We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast”
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1868 Crosby House
Ranked #2 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Comfortable ,warm and friendly
Wonderful gardens and plenty of parking

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicktickNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
118
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This was our second visit to this hotel because we liked it so much the first time. We were not disappointed. Lynn and her husband are excellent hosts - warm and friendly and very attentive to our needs. The house is absolutely beautiful and clean. Our breakfast was again superb - so good, in fact, that my wife requested the recipe. In talking to other guests, it seems that most are repeat visitors - there can be no better testimonial than that!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We were in Brattleboro, VT for a friends wedding. The innkeepers were very flexible with us and gave us a key to the house so we didn't need to worry about what time we got in from the wedding. The entire house and grounds were spectacular and I wish I had a room at home so lovely! Maintenance on the grounds and house was perfect. The innkeepers have stayed very true to the style of the house but have also made it very modern and comfortable. We stayed in the Winter Solace room which was very spacious, gave us plenty of room and had its own air conditioner to battle the hot July heat. The best thing about our stay and the room was that it felt like home rather than a hotel which was a very nice change for traveling.

Breakfast was amazing and you could not leave hungry. We had delicious french toast-style orange croissants with bacon the first day and ham and egg souffles the second. The innkeeper was also very attentive to any dietary needs. There was an area to get fresh coffee or tea at any time of day and a tray of coffee or tea was brought up to our room half an hour before breakfast. All in all we had a wonderful time and I don't think anything could be any better. I wish we could have stayed longer and I now have to try making those croissants for breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This was our 3rd stay at the Crosby House, each time in a different room, and each time a delight. This time we stayed in the charming Garden Suite which has its own small kitchen and balcony overlooking the lovely gardens. Greatly enjoyed the privacy and accommodations. In addition, delicious breakfasts were served each a.m. in the main house's dining room. Lynn and Richard are generous and welcoming hosts who go out of their way to make guests comfortable and 'at home'.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovi1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This is a large, clean and comfortable house with 19th century charm and modern conveniences. The friendly host, Lynn, provides a sumptuous cooked breakfast with fruit, home baking and good coffee. There is a large and beautiful garden with forest and trails beyond. The house is on a main street within walking distance of downtown Brattleboro. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJB_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Owners were friendly and helpful. We arrived very late at night and they were welcoming and accomodating. Location was beautiful and convenient. Plenty to do and see, owners were helpful in suggesting things to do. Breakfast was lovely, delicious and plentiful. We were asked what time we would like breakfast, making it convenient for us.

I traveled with a 10 and 13 year old boy as well as my husband. WE stayed one night, left and returned the next night because we enjoyed it the first time. Very homey and short walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fencer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington vt
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We travel to Brattleboro every year to play in a tennis tournament and stay at this lovely B&B and get spoiled by Lynn and Richard every time we go! If you want to stay at a really cozy B&B and have a nice private room and wake up to fresh tea and coffee and a yummie breakfast, then you have found your spot. Just down the road from the wonderful small city of Brattleboro and close to all the attractions you will be delighted with your experience. We have stayed at many other places over the past 10 years but have finally learned that the Crosby house feels like "home"!! Its nice to know that genuine good hearted people like Lynn and Richard are still out there in the world....it simply makes you feel good. The hardest part is leaving after such a great weekend like this. Thank you both for always being so giving and taking care of us!!!! Is there a way to give more than 5 stars!!????

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stbartsbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.8 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
349 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.0 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
578 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
4.1 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Property: 1868 Crosby House
Address: 175 Western Ave, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1868 Crosby House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing