We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Top”
Review of Green Trails Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Trails Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Brookfield B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over the Top”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I've never stayed in a B&B and I am afraid to stay in one again, because Jane's made such an impression I don't think anyone else could match it!. What a sweetheart.! She took care of us from the minute we arrived like we were guest in her home and immediately saw to our needs. Her home and the rooms were spotless and the beds were heavenly. We were there for large family funeral(s) for 4 days. There were many of the family that were originally from the area. We rented both the Green Trails and the Fork House and had a memorable experience. Others had been there before, and for others this was their first experience. Her food was worth the price of the room - Creme Brulle French Toast - yeah that's something I have everyday (lol). Her food is beyond compare. She took care of your every need. If you read any one's complaints that's because they complain about everything in their lives! You know the glass is either half full or half empty - in their case it's always more that half empty. If you want and great experience and to be hosted by a great lady - stay at the Green Trails! Period!.

Thanks Jane for all you did for us. Hugs Patrick and Roberta

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great. The one's I like are with the private bath. Go on line for lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Although the innkeeper was very nice, when we arrived there were large holes in the screen windows, and the bathroom shower was not very clean. The outside screen door stayed open and did not close. It appeared that the inn was somewhat in disrepair. However, we were there in early May and it is possible that the spring clean-up had not been done yet. We opted to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greentrailsinn, Owner at Green Trails Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
I was dismayed that these guests did not stay. They arrived early --before noon. I was airing out their room, which had a lake view, flowers, vintage linens--and because they were family members, and might not want to share a bed, I gave them an extra room and bathroom at no extra charge. They settled in before heading for a graduation nearby. Because it was the first weekend the inn was open after being closed for four months--and the person who makes repairs was out of town--the screens and the back screen door which had been damaged by ice could not be repaired until this week. I wasn't keeping track of time, but much later, they came downstairs and told me they were not staying because the screens had holes. As I don't require a deposit on a one night stay, no money passed hands. I just assumed they went home after graduation because they lived only a three hour drive away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

All the reasons one stays in a Bed and Breakfast are why we stay at the Greentrails Inn. It's the perfect New England home, with old fashioned charm and hospitality.
Brookfield is a lovely little town. A car passes once an hour. Most likely, it will be someone Jane knows. You can walk to the river, over the floating bridge, or to the historic library.
Jane is a wonderful hostess.She is the charismatic,accepting and well traveled aunt you wish you had who welcomes you home to tea and fresh baked cookies or cakes.
Each room is a nook of its own, whether you prefer a private or shared bath, they are all an experience. It is clean, homey , decorated with tasteful, well functioning antiques that you can sit on or use.
Breakfast is served whenever you get up, but you will be compelled because of the smell of home baked goods and fresh brewed coffee and toward the fresh squeezed orange juice.
Jane can make recommendations regarding anything you'd like to do or see: cross country skiing,special nature spots, restaurants ( it is right across the road from one of the finest small restaurants in New England), touring Montpelier etc.Did I say Jane is the perfect hostess?
The Greentrails is a wonderful place. Bring your bike in the fall.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbud99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Magical, wonderful, delicious, restful, peaceful, and room for family , friends, and spacious Fork Shop (on the property) for spending precious time with the bride and groom. Jane is a fantastic hostess, Inn keeper, cook, area resource, and purveyor of comfort and culinary treats. From the moment we arrived until we left, she made sure we were comfortable, cared for, and all our needs met. Her attention to vintage, local fare, tasty daily breakfasts (not a one repeated), and wedding brunch on Sunday was beyond lovely... right in theme with the country vintage wedding of the newlywed couple. So grateful for her thoughtfulness, help, and patience for this mother-of-the-groom. Weather was mid-to-warm, rained most of the time, but cool water (swims), sounds of the mill run at the Fork Shop, and gentle breezes off Sunset Lake made up for the lack of AC. Much thanks to Jane for our lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you are sure footed and able, third floor has small porch and AC. Rooms in back of INN have less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoloresAMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My daughter and I came to Brookfield for my sister's wedding, andenjoyed a peaceful night at the inn. Jane greeted us in the evening with freshly made gingerbread and juice, and showed us to our room...It was spacious and beautiful. It had a king-size bed with a lovely quilt, 2 comfortable rocking chairs, a private bathroom, and we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the nearby waterfall. After an undisturbed 10-hour sleep, we were delighted with a breakfast of lobster quiche, warm scones, bacon, brie and new bread, coffee and orange juice. Jane makes everyone feel at home! Our time here was wonderful, and I want to return again!

Room Tip: We felt lucky to have a large room with a private bath, where we could hear the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_02108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked our stay a year in advance with Jane who graciously gave us an on the spot tour of the property while we were vacationing at another property. We fell in love with the location, uniqueness of the home and Jane's friendliness. We were 5 adults and 6 children and with a little creative thinking managed to get everyone a place to sleep. Eager to spend 4 days just relaxing, the Fork Shop offered us that and more. The children had a dock to moor their kayaks and boats to and we had a deck to watch them from. We swam, jumped off the bridge and explored the pristinely beautiful area of Pond Village. The Fork Shop had everything we needed. The gourmet kitchen provided a space for family meals and the huge round table was used for eating together and game night. The sound of the waterfall adjacent to the house lulled us to sleep every night. While evenings and weekends can get busy at the bridge, the locals were friendly and accommodating. The house was clean and stocked with linens upon arrival with an order to come to Jane with anything else we might need. The children had the time of their lives and made memories that are unique and magical that only a property like this can deliver. Rife in history, the Fork Shop and Floating Bridge are sure to cater to the needs of romanticists, family reunions, wedding guests, or girls/boys weekends alike. We had the best time and we were sad to leave, it truly felt like OUR home during our stay. As a photographer, the home and the area provided photo opportunities galore, it's truly eye candy, inside and out. My ONLY suggestions: ask for the WIFI password and directions to local stores as soon as you check in, bring fans if staying in the summer, despite being on the water the nights were uncomfortably warm without them, be prepared to have people peeking in the windows at random times, while never a threat, the first few times can be unsettling, stock up on food (including condiments/spices) and drinks before arrival as the closest supermarket is 25 minutes away. Jane, thank you SO much for the memories, we had the most amazing time and have GREAT photos we'd love to share with you (but we never got an email address for you!!). Thank you for the best weekend EVER!!!

Room Tip: Home away from home - The Fork Shop is a residence located across the street from the Green Trails I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was my wife's second stay here and my first. Jane the owner is a sweetheart and kind. The food was fantastic! Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We'd return in a heartbeat. Great value. If you're having a family reunion I'd recommend renting the old pitchfork factory, which is next to a waterfall and floating bridge. We stayed in the main house. Short drive from Burlington.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookfield
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
487 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Woods Lodge
The Woods Lodge
#1 of 2 in Northfield
70 reviews
13.3 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Green Trails Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Trails Inn

Property: Green Trails Inn
Address: By the Floating Bridge, P.O. Box 494, Brookfield, VT 05036
Region: United States > Vermont > Brookfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brookfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Green Trails Hotel Brookfield
Green Trails Inn Vermont/Brookfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing