We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what an amazing place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow what an amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This place is awesome, you are left to enjoy the quaint converted cottage but the owner is on hand should you need anything. Eating breakfast outside looking out over the lake was fantastic and the home roasted coffee (made by the owner) is great. The walk back from the town is short but nice after a meal, made even better by the fireflies in the trees.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank anderson072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This B B was the first stop on our trip. Amazing view of the lake. Maggie was an excellent host. The Carpe Diem cabin was small but quite comfortable. Location allows for easy exploration of Burlington. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Wonderful place with awesome views of lake Champlain. Good proximity to all the fun stuff in Burlington center (church st. etc.). Tasty breakfasts each morning. Stayed in the upstairs apt and had a great time!

Room Tip: Both the apartment and cabin have great views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

The most wonderful spot to spend a quiet 9 days. 'Carpe Diem' is very small but beautifully put together, warm, clean and cosy. The bed is very comfortable with super linen; the shower was great (and I am a bath person so this was a compromise); the kitchen area tiny but perfectly adequate for 2 people.

It is in easy walking distance of downtown Burlington, but the best part is the proximity to Lake Champlain. The most fantastic view - from your bed - that changes all the time with the weather. Maggie was a great host and very helpful, but did not intrude. All in all a wonderful peaceful stay and if we are ever in the area again we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HerefordAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Thanks Maggie for making this little treasure available to travelers. Your hospitality, the location, gardens, views, and breakfast were all superb. We love staying in charming like yours.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFATMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
323 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We had a great experience staying with Maggie who was a delightful host in her fabulously located cottage overlooking Lake Champlain. We stayed in the two bedroomed suite on the first floor. There is only one suite or you can request the cottage in the garden, a sweet looking converted garage. Our rooms were artfully decorated and though not spacious, they were fine for us and offered a wonderful view from each bedroom of the English style garden and the lake and mountains beyond. Breakfast was superb with local treats, award winning bread, jam, local granola, organic yoghurts and local cheese and juice. This is an old neighbourhood and on a quiet road yet just 10 minutes walk to the centre of Burlington's waterfront. We would love to return so my only reticence in recommending so highly is that we will not be able to get in!! Thanks to Maggie, it was a pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaskelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We started our "leaf-peeping" visit to Vermont at Burlington. We chose 'One of a Kind' because we wanted to try something that was different from the usual chain Hotels. Something that would give us a flavour of Vermont.

We had a 6 day Holiday, and spent just one night in Burlington: oh, how we wish it had been longer!

'One of a Kind' is tucked away on the outskirts of Burlington, with stunning views over the lake. Incredibly comfortable bed. Eclectic fixtures and fittings. Wonderful breakfast (that is mostly locally-sourced). Gorgeous home-roasted coffee.

You might possibly find some of this elsewhere; but you will not find anyone like Maggie! She has created a comfortable and welcoming experience in her home, and is an entertaining and intriguing host.

We will be back.....

John & Vera

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
0.6 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast

Property: One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Lakeview Ter, Burlington, VT 05401-2906
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing