We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place and Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place and Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Forty Putney B&B and it was a great experience. The house was gorgeous, meticulously cared for the innkeeper Rhonda. Great hospitality! It was comfortable and quiet with a nice view. Rhonda made us a delicious breakfast the next morning. It was great! A very nice quaint area. It was so nice we purchased a gift certificate for our one of our sons to experience.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful, can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
369
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast was exquisite. Rhonda was so welcoming at yet not intrusive. She was a gracious host and though the property was absolutely beautiful Rhonda will be the reason we return. The Pub was inviting and the location perfect to explore the surrounding restaurants, cheese factory and maple syrup farms. The gourmet breakfast was delicious and the continuous supply of coffee and tea was much needed on our wintery stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you! You have made my day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived a little late in the evening and had a bit of difficulty seeing the entrance to this lovely spot. But once in, and warmly welcomed by Rhonda, a wonderful weekend began. We stayed in the coach house and were delighted with the room and all the amenities. Clearly someone put a lot of thought to ensure that all needs had been considered. Six others from our extended family also stayed at this Inn as we had all come to Vermont to attend a wedding nearby. We really appreciated having the in-house pub and the very attractive spacious living room - we made great use of both as we caught up on news.
Others have already commented on the gourmet breakfasts ( brunches!) but truly they are deliciously impressive and served with elegance. My husband and I will definitely look for another opportunity to stay here. In fact, I want to see that fabulous Japanese maple in full summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have stayed at Forty Putney Road twice this year, once in the Summer and again in the Fall. This residence is clean and very homey. Innkeeper, Rhonda is very welcoming and serves a killer breakfast, We had a great time in the Tavern right on the first floor,there are some great beers and vine available at very modest prices. We shot a few games of pool and did a splash in the huge hot tube. Its within walking distance of the many downtown Brattleboro restaurants. Rhonda, we weill be back.

Ed and Kate
Wallingford CT

Room Tip: Each room has its own special charm, we have stayed in both the carriage house and the main house, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Loved it! The inn was comfortable, nicely decorated, and had all the amenities. We stayed in the Ripley Suite. The bed was very comfortable, the sheets luxurious. The innkeeper was the perfect combination of welcoming, informative, and personable without being intrusive. The food was imaginative, well prepared, and delicious. The walking trails adjoining the property were just right for a stroll to the Grafton Cheese Factory without having to take the car. Centrally located for easy access to highway, restaurants, and shopping. Make sure to try the hot tub! We will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neenee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a stunning boutique B&B, with exquisite rooms and fantastic service - including a gourmet breakfast. I was only in Brattleboro for one night and while it's not the biggest town, I certainly felt like I should stay a little longer to enjoy the scenery and hospitality. It's no cheap B&B, but it's not marketed as such. It's a special retreat with a great host in Rhonda and her team.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our room (the Maple Room) was utterly charming, clean, and well-stocked with everything from snacks to toothbrushes! The breakfasts were an absolute treat: always two courses, and Rhonda, the innkeeper, is certainly one of the more creative and enthusiastic cooks I've encountered in a B&B.

The common areas were homey but not frilly, and the pub (open late afternoon to early evening) is welcoming; a great place for wine or beer, and for chatting with fellow guests. A variety of coffees and teas are always available, plus there's a pool table and, in its own little building, a hot tub room (our trip was too quick to try this out, but it looked nice and clean). Rhonda was always available to attend to our needs, and she and her small staff were welcoming and helpful to everybody there, in our experience.

My partner and I had had a civil union ceremony elsewhere in Vermont ten years ago (we're from PA), but we chose Brattleboro as the place to finally become husbands. Rhonda was so gracious in allowing the two of us to have our wedding ceremony on the lovely grounds of the B&B, by the gazebo, on what turned out to be a surprisingly warm November day. Her recommendations for local dining (in this very walkable town) all turned out great for our two-day stay, which made it all the more special.

We could not have been more pleased with our experience here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.7 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Address: 192 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6010 (Formerly Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to lively downtown Brattleboro from this comfortably elegant 6 room waterside B&B. Enjoy a complimentary 2 or 3 course gourmet breakfast each morning made fresh with local ingredients. Hiking trails on property and close to all southeastern Vermont educational campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Putney Road Hotel Brattleboro
40 Putney Road Bed And Breakfast
Forty Putney Road b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing