We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful eclectic B and B in perfect locale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful eclectic B and B in perfect locale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed in a good number of higher end B and B's up and down the east coast. In our opinion, Made Inn is best of all. The recently redone Victorian is warm, inviting and full of charm. The hostess goes to any length to make your stay perfect. You will not find a better breakfast anywhere with daily cook to order specials (get the apple crepe) and a full array of fruit, yogurt, grains, coffees, etc. The hot tub was a pleasure on a snowy winter night. It is a quick walk to the center of downtown and all of the shopping and dining opportunities. Its the only place you should stay when visiting Burlington or the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasr490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    16
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
75
330
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

January 3, 2013
A few weeks ago, my husband surprised me with a spur of the moment trip to Burlington. He had reserved us a room at Made Inn Vermont. He was first intrigued by the nicely crafted website and then further impressed with the woman with whom he spoke when booking the room- hours before we would arrive. She was friendly and hospitable- and told us we would have the whole inn to ourselves for a night, and that we were welcome to bring our well-behaved dog, Josie, along for the trip.
When we arrived late that night, we came to a beautiful house built in the 1800's renovated into a bed and breakfast. Parking was simple and the wonderful innkeeper; Linda, welcomed Josie and us at the door, gave us a tour of the inn and showed us to our room. The house was gorgeous and immaculate, and different from any bed and breakfast we have ever seen. The decor was a mixture of vintage and modern and reminded us of Sherlock Holmes' house. Fun details in every corner! Our room had a comfortable bed with a television and an electric guitar, lava lamp and transformer toys in the corner. "Chic and Unique" is what we wrote on the chalkboard wall in our room-where others who stayed there before had also adorned the wall with drawings and comments about the inn. After settling in, Linda poured me a glass of Sangria and gave my husband a Heady Topper- a highly sought after craft brew from Vermont-and encouraged us to try out the hot tub. We put on our swimsuits and the robes and slippers provided to us and went for a dip. It was a beautiful back yard-I could only imagine how amazing it would be in the summertime, too!
After a restful sleep, my husband and I awoke to bacon and eggs-made to order- and an assortment of other goodies for breakfast. Linda and her chef found out I was gluten free and managed to make us the most delicious gluten free crepes (filled with mascarpone and bananas) the next morning. We had coffee on the top floor of the inn overlooking the town of Burlington. Linda gave us suggestions of where to go and what to do, and we had a fun-filled afternoon. We were sad to go and vow to head back to Made Inn Vermont for springtime! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadeINNVermont, Owner at Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Izzy H,

Thank you so much for your time and consideration in posting your review. As I stated, I wish to review Josie for your future travels. To whom it may concern: Please know that you will find Josie, a lovely dog, to be an obedient and delightful pet guest. Do not hesitate to accept her as your guest, as this innkeeper rates her as a 5 star guest, as well as her owners.

We are looking forward to hosting your "family's" stay in the Spring.

Thank you again.


Linda Wolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Coolest Victorian B&B ever. Hip, vintage decor in historic bones. The INN's functionality and design has been thought through carefully, tastefully fun and quirky, making this inn an adventure in itself. And we loved it! Room 904 was so comfortable, beautiful and full of lots of fun little details. The atmosphere was fabulously relaxed and refreshing. Breakfast is EXCELLENT, the staff and owner Linda- fun, humorous, and hospitable. The location is perfect – nestled right in downtown Burlington - very private and special. The inn is a true GEM one we hope to visit for years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed in 904, which I suggest because of the tempur pedic bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Short version: Wonderful place to stay particularly if you enjoy a friendly, casual atmosphere, comfortable rooms and excellent food.
Long version: My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in late October. The inn is a beautiful Victorian cleverly and beautifully furnished by Lynda. We had the smallest room, something we were a bit concerned about (as we are not small people), but it was incredibly comfortable and worked perfectly for the both of us. A minor inconvenience: none of the rooms on the second floor have ensuite bathrooms. However, each room does have its own private bathroom with a key and the inn provides cozy robes for traversing back and forth so it is really only a minor downside. Even though it was very chilly we did take advantage of both the widow’s walk (gorgeous views of Lake Champlain) and the hot tube (delicious after a chilly day walking around Burlington). The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful; seating for breakfast is not formal and one can be as chatty with other guests as one would like (or as private as one would like). While breakfast officially starts at 9AM Lynda and her staff are incredibly flexible and accommodating; they accommodated our slightly later breakfast after our morning runs and, when another couple had an early departure, Lynda accommodated them as well. At the end of a wonderful (but cold) day walking around Burlington it was great to be greeted with a Heady Topper (beer) or sangria (good sangria but go for the Heady). Some folks may be a bit put off by how casual the atmosphere at the inn is but it suited our personality perfectly. Children are welcome and I know for some couples that can be an issue. The staff is fairly green when it comes to some of the finer points of service (our breakfast orders were mixed up one day, we had to ask for soap in our bathroom multiple times) but the friendly atmosphere and their genuine efforts at hospitality more than compensated for any small snafus. Probably the best example of how accommodating and friendly Lynda and her staff are involves how we were treated on our very first day. We had a VERY early arrival in Burlington. We knew that check-in wasn’t until 3PM so we called and asked if it would be ok if we dropped off our bags (it was) and then we planned to explore the town before check-in. When we arrived on Lynda’s doorstep, very tired and VERY hungry, she took one look at us and insisted we come in and have breakfast. Then, after making sure it was ready, she let us into our room early as well where we promptly took a nap!! It was the perfect start to our getaway. Lynda and her staff were also able to provide great recommendations for what to do during our three day stay. We didn’t have a car – and quite frankly did not need one for what we wanted to do – and she was able to point us to some super yummy dinner spots (Hen of the Wood, The Farmhouse and Trattoria Delia) as well as recommending the Shelburne museum (which we took the super convenient public bus to). All in all it was a wonderful stay and, as we loved Burlington and plan to return, we are already plotting our return trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but 903 is the smallest. The room located downstairs is the only one wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aknova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had gone to Burlington in October 2012 to be married and stayed at one of Burlington's hotels. When planning our return for October 2013, we decided we would like to stay at a place that was more intimate and where we could have a personal relationship. Made Inn Vermont turned out to be everything we had hoped for and a whole lot more. Linda and her staff made us feel that we were part of their home rather than paying guests. Other reviewers have remarked about the fantastic breakfasts that await you each morning. We have stayed at other B&B's in the US and in Europe. Never did we experience anything approaching Linda's breakfast table. By the way we are a gay couple, and for any gay couple looking for a B&B that will make them feel not only comfortable but valued guests Made Inn Vermont is the place to stay in Burlington.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our second time here. We really enjoyed staying at the inn. Everything about being there was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend staying here if you are traveling to Burlington!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDM1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candia, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights and found everything perfect from when we walked in the front door until we had to drive away. It's a wonderful and inviting Victorian with excellent and fun furnishings. Breakfasts are better than you'd get in a restaurant around town. We can't recommend this B&B enough and will be sure to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast

Property: Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast
Address: 204 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected "2014 TOP TEN ROMANTIC INNS"by I Love Inns, ranked among the "TOP FIVE VERMONT HOTELS" by Richard Bangs, Travel Editor for the Huffington Post, and "TOP TEN N. AMERICAN WINTER DESTINATIONS" by Chase Sapphire's TABLE & TRAVEL Magazine..... We feel we offer the best Inn in Burlington. "Come for the Design. Stay for the Experience." Trademark...... Escape from the ordinary at Made INN Vermont, our new urban-hip boutique B&B is a Victorian landmark, ideally located in downtown Burlington in an classic New England historic neighborhood;just a few steps to University of Vermont, Church Street Marketplace, Fletcher Allen, and a short drive to Burlington International Airport..... A new chic petite-hotel offering four guest rooms in an private sanctuary with first-class amenities: sumptuous beds, indulgent hospitality, gourmet breakfasts, unforgettable views & Heady Toppers...... The Inn's trendy hipster style is fused into this 1881 classic Victorian architecture with Vermont craftsmanship. The atmosphere and ambiance are bound to remain in every couple's memory..... Our sumptuous, fresh breakfast is made of local farm fresh to table, sustainable foods, cooked to gourmet perfection..... And our First Class, 5-Star Service (self-rated that is) offering for luxury & romance start with the stunning panoramic views from the INN's 4th floor cupola, secluded gardens and under the stars, year round hot-tub, as well as a number of options for customizing romantic packages..... For those spontaneous get-away bookings: we are just a quick get-away drive offering breathtaking views of Vermont from Boston and Montreal; and just a quick get-away-flight from D.C. And N.Y. Everything here calls for you to relax, unwind, rejuvenate and be happy.....Family, and Pet Friendly. Offering Welcoming Heady Toppers, Switchback Ale, Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream, Green Mountain Coffees and many other Vermont specialty foods as our theme is "Made in Vermont". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing