We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked the place”

Ethan Allen Homestead
Ranked #16 of 74 things to do in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about life in the 1780s and the interesting career of famous statesman Ethan Allen on a guided tour of his homestead at this historic site that overlooks the Winooski River and offers stunning views and walking trails.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Liked the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Frankly, this place is nothing special compared to so many other historical sites around the world, esp. in the US. It is a small farm house that no way can it compare to Mount Vernon. Yet we did learn a ghost story that is associated with Hospitalière de St-Joseph in Montreal. Our guide John gave us a private tour as there was few tourists on the spot and he tried to keep our interests up. We did find it a bit boring to watch that 17 min long movie about Ethan Allen before the tour. Kind of lost in the track of it as we had zero knowledge about him. That's why I bought a book of him at the end of the tour.

It was nice to stop by before heading to the city of Burlington. For the history lovers especially the ones from Quebec, you will find the place's charm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maorangina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Learned alot about this interesting man that wasn't in my history lessons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a a privately supported Park north of Burlington. It is not crowded, has good trails, and picnic tables. If you want show your children the true face of old Vermont take them here. There is a small museum with kid oriented activities and a movie to introduce you to "The Real Ethan Allen". The homestead farm is very interesting and the tour good but a little long for young children. You can enjoy the place without the tour though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jetnh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The old man was nice but a little creepy. He meant well, though. The woman was informative and nice. This is an important historical place. It should be on a list to visit while in Burlington.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This If You Are In Vermont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We visited the Ethan Allen Homestead on the first day of their summer season in May, 2013. What an authentic experience! Instead of a "fluffed up" tourist spot, this Homestead felt so genuine. And the folks on site conducting tours and staffing the gift shop were very knowledgeable and obviously cared a great deal about this little gem from our Revolutionary era.
Our tour guide, in particular, told us more about daily life in that era that we'd learned in many other Colonial-era tourist spots. The Homestead is small but there's a lot to take in. It is well worth one's time when visiting the Burlington area. The fee is reasonable and worth the value received.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for atmosphere but not much else.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I visited on a day when there was a group of revolutionary reenactors present.
They made the visit much more interesting. The homestead itself was very quickly visited.
I think small children would be bored without the reenactors presence.
The 'video' display was very poor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ethan Allen Homestead also viewed

 

Been to Ethan Allen Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing