We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1868 Crosby House
Ranked #2 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
River Edge, New Jersey
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Breakfast was outstanding! An added plus was DVRs to watch late at night, and a beautiful backyard garden made this experience special. Lynn is super nice which made the experience all the more wonderful

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn K, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Better late than never...right? Thank you so much for your review. I sure appreciate the time you took to share your stay at the Crosby House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
112
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We've stayed in many b+b's and this has to be about the best. The innkeeper, Lynn, couldn't have been more helpful Our suite was very comfortable and well appointed---the air conditioning [it was 90 in Vermont!]worked well. In addition to Lynn's delicious breakfasts, the setting was lovely and quite unexpected. And add really fast free wifi.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites are quiet and have porches with seating. lovely for just reading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn K, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
What a wonderful review....thank you so much. And....come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This in a a lovingly restored old home with lots of character, it feels like home away fr home. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Breakfast is a treat and being gluten free posed no problem at all! Lovely hiking trails close by and Brattleboro is perfect starting point for cycling. There are several cycling shops ( who do rentals) and restaurants within walking distance. Lyn, the owner is super helpful and even fetched my friend from the station.
Highly recommended, ten out of ten. I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inge c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn K, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It was great to have you visit. Thank you for a great review that gave good info for travelers, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The food was amazing and the perfect way to start my graduation morning. We were also blown away by the wonderful landscaping and the beautiful restoration of the house. The innkeeper was very welcoming and kind. I was on the sofa bed which was a little uncomfortable, but the host was very interested in my suggestion on how to make it more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn K, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write. Those sofabeds are puzzling! I am now making up airbeds to go on top....seems to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are in our late 60's and wanted a getaway to Southern Vermont. We chose the 1868 Crosby House for location and a smartly designed website. Our stay was made perfect by warm, friendly staff, a skillfully prepared gormet breakfast, and a room that provides the comfort and quiet you would expect. All this for a reasonable price and right off the highway. Well done!

Room Tip: Suite upstairs has private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn K, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you! It's responses like yours that keep me going!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We chose this delightful house to stay at because of the ratings here and we were not disappointed. We have been treated like family and housed excellently. The gardens out the back are lovely but we didn't attempt the miles of trails. Breakfast was excellent and tea and coffee making facilities much appreciated, as was the wifi. The bed was very comfortable and the shower nice and hot. The whole place is spotlessly clean. An excellent stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite at the back is very nice and has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Playfairest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review! Enjoy the rest of your time in New England and have a safe trip home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Charming hosts in a lovely home. Close to town. Bathrooms are I to date. Sitting room upstairs. Every possible convenience in a charming Victorian ambience. Wireless, gas fireplace in room. Curling fan, etc.,etc. Breakfast is elegant, tasty & not overdone.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
I'm so glad you had a chance to experience our beautiful woodland trails! Thank you for taking the time to send a review. We certainly appreciate it! And, don't forget to come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.8 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Property: 1868 Crosby House
Address: 175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1868 Crosby House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing