We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the last few bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Burlington & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I was reading the last few bad reviews (all within the same week) and was a bit surprised. This Sheraton is perfectly adequate and by the standards of most would be considered good (with good reason).

Comfy bed with a ridiculous amount of fantastic pillows. Clean rooms & plenty of space. Located within a 20 minute walk to downtown Burlington, I don't see a reason to knock the location. Especially if you're someone who lives in NY/Boston/Philly.

I see a few people complaining about the breakfast, how about this: get out of your damn hotel and find one of the many options downtown.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank JM3RR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen23, General Manager at Hotel Burlington & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear JM3RR24,

Thank you for taking time to send me feedback from your recent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington.
I was happy to read that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the hotel. We truly appreciate your business. I look forward to seeing you again real soon.

All the Best.

Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

hotel is in a great location for incoming UVM parents. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. BUT what were architect and designer thinking? Hope the ongoing renovations will bring some warmth and friendliness to the place. At night dimly lit by cool lights, long confusing hallways, a very unwelcoming room. I would never want to stay longer than 1 night. Signs to elevators are not clear, from my room I followed the "wrong" elevator sign and ended up in another wing. I was looking forward to the indoor pool, but it has glass walls on all 4 sides, open to lobby! and restaurant. Not comfortable. It could easily be turned into a relaxing "spa" vibe, if they revamped it just a bit. Hope they will cheer up the place or I will not come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen23, General Manager at Hotel Burlington & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear KatePL1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I really appreciate your comments around Cheering up the place up. Again, thank you for your constructive feedback. Please let me know when you are staying with us in the future, I would like to do something special for you for your loyalty. Have a great day.

All the Best.

Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were very disappointed with this hotel & would not recommend it. It was very expensive, given the room & features. Wi fi was extra($ 9.95). The bathroom was tiny and there was an orange peel on the floor in the bedroom. The hallway was littered with used linen and food trays were left out for the entire day. It was awful! It was particularly surprising that food trays were not picked up quickly, given that dogs were allowed in the hotel. Definitely not going back there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BostonMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen23, General Manager at Hotel Burlington & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear BostonMarilyn,
Thank you for sending me feedback from your recent experience here at the Sheraton Burlington. I am disappointed that your experience was less than perfect. I do appreciate your constructive comments about the issues you encountered. Please reach out to me directly so that I can get more information about your stay. Again thanks for staying with us. I look forward to connecting with you soon.

All the Best.

Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

After traveling through NYC and Boston, we couldn't believe how expensive this hotel was for how little it offered. We stayed two nights and had to call at 8pm the 2nd day to get our room cleaned only to have housekeeping arrive with turn-down service instead. Broken hair dryer, no complimentary breakfast, no wireless, no whirlpool and very poor lighting in the room. The hotel isn't even near the beautiful downtown so what exactly is the high rate for? No more Sheratons for this family!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen23, General Manager at Hotel Burlington & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear CassB,

Thank you for sending me your feedback on your recent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington. I am sorry that your stay and experience has fallen well short of your expectation as well mine. I would like to make things up to you. Please contact me so that I may start to rebuild our relationship with you.
Thank you.

All the Best
Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Don't stay at the club lounge level unless you are happy with small cheese bites and fried egg rolls water and soda for the up charge you paid. This hotel does not press linens. When I called for the room to be serviced after declining the bonus points I was amazed to see the condition of the linens. They were literally in a ball. We declined the points because we wanted "service". Awful is the best word to describe the service at this property. We took the shuttle to a restaurant that was literally 5 minutes away. Took over 1/2 hour for the shuttle despite being told it was a 15 minute response time, which was 3 times longer than the norm. Delta has partnered with this property. We are both diamond delta travelers and delta will hear from us. We took photos of the room and the linens just to confirm the dismal conditions of this property. On a positive note 'L Amante was an amazing restaurant and Stacey was awesome

Room Tip: Don't opt for club lounge access. Don't expect pressed linens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabethyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen23, General Manager at Hotel Burlington & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Elizabethyorkie,
Thank you for taking time to send me feedback from your recent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington. I was sorry to read you had a poor stay. I am disappointed that we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations as well mine. Please contact me directly so that I can ensure that you have been taken care of. I look forward to connecting with you.

All the Best.

Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It was a disappointing experience. Hotel stuff tried to rip us off in every possible way. Our reservation included parking, breakfast and free Internet but at check in the concierge told me that I have to pay for the Internet. I couldn't show my reservation because battery on my iPhone was dead. There was no soap in the room. Tiny bottle of water in the room was 1 dollar. The breakfast buffet ($15 adult; $10 child) was very simplistic - omelet, yogurt, porridge, bananas, coffee and orange juice. We were expecting more from Sheraton. Waitresses were work/travel exchange students from Eastern Europe. They were not around when you need them besides greeting and bringing initial coffee. I had to "hunt" for the orange juice for my daughter myself (behind the curtain). We were a party of five adults and one child (11 years old). The restaurant charged us as SIX adults and automatically added a whopping 18% tip. For a _buffet_ breakfast? To my surprise manager refused to take of the tip from my bill. I had to talk to the front desk about the problem and they reduced the charge at check out. Overall - nice hotel, disappointing service.

Room Tip: Make sure your bill at the restaurant is correct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen23, General Manager at Hotel Burlington & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

DearKirill J,

Thank you for sending me feedback from your recent experience here at the Sheraton Burlington. I was disappointed to read your comments about the Hotel and its service. I am sorry. Please contact me directly so that I may get some additional information from you. Again, thanks for the constructive feedback and more importantly you staying with us. I look forward to connecting with you soon.

All the Best.

Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Never in all my years of travel in the US or abroad have I ever checked into a property that was completely out of hand soap. I'm confident Starwood/Sheraton has as sophisticted a supply chain system as anyone, so this was pretty shocking. Initially I figured the previous guest must've taken the bar soap after the room was cleaned. Called guest services and was told nope, "we have no soap; it's on backorder; you can use the liquid shower gel in your room instead." When I inquired why they hadn't just bought soap for the hotel guests, I was informed the soap had to be "branded" Sheraton. If the general manager of a property doesn't have the leeway in his/her role to purchase soap, this tells me something about Starwood's values. Better no soap than unbranded soap??? Baffling!
On the plus side, the king room was generously sized and very comfortable, I appreciated the free wifi, and the shower was just fine (with a bar of soap supplied privately:-).

Room Tip: Major construction going on in front of hotel, but they advised of this when I booked and my room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen23, General Manager at Hotel Burlington & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Traveler5223,

Thank you for taking time to send me feedback from your recent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington. I was embarrassed to read your comments about your experience at the Hotel. I will make no excuses and take full responsibility. Please contact me directly so that I can ensure that you have been taken care of. Again I am truly sorry. I look forward to connecting with you.

All the Best.

Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.6 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,652 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
785 reviews
1 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington & Conference Center

Address: 870 Williston Rd, Burlington, VT 05403-5715 (Formerly Sheraton Burlington Hotel)
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range: £82 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Burlington & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Burlington & Conference Center is near Lake Champlain, Church Street, skiing, and I-89. As Vermont's largest hotel, we have 30,000 sq ft of meeting space and free airport transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Burlington & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Burlington Hotel Burlington
Burlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing