We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and a lovely host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location and a lovely host”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at one of a kind at the beginning and end of a trip to New England and stayed in both accommodations. Both were lovely though our preference was for Carpe Diem. The garden has extensive views towards town and over the Adirondacks and provided a lovely spot for both breakfast and a drink in the evening. Maggie was a very welcoming host and was very accommodating. Burlington itself was great and the walk to the marina or to Church St will be easy for anyone with reasonable levels of fitness (there is a hill back from the marina). Overall Burlington provided a great start and end to our trip with one of a kind being a significant contributor to that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This 100 year old house is a real gem. Maggie your host is very friendly and does an amazing breakfast.
The views over the lake are stunning. The rooms are full of charm and we had a really peaceful and restful nights sleep.
None of the usual trappings that you get in normal hotels, just a very calming feeling.
Breakfast consists of homemade Granola, yogurt, fresh bread, fruit, local cheese, fresh apple cider and home made jams. Really lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katocatoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

"One of a Kind" is the perfect name for this bed and breakfast located overlooking Lake Champlain in the northern section of Burlington, Vt. My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the very comfortable 2 room suite on the 2nd floor of the house that overlooks the backyard flower garden and maginificent views of Lake Champlain & Adirondack mtns. The continental breakfast was superb with delicious coffee, juice, fruit, cheese, bread home made jams, granola and yogurt. We ate breakfast outside in the garden with the lake view before us, We were also walking distance to Burlington's Waterfront Park, the 12 mile bike trail along Lake Champlain and a few blocks from the Church street Marketplace. This was a lovely place to stay for couples and we would gladly stay there the next time we're in Burlington.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enfieldwatersprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

One of a Kind offers beautiful views of Lake Champlaign in a quiet and wonderful setting. The room had no TV and it was awesome! Maggie is a wonderful hostess and she makes an AMAZING breakfast. Mostly local products and I wish the Frenchman who makes the bread lived in my hometown! The location is perfectly within walking distance to downtown Burlington and many sites of interest. Off-street parking - no problem. It was just a marvelous place to stay. If you go to Burlington the food and drink are great and go on the Burlington Brew Tour if you get a chance and like to drink beer.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
2.9 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast

Property: One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Lakeview Ter, Burlington, VT 05401-2906
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing