We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
Review of Hotel Vermont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vermont
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Incredible hotel! It is a unique and wonderful blend of modern, urban, and rustic! Great staff and service. The hotel is in an Ideal location. The room is even better than the pictures online show. This hotel is truly a "cannot miss" spot!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    125
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
175
318
28
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A world class hotel in Vermont? You bet and it's true to its location. Rooms are modern but retain quaintness almost reminiscent of the Alps. Service was terrific as was the food in their affiliated restaurant Hen of the Woods. Location is as central as it gets. Parking attached for only $8 - a deal but so was the price for our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake since not all rooms have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuitNflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I had the occasion to attend a function here. I found this hotel understaffed. The poor bartender was working alone and there were folks cued up three deep. The prices were way out of range for Burlington. Lovely decor, thoughtful decor and all but H.V has got a lot of things to work out in terms of staffing. Other staff were literally running to keep the function going. As a former hospitality employee I know that you don't over work a staff like that and expect them to stick around. Lots of bugs to work out here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaVNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
533 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stopped into Hotel Vermont during a recent trip to Burlington. My friend recommended it for its great atmosphere and cool fireplace. While it admittedly had both those things, unfortunately it also had prices for mixed drinks starting around $12 and ending north of $20. I looked at the drink menu, looked around the room and thought to myself "wait a minute, this isn't New York City!". Now to be fair, the cocktail I got was pretty fantastic. It was one of those cocktails where you can't remember any of the ingredients, but just remember it was really, really good. I believe it had ginger beer, elderberry gin, and something that made it red but I can't remember what. The point is, it was great. In conclusion, I really don't mean to slam this bar because I actually had a good time there. The only problem is I could only afford to have a good time for 1-2 drinks at the most, otherwise I'd be broke. With that said, the hotel itself looked pretty sweet, and if I ever needed a hotel in Burlington, I would probably consider Hotel Vermont.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans v, General Manager at Hotel Vermont, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks so much for your comments regarding our cocktail menu and pricing. Glad you considered your cocktail at Juniper to be fantastic! All cocktails are made with great care using the best ingredients which are almost entirely sourced locally. It is a little known fact that bars and restaurants in Vermont buy their liquor at the same place and at the same price consumers do while some of the Vermont made liquors, which are of superb quality, may cost $35 to $55 a bottle. While providing an excellent base for some of the best cocktails one can get, it does affetc prices. We do however offer many cocktails around $11 to $12, below New York prices yet of very high quality. A top of the line cocktail containing some of Vermont's top-shelf liquors can indeed run $18 to $20 but these drinks are indeed an experience all of their own, one not easily found in New York I'd argue!

Hope to see you soon again. Really appreciate your feedback.

Hans van Wees - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. It is a really cool hotel. The location is great: close to restaurants, lake front and shopping. The hotel rooms are very different: separate shower/toilet room, chair with ottoman and a window seat. The shower is very big and has great water pressure. On every floor there is a coffee bar with coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Plus they offer free bikes for your use. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with view - they said it was extra but when we arrived we were given the room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4pickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

SO...if you're looking for a typical hotel, this is not it. It's creators have gone to a lot of trouble to create a rustic but sleek overnight experience. Comfortable bed. Note: there are drinking glasses, a carafe and hand-thrown coffee mugs in the room. But no bottled water and no mini-fridge. They need a sign or key to the experience: the coffee station is by the elevator and they have still and sparkling artisan water as well. All for free. A nice touch! Nice big shower in the room, good soap and cute soap dishes (don't take them, they're $30). There was a live band down at the bar on Saturday. Great funk band. Wish I could have stayed to listen.
My only comment and suggestion for improvement: need a full length mirror in the room. It's just a pet peeve! What can I say?

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishfry45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed for the first time at the Hotel Vermont in Burlington while on a work trip and had a fantastic stay. It's a relatively new hotel that used as much local materials as possible to construct the building (it's also a LEED-certified hotel, which is a huge bonus in my mind) and also features local products in the restaurant and the rooms (soaps, lotions, sheets, etc.). There's a decent fitness center, though it would be nice if it had TVs. The hotel also offers yoga classes (for a small fee), can arrange on site massages (competitive rates) and provides bikes to rent for free. The atmosphere is so pleasant. I had just arrived from a harrowing couple of days of work travel, and the staff made me feel completely at ease. Nate and Jocelyn especially went above and beyond. I can't justify staying here all the time since I work for a nonprofit and sometimes the cheaper rates aren't available. But the Hotel Vermont will be the first place I check. I wish all my hotels on the East Coast were like this one! Can't recommend it enough!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reyorrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
2.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vermont

Property: Hotel Vermont
Address: 41 Cherry St, Burlington, VT 05401-8458
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vermont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vermont is downtown Burlington's new independent LEED Certified hotel. Hotel Vermont offers 125 guest bedrooms, 2,700 square feet of function space, and two outdoor terraces with views of Lake Champlain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing