets. Samples of some items were provided.

The downside was getting a parking ticket while we were visiting the market. Unfortunately for us we were unaware that they do not have free downtown parking on Saturdays as is the case in Halifax, NS. It seemed a cash grab from tourists with foreign license plates and soured our opinion somewhat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maedl-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Year Round, a Real Feast!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A vibrant and bustling event outdoors every Saturday morning, May through October, as well as indoors during the colder season, this is the best Farmer's Market in Southern Vermont. We find a bounty of produce, fresh meat, and bread (not to mention crafts) every week, year round. And we've always been delighted with the quality of the food, as well as the value. Don't eat before going to the Market. There are food vendors on site that offer the best the market has to offer!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brattleboro Farmers' Market also viewed

 

Been to Brattleboro Farmers' Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing