We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun ride, good price.”

Lake Champlain Ferries
Ranked #7 of 24 Tours in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Board the ferry to Port Kent, New York for a one-hour boat ride offering some of the most beautiful mountain and lake views in the world.
Seekonk, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun ride, good price.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Not only do I get an hour boat ride on Lake Champlain I also get to bring car. We went from Kent Port to Burlington on a trip across north New England and this was really well priced and the kids had a blast on the boat. Small gift shop and a limited snack bar but the views were spectacular And it was a nice change of pace from driving. Would definitely take the trip again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient, beautiful”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was trying to get from Montreal to Burlington and took the Amtrak to Port Kent and then caught the ferry. Although I can't say much for Amtrak, the ferry ride was beautiful and relaxing. The ferry terminal in Port Kent is just down the hill from the train stop, super easy to find. Everyone working there was friendly and helpful. $8 for the hour long trip, they accept credit and debit cards in addition to cash. Onboard is a cash only environment, if you want delicious popcorn bring a couple of $$ with you. The ferry docks within walking distance of the town center. Give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharondipitous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bring cash”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It is a scenic ride across the lake, it is not user friendly for the general public because they only accept cash. As a big business and the only way to cross the lake (can we say monopoly?), they should not be accepting only cash. There are travelers from all over and should not be forced to pay cash or use their ATMs for a high transaction fee. Very disappointing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1080atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip to NY”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have travelled to and from VT to NY on the Ferry but this was the first year that we brought the children. They thoroughly enjoyed the ride, the views and scenery. We will do this again but next time to a different location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
920 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Best tourist activity in the Champlain Valley”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was visiting the area, did not have much time, and after going to Lake Placid for breakfast was not sure what to do, since I did not bring hiking gear. The Charlotte Essex Ferry is really the only tourist activity near Essex but well worth going out of your way for. The ride across and back for a passenger is cheap and the views are fantastic. Take a cup of coffee and a snack.
There is an inside cabin, and seats up top, but the best place to stand is down in front of the cars.
A good hat and sunglasses help. There is a parking lot on Essex across from the ferry where you can leave your car with no problem.
I did not check the head, but there is one. Staff are nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Champlain Ferries also viewed

 

Been to Lake Champlain Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing