We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay - Two Thumbs Up From Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect Stay - Two Thumbs Up From Chicago”
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Forty Putney. We stayed at two other B&B's along the way during an anniversary trip to New England and were the most pleased with our stay at Forty Putney for several reasons:

--Little touches like free snacks, water, movie rentals, organic towels, robes
--Excellent breakfasts with accomodations to food preferences/allergies
--Happy Hour -- we loved the opportunity to chat with the owners, Tim & Amy, as well as other guests and try out local brews and get advice on where to go and what to do
--Pool table and hot tub
--Proximity to town

We stayed in the cottages which are just a few steps from the main house and really enjoyed the opportunity to use the common areas in the house, borrow movies to watch, etc. -- but also loved the added bit of privacy.

This is a great place in a great town perfect for exploring. Don't miss the farmers market, hiking, TJ Buckleys and a little country store near the covered bridge with awesome gourmet food to go.

  • Liked — Friendly Owners, Excellent Accomodations, Great Breakfast, Short Walk from Town
  • Disliked — Nothing, we absolutely enjoyed everything about our stay
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSGrunstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
374
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2008

This B&B is a cut above the rest. You have all the luxuries of a five star hotel but with little extras! We especially enjoyed the little Pub, Amy's breakfast every morning, and our conversations with the owners. It truly was a breath of fresh air!! Thanks for a wonderful and welcoming stay. - The Coe's

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vermontfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

What more could a visitor from the UK want than a pub, right in the Inn, serving some of the best local microbrews, and beers from around the world? Don't worry, the pub is only open in the afternoon, and only for guests, so it's not going to disturb you.

Tim, the amazingly friendly host, was kind enough to open it up on arrival, and we enjoyed a very welcome couple of beers.

The Inn itself is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The room was light and sunny, and had comfortable furniture and gave me a good peaceful night's sleep. The common areas are stocked with comfortable sofas and a pool table if you find yourself with a spare hour or two. Not that you are likely to, as Brattleboro is an ideal base to explore Vermont, or nip over into New Hampshire.

The food Amy made us had for breakfast was awesome! Something different each day, usually including blueberries, and the best french toast I've ever had.

In summary, if you want a fantastic location, extremely warm and welcoming hosts, a beautiful inn and a good night's sleep, look no further than Forty Putney Road!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So CAL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

What a wonderful B&B! Tim and Amy have a wonderful home and my stay was so peaceful and nice. Breakfast was a feast and delicious. My room was immaculate and the attention to details was most appreciated - even snacks in the room for the muchies late at night! My only regret is I wasn't able to stay longer! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnniesBlackLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Great house and garden. Large, clean and well equipped room. Relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful and delicious breakfast.

  • Liked — space
  • Disliked — ventilation
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForesterFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Forty Putney Road was simply spectacular. The location is so convenient to the downtown Brattleboro. We could walk to town each day and go to museums, stores, shops, movie theatre, good restaurants, etc. The B&B and the Innkeepers were fantastic. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was very private and quiet. The surroundings were extremely clean and the food was outstanding. I cannot wait until I go back there again. Mary and Steve from New Jersey.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank msuto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This lovely Inn overlooking the West River had scenic views and beautiful walking trails. Our Innkeepers Tim and Amy were wonderful and made us feel like we were old friends. Our room had a garden view with a cozy fireplace. The decor was very romantic and relaxing. A great sunroom was just steps from our door. Downstairs was very special from the French Provincial living room with a pool table and a lovely fireplace to sit around. Off this room were glass doors which led to a very unique pub, where you could enjoy many fine wines and beers. The quaint town of Brattlrboro was only a few blocks from the Inn,with lovely stores,shops, great restaurants and a museum. We had such fun walking and going back to a time we remembered. Tim and Amy were so gracious and helpful, we did not want to leave. This by far was the best B&B we have ever found. Richard and Karen Baggs

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank rabNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.7 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Address: 192 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6010 (Formerly Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to lively downtown Brattleboro from this comfortably elegant 6 room waterside B&B. Enjoy a complimentary 2 or 3 course gourmet breakfast each morning made fresh with local ingredients. Hiking trails on property and close to all southeastern Vermont educational campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Putney Road b&b
40 Putney Road Bed And Breakfast
Forty Putney Road Hotel Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing