We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great New England exerience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birch Meadow Luxury Log Cabins & B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Brookfield B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great New England exerience”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Bear's Cabin completely charmed us, especially during the changing foliage. We also stayed in the main house for one night and found it extremely comfortable. Owner, Mary, could not have been nicer and made our stay especially memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRichardLJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

A group of 4 of us went over presidents day weekend, and it was absolutely lovely. Clean cabins, up to date appliances, a lot of cookware and kitchen stuff available, really all you need to do is bring the food. My only warning for those who want to go during winter, you need to have all wheel drive on your car, we almost didnt make it up the very steep hill to get to the cabins. It was plowed, but icy. If we had our other car (a civic) we would not have made it up the hill. Other than that, we will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bblacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have stayed at the BMLC's for two summers now, and both have been absolutely memorable. The cabins are clean, cozy and indeed, a home away from home experience. Located on fields and fields of thistle, hay and rolling mountains, this getaway is the perfect place to take a family (or honeymoon) and just get away from everything. Wake up in the morning to the whinnying of horses in the meadow and go to sleep to the sounds of crickets and owls in the distance. Paddleboat in the small lake behind the cabins, hike the hundreds of acres all around you, or just relax on the cabin deck with a cold drink. Fabulousness at a great price. It's very far from everything, so make sure you hit the grocery store and package stores before you go, as any ride in to town takes a minimum of 45 minutes on very bumpy, dirt roads. This is a very elegant way, without being snooty, to stay in the wilderness and feel at one with nature.

Room Tip: The Bear cabin is the furthermost cabin and offers the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yogadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We found this cabin while searching the internet. My wife is not ready to stay in a B&B yet, but enjoys the country views and wildlife. Mary has three cabins in the woods by a lake, with a breathtaking view of a rolling meadow. We checked in with the fellow on the tractor in the yard, that told us the cabin to go to. There was a note on the cabin door and we did not have to see Mary until checkout. The cabin was a 'true log cabin', tastefully decorated in Indian decor, furnished with firewood for the wood stove, and dishes in the cabinet. We had a great time! I would note to follow the directions from Mary, since GPS will route you over some almost impassable roads. Most of the secondary roads in Vermont are dirt/gravel and quite narrow, but this adds to the country charm. (You usually won't see flocks of turkeys and herds of deer from a paved road) Take some firestarters with you to aid in using the wood stove. I was impressed that a true wood stove was furnished, instead of a 'safer' gas stove. Our cabin had a crack in the bathtub, but Mary said her son was going to replace the tub. It was safe but probably leaking water on the floor under the tub. The fall foliage was beautiful, even though some leaves had falled early due to a passing storm. Everyone was friendly and waved when you passed on the roads. Take food to cook, because it is 6 miles or more to a grocery store and not very many restaurants in Brookfield. There are no 7-11's around and fast food joints are few! Be sure to visit the granite mine at Brookfield, it is impressive. From this location, you can travel quickly to most attractions in central Vermont. We also tried to stay off the Interstate and traveled mostly state and county roads, the views were spectacular. If traveling back to Vermont and this area, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mthacker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Driving through Vermont I did begin to worry about what we were going to - it's all so remote and rural - but I shouldn't have done. We stayed in the 'Bear Cabin' (it had a bear theme which isn't as bad as you'd think)- away from the other 2 cabins on site, near a lake, surrounded by trees. We had an absolute ball making fires, cooking on the grill and relaxing. It was perfect for chilling out and while the supermarket was a good 20 mins away even that meant we had to buy all the provisions to ensure we settled in for the night! Facility wise it had everything we needed, heating was good, lots of hot water. Like many of the places we stayed in the USA the bath was tiny! It may not be luxury in the terms of a 5 star modern hotel, but for getting away from it all and novelty (it really was made from logs) then this place is fab.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010Bongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Hubby and I visited the Birch Meadow Luxury Log Cabins in Brookfield, Vermont mid-March of this year. Our drive was just over 8 hours--the hostess, Mary, was quite helpful both by email and phone in providing us with directions and allowing us the flexibility to check in whenever we liked (she left our cabin unlocked).

Although only a half hour drive outside Montpelier, the property itself is a bit remote and depending on the season, it may require 4-wheel drive since the surrounding roads and winding driveway leading to the cabins are unpaved and peppered with potholes. During our 2-day stay, it was rainy and moderate, and there were times when our family-sized sedan got stuck in the mud. In the deep winter, snow/ice would likely prove challenging.

There are two parking spaces available outside the cabin we were assigned, and a barbeque grill, although it has no cover (challenging in the rain), and you have to bring your own charcoal and kindling. There is another cabin across the way, but there's enough space in terms of privacy and the cabin has curtins and blinds.

Inside is a woodburning stove (lovely), and a nice stock of wood (again, no kindling, and no matches). The cabin also has a thermostat (oil), so the two can be used together in colder weather and it's quite cozy. Our cabin had a living area with a futon couch (which could be used as an additional bed), and satellite TV (but no wi-fi). There is a ladder leading to a loft bedroom (quaint), above the main floor bedroom, and bathroom (with tub, toilet & sink).

Linens and towels are provided, and there is towel service daily, however, there was only one (!) roll of toilet paper in stock. The cabin was clean as were the linens and dishes etc, however, we did find a bug in our bed on our second night (to be expected in a rural cabin). And in terms of kitschy? The decor in the "Indian Cabin" was dated and overdone (ie there was faux native art, cheap paintings etc).

The kitchen area has most things (ie plates, pots & pans, dishes, dishsoap and towels etc,), however it would have been nice if there were some food basics (ie cooking oil, salt & pepper). The appliances date back to the 1970s and while the fridge and micro are relatively modern, the gas stove had only 3 working elements and the oven did not work at all.

While there were some disappointments, overall, Birch Meadow was fine in terms of "cottage" accommodations, certainly not "luxury" cabins, though. It is nice for a romantic, quiet escape or for a family vacation since there's certainly enough sleeping space for everyone and at $120/night low season, it's good value. Fall would likely be the best season to visit, although it books fast at that time (peak price $125).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CriticInOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Birch Meadow Luxury Log Cabins & B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Meadow Luxury Log Cabins & B&B

Property: Birch Meadow Luxury Log Cabins & B&B
Address: 597 Birch Meadow Rd, Brookfield, VT 05036-9544
Region: United States > Vermont > Brookfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brookfield
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Birch Meadow Luxury Log Cabins & B&B Vermont/Brookfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing