We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, beautiful and charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, OH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy, beautiful and charming”
Reviewed 16 June 2009

This has got to be one of the most charming and lovely bed and breakfast out there; it belongs in an Emily Bronte novel. The rooms are clean and cozy, the solarium is gorgeous, the food is AMAZING (the owners' daughter was the chef when we stayed), and the location is perfect (few minutes drive to all the hot spots in Burlington, easy to get on the freeway to go skiing). Would 100% stay there again!

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LioraRez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    53
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
315
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

It is hard not to rave about this place. Larry and Katie run a top notch operation. We stayed in two rooms twice, a few days apart, first #5 and #14 then #5 and #10.

The breakfast is great, the place is spotless clean, the decoration nice and high end but warm and without pretense. We had a few schedule changes in midstream and they were ready to accomodate us. All in all, a great experience.

Adult note: Both genders in this couple agree that the beautiful, soft and comfortable bed in #5 is perhaps not the best choice for "conjugal" usage, if we may use an euphemism. Those who care, be aware.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ND-fp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambewarra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed with Larry and Katie for 3 nights in April and were so impressed with the overall stay, the experience as a whole was wonderful. We have travelled extensively and found this inn to be one of the best we have ever stayed in.
The Inn is spotlessly clean and we loved the extra touches. The home baked biscuits were a real treat and the breakfasts were wonderful especially as it was served in the beautiful conservatorium looking towards the lake. Larry and Katie and their staff made us so welcome, they are true experts in the hospitality field.
Tip: We loved the American Flatbread pizza restaurant!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We have stayed at the Willard Street Inn three or four times in the last several years, most recently in April 2009. It is by far the best spot to stay in Burlington, which is a lovely New England lakefront city with good restaurants and many interesting day trip excursions to offer (skiing, ferry ride across the lake, Shelburne museum, mountain drives, hikes etc) Reserve early as the alternatives for lodging in Burlington are mostly non-descript chain hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We found the Willard Street Inn on our arrival in Burlington midway through our trip to see the New England fall - and what a find in a beautiful town. It's a stunning house in the college part of town on a broad, quiet street. We stayed in Lindsey's Loft Room, a lovely en suite room. The guest house had tea and coffee, and homemade brownies available at all times to guests, and the reception staff were very friendly. The house is beautiful and you can walk into the centre of town in about 15 minutes. We enjoyed a great breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the garden before we headed off. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay and hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tallblonde79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Located on a hill overlooking Lake Champlain, this hotel is located in a charming neighborhood of beautiful homes. The Inn is a carefully restored and maintained mansion with enormous attention to detail. Our room was nicely decorated with antiques and tasteful prints and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our hosts, Larry and Katie Davis, were attentive without being intrusive. Breakfast is delicious, served in the solarium overlooking extensive gardens which must be breathtaking in the spring and summer. A walk into the center of town, Church Street, is pleasant and not too taxing.

Today is Thanksgiving and my husband and I couldn't be more thankful for such a beautiful and comfortable place to stay. We are so grateful to the Davis family for making our stay terrific!

  • Liked — The comfortable bed....a must for us.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TakeMeAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, CT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2008

To visit the Burlington, VT area for the first time, we looked at our where-to-stay options and selected the Willard Street Inn. This turned out to be a very happy choice. This beautifully restored and meticulously maintained inn is in a neighborhood of fine old homes and is run by a family who lives on the property. They take the concept of warm hospitality to a very high level. We felt immediately welcome and very comfortable; the common areas are excellent and well furnished, coffee's always on, the included breakfast was terrific, and the chocolate chip cookies and chocolates in the room each day are a nice touch. All of the rooms are uniquely different and ours was beautifully furnished.A great stay in a nice town, and yes we'll be back. They do it up proud.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altara20100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
753 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
1.5 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Property: The Willard Street Inn
Address: 349 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing