We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Classical Chinese”
Review of A Single Pebble

A Single Pebble
Ranked #21 of 249 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Diner, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between St. Paul and Pine
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

We had the chef tasting menu for lunch. It’s a six course meal if surprises. All the food is served family style. The meal began with Szechuan pickles which were followed by a spicy soup garlic and cashew broccoli and Kung pow chicken. The flavors were delicate and there’s plenty of food to go around. I also thought that the service was outstanding.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ignatsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

To call this place a Chinese restaurant is like calling Lutece a French restaurant. We’ve dined at the most acclaimed Chinatown restaurants in NYC and San Francisco but never experienced anything close to the perfection of Single Pebble’s chef’s choice dinner. 40 bucks each and all at the table must opt in. Apparently not always available but it was on this particular Saturday. There’s a vegetarian option but we chose the meats and seafood option with which about 20% of the copious plates are veggie. Lost count but there were easily a dozen plates and each was more sumptuous than the last. Mostly leaning towards the Szechuan than the Cantonese, thus richer and deeper in flavor. Topped off with included small serving of chocolate cheesecake. Magnificent!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Silversurfer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We took our daughter in law and son out to dinner with high expectations of getting authentic chinese food for our daughter in law who is from Hong Kong. Living in New England does not expose her to many authentic Chines restaurants. We heard good things about this restaurant but felt too much expectation had been created. This was probably our fault as we should have clarified before going. Our bottom line was really good quality American Chinese food. Fish and meat were fried, not steamed etc... If you're looking fork great Chines food as we know it in most of New England, this was good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank christopherhK7850KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Dinner with my sister who recommended this gourmet Chinese restaurant. It's small and intimate, reservations are required. She's a vegetarian--I'm not--but figured I'd follow her lead and do the tasting menu for two (vegetarian). Scrumptious. The food kept coming, and the various protein alternative completely satisfied any craving for carnage.

Wait staff was attentive, helpful with explanations--had no clue what half the stuff was--and kept the courses coming one after another. I lost count, but would say at least ten different dishes, likely more than that--dumplings, soup, delicate salads, different marinated proteins with dipping sauces. So good, all of it. And there was dessert. Not so Chinese, but chocolatey, rich and delicious.

I cannot recommend highly enough.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B4291GUcharlesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

We brought our son here for a break from the bland cafeteria food. While not horrible, there was nothing special about the meal. Our server and the hostess were both very nice and professional. But food was just so-so. Not bad but not wowing with flavor or spice. We have several "go to" Chinese restaurants in our home town that are twice as good and authentic at half the price.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TamsenDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Single Pebble also viewed

 
Burlington, VT
 

Been to A Single Pebble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing