We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb Stay!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

There is little I can add to the wonderful accolades previously posted. Everything about this B&B is top notch. From the moment you open the door to this beautiful mansion, you feel welcomed and pampered. The red rose, chocolates, and homemade cookies in our room were the beginning of a memorable Valentine’s getaway. The inn is charming and meticulously clean, and the breakfasts in the solarium par none. I feel the only additional constructive comments I can share are to describe the Suite Larkin. The bedroom is very large with an electric fireplace and good sized closet. The king-size bed is comfortable and the linens of high quality, but we do agree that the duvet is a bit hefty. A flat screen TV atop another electric fireplace is located in the adjoining sitting room, which has a daybed and handy marble-topped cabinet. We traveled with friends who stayed next door in the Periwinkle Room, so our sitting room served as a pre-evening entertaining spot. Since there is a lace curtain and not a door separating the bedroom from the sitting room, privacy could be an issue if there is a third guest using the suite. Also, you must pass through the sitting area from the bedroom to use the bathroom. The shower stall is on the small side, which might be a consideration for some, but the bathroom is spacious and well supplied. There also is a deep soaking tub for those who are agile enough to climb in and out. We did have a little electrical hiccup, but Larry was on the problem immediately and, although not necessary, discounted our room. As any homeowner can attest to, glitches will happen, even when maintained as excellently as this inn is. Our next stay will be more than just a weekend and during warmer weather, so we can walk to Church Street and tour the surrounding historic area. Our hardest decision will be whether to try one of the other beautifully appointed rooms or return to Suite Larkin.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUV2RETIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    49
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
292
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend at this beautiful inn. As soon as we pulled up to the inn I knew we were at the perfect place in Vermont. From the moment you walk in the front door you feel welcome. The staff is wonderful and were there for anything you needed. The breakfast is absolutely amazing and the cookies in your room and around the inn are to die for!

We stayed in the wood house suite #8 which was the perfect room for a romantic weekend. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean, the shower is huge, and the gas fireplace was perfect for the winter weather! We also had a partial view of the lake from our room which was beautiful at sunset.

We did walk to church street from the hotel and it was about a 20 minute walk. It was of course cold but the walk was very doable and would be a nice walk in other seasons.

I 100% recommend this inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This family run Inn makes you feel right at home. The breakfast was better than most restaurants and the homemade cookies are to die for. The rooms were cute and the house in general was just so cozy that you didn't want to leave. I can't wait to stay here again if I ever find myself in Burlington!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have been coming to the Willard Street Inn for about 5 years now. Always warmly greeted and rooms are cheery and comfortable. Great breakfasts, the eggs any way our favorite. I have stayed in Lindsay's Loft, one of the smaller rooms, as well several larger rooms. All comfortable. There is an eye for decorating that gives a homey feel. And that may be because the inn is a family run operation. It shows in the upkeep and concern for all guests. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in cobblestones. Hotel itself is lovely. And staff were very accommodating. Location is a little way out of town but the walk uphill goes someway to work off the food consumed in town!!!
The reason for four stars instead of five is simply the bedding. There was several blankets and a duvet that I presume was for decoration. There was no thermostat in the room and on a cold night we needed to use the said duvet which felt like it was made from led! A small gripe but effected the quality of sleep!
Breakfast on all three mornings was delicious.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marley196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a nice stay at the inn. The fireplace in our room warmed us up on a very cold night. Loved the proximity to Church street - great shopping and restaurants. Our breakfast was amazing and we loved the bright and sunny breakfast room. I liked how they spread out the times guests ate breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

An excellent small inn. The house itself was beautiful, the rooms were nice, and the breakfast room had a great open feel. The staff was very nice and the friendly owner made it a point to greet all the guests at breakfast. Service was top notch. The location was very good, within walking distance (though a fairly long walk) from the shops and restaurants downtown. The Tower Room had nice views of Burlington and even Lake Champlain. The private bathroom for the Tower Room was located across the hall, but we had no problems with that at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Property: The Willard Street Inn
Address: 349 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing