We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavy beds!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heavy beds!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in cobblestones. Hotel itself is lovely. And staff were very accommodating. Location is a little way out of town but the walk uphill goes someway to work off the food consumed in town!!!
The reason for four stars instead of five is simply the bedding. There was several blankets and a duvet that I presume was for decoration. There was no thermostat in the room and on a cold night we needed to use the said duvet which felt like it was made from led! A small gripe but effected the quality of sleep!
Breakfast on all three mornings was delicious.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marley196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    53
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
315
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a nice stay at the inn. The fireplace in our room warmed us up on a very cold night. Loved the proximity to Church street - great shopping and restaurants. Our breakfast was amazing and we loved the bright and sunny breakfast room. I liked how they spread out the times guests ate breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

An excellent small inn. The house itself was beautiful, the rooms were nice, and the breakfast room had a great open feel. The staff was very nice and the friendly owner made it a point to greet all the guests at breakfast. Service was top notch. The location was very good, within walking distance (though a fairly long walk) from the shops and restaurants downtown. The Tower Room had nice views of Burlington and even Lake Champlain. The private bathroom for the Tower Room was located across the hall, but we had no problems with that at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I am hesitant to say too many nice things about this B&B for fear of encouraging too many people to go. It was everything we hoped it would be. Beautiful building, beautiful decor, friendly staff, and delicious breakfasts. Hands down the nicest B&B in Burlington.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Beautiful, historic bed & breakfast with friendly staff & great location. Rooms are well maintained and the staff is friendly & helpful. They were extremely helpful in recommending dining locations. Enjoyed being close to many college campuses.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed her October 2013, I will say the old mansion is beautiful! I however was dissappoined to find out the room we booked and paid 275 a night for, did not have a working fire place, even though the picture shows a fireplace. I asked for another room and the one they had open also had a non functioning fireplace. In the morning I wanted to take a long bath but could not get the water above luke warm. I drained the tub and then took a barley warm shower. From the pictures it looks like it is on several acers but is on a street with a lot of frat houses. The view of lake Champlain is quite a ways in the distance. They have a very good photographer. I have to say I was a bit dissapointed for the price had the room been say 195 a night I would not have written this review, I would have felt I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillardStInnkeeper, Owner at The Willard Street Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
On behalf of my family and our staff I would like thank you for taking the time to write and we apologize for any misunderstanding. We do welcome comments of all kinds as this helps us achieve our goal of constant improvement. Foliage season is a very busy time for us, with many of the rooms booked a year in advance. To better address your comments I spoke with our staff to understand the details of your reservation. The evening of your stay, we had been fully booked for several months. Fortunately, resulting from a single, very last minute cancellation, 2 rooms became available and we were able to accommodate your reservation. Of the rooms available you chose #4 Champlain Lookout. This is one of our more popular rooms as it is one of the original bedrooms and maintains a great deal of turn-of-the-century charm. As all of our rooms are completely unique we devote a great deal of time attempting to accurately describe each whether by phone or online. The goal of this is to create honest expectations and then exceed them. Our apologies if yours were not met.

In regards to the lukewarm water, we have two high efficiency boilers to best keep up with demand. However, the reality is this is a big, historic house and occasionally and unfortunately there is a short lag in our hot water system when one boiler switches to the other. The system is designed to best minimize this reality, so please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort.

Our Inn is located on 1.5 acres in the Historic Hill District, the area chosen by wealthy families in the 1880s for its scenic views of Lake Champlain and the Adirondack Mountains. Since that time however many trees have grown which is why when describing our views we’ve chosen seasonal, as to not overstate. If lake and mountains views are paramount to your experience may I suggest these are best viewed from some of our third floor rooms. Our Inn offers working fireplaces for all guests’ use in both the living room and the Solarium. If you desire an in-room fireplace may I suggest the Conservatory, Nantucket, or the Woodhouse Suite.

As for our rates, we strive very hard to be competitive in our area, continuously reviewing rates of other properties. Again our sincere apologies if we did not meet your expectations. If your travels do bring you back to Burlington my family hopes you will consider us again.

-Your hosts, the Davis Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A truly stunning historic home in a lovely neighbourhood with an easy walk to downtown Burlington and the shores of beautiful Lake Champlain. This Bed and Breakfast is gorgeous with it's old world charm and stunning decor. We spent four nights visiting Burlington and it's surrounds and it was a pleasure heading home each evening to the Inn and watching the sun setting over the lake from the sitting area in our bedroom. We stayed in Room 4, Champlain Lookout, a large room with a cute lounge area facing the backyard and the lake, extra comfortable queen size bed, huge en-suite and free in room WiFi. The breakfasts were freshly prepared to order and were delicious. They had a veggie garden in the back yard so I presume some of the ingredients for the breakfasts came straight from the garden to the kitchen. There was also fruit, cookies and drinks available at all times, and a guest fridge in the kitchen to keep any of your food purchases fresh. The staff were great with their tips on dining and sightseeing in the area and we loved chatting to the wait staff and Larry during breakfast. There was also free off-street parking at the front of the premises.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
0.8 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,570 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Property: The Willard Street Inn
Address: 349 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing