We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, lovely, close to campus. Will stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in the room in the photo, which is really accurate. Gorgeous period furniture with carefully restored details, classic VT B& B with a dash of extra class. Excellent hospitality by email before I arrived ( a list of nearby restaurants with descriptions, and directions for walking or a taxi) and in person upon arrival. Coffee, tea and homemade refreshments available all day, Two parlors for relaxing if I tire of my generously sized , high ceilinged room with twin wing chairs. A wonderful breakfast in one of two dining rooms. 10 minute walk to U of VT campus. Off street parking available. I came here on business, but will definitely stay again for business or a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: There is a flight of stairs at the entry, but the first floor room (Reed) is handicap accessible for...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MistinguetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I were looking to get out of the house for valentines day this year. We were looking over the B&B options in the north part of VT we were really surprised at how reasonably priced Lang House was. Less than $200 for a really nice looking B&B? Most of the other options were nearing the $400 mark for the same deal.

Too good to be true? No! We were not disappointed. We stayed in Hayward room, which is really gorgeously put together, clean, and classy. The whole facility is just lovely in fact; very nicely decorated and comfortable. Our check-in was smooth, and the staff were friendly. Although the check-in person forgot to put our wine in the room after dinner, the owner came herself and got it for us. Breakfast was delicious. Let me say that again: breakfast was really, really tasty. Kudos to the chef! It's easy walking distance from downtown Burlington, so we had a lovely morning strolling through Church St and surrounding area.

What a great find Lang House is! We'll be back, and will recommend it to friends and family!

Room Tip: Other reviews have mentioned that the rooms in the front of the house are prone to party noise from...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jillybjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Bed & Breakfast is charming and well-kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious and fun. And the location is perfect for walking to Champlain Lake and the shops on Church Street. I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vincent room 303 the first night on the third floor and it was very quaint. The ne...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I highly recommend this B&B when visiting Vermont, it is in a great location because of its closeness to so many restaurants and attractions. We recently stayed at the Lang House for 3 nights. We chose to stay in one of their rooms located in the Carriage House, it was very comfy, warm and spacious. The best part of our stay was definitely the breakfast, it was so delicious. My favorites were the almond crusted french toast and banana pancakes.

The owner Kim and her staff are so friendly and welcoming, we felt very well taken care. Unfortunately we had some car trouble during our stay, and they were so nice and helpful (specially one of their employees, Bruce). They really made a bad situation feel a lot less upsetting.

We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before this trip, it was definitely nice to have such a quiet and friendly stay in Vermont. Thank you Lang House!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katty8622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our most recent visit to The Lang House was very enjoyable. We booked a room at the last minute and had the opportunity to stay in the Van Ness room with a view of Lake Champlain. Our favorite room to stay in though is the Allen room with its very comfortable king-sized bed (we are used to sleeping in a king bed at home). We enjoy staying at Bed and Breakfasts for the personal touch and the unique architecture of old homes – the Lang House is no exception. The staff is eager to please and very accommodating. We enjoyed a Vermont cheese plate and bottle of wine in the sun room while visiting with friends and playing card games. Breakfasts are scrumptious – our favorites are the popovers with maple sausage! If you are looking for fun winter activities, check out the zip line near Stowe or the dog sledding tours near Lake Elmore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yahoo359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The folks who own and operate this B&B are the tops! The food at breakfast was simply fantastic. The house is beautiful as was our large room with very comfortable bed. The bathroom was on the small side as is often the case in these beautiful older homes. Short walk down the hill to the town and waterfront. The walk back after dinner was not a problem. Great place, you will be very happy with your decision to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We scheduled a quick trip up to Vermont this past weekend to get married, and Lang House made our 24-hour visit absolutely perfect! We'll always have fond memories of our stay here.

Kim and her staff were extraordinarily helpful and welcoming - they even had a complimentary cheese plate waiting in our room after our ceremony.... such a sweet gesture.

Their gourmet breakfast is worth the trip in itself!!! Both sweet & savory options are offered, featuring local and/or organic ingredients. Courtney prepared one of the best breakfasts we've ever had! And Julianna's service was top notch as well.

We stayed in the Garden Room, and coffee was delivered to our doorstep early in the morning. The staff here clearly knows how to treat its guests; they went above & beyond our expectations.

This historic house is within walking distance of both the university as well as the downtown area. Easy to get around town from its central location.

Wish we would have had more time in Burlington, but that just means we'll have to go back one day...

Room Tip: Garden Room has a jacuzzi tub!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WenJenBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,600 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Address: 360 Main St, Burlington, VT 05401-3413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range: £138 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lang House on Main Street, built in 1881, combines turn of the century Victorian charm, with the services, amenities, and comfort of the 21st century. Located on Burlington's historic Main street, guests enjoy tasteful and comfortable accommodations, local gourmet breakfast -- all just blocks away from Downtown Burlington, the University of Vermont and Champlain College, and Fletcher Allen Health Care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lang House Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing