We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique stop”

World's Tallest Filing Cabinet
Ranked #16 of 75 things to do in Burlington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
750 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Unique stop”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

There's nothing really to see except the file cabinet. My husband grew up in Winooski and had no idea it was ever there. It was fun to stop at and take selfies with the filing cabinet. Cool if you're doing a "Roadside America" tour! Just a fun thing to pop over and see if you're in the area!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    54
    47
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fifteen to thirty seconds of amazement!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

After reading about this place, I HAD to see it! My boyfriend and I were staying in the Burlington area for a long weekend and he was kind enough to indulge me.

It's a strange sculpture of - you guessed it - filing cabinets that are welded together to make a really tall tower of...um...filing cabinets. It's down a residential street into an industrial/corporate building area basically on the side of the road. There are no signs, no fan fare, just the sculpture.

The "tour" consisted of us pulling over to the curb, putting the car in park, getting out of the car, snapping a few photos (careful not to get the telephone pole in the shot), then back in the car and off to our next adventure.

Glad we went because it's goofy, random and funny!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You will have minutes of fun here at the file cabinet!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is not a very good attraction, it is an excellent one. Hit this attraction up before or after you visit Switchback Brewing which is right down the same street. The file cabinet offered us minutes of fun on our way to the brewery. You will post pics on FB and your friends will immediately be jealous of you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank OswegoMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Where's the World's Tallest Step Stool?”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Yes, it's still there. Sitting in the middle of a field. Just sitting there and rusting. Of course, no way for anyone to really use it, there don't have the world's tallest step stool next to it! But it's good for a laugh.... because it's just not really expected!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAdviceCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food for Thought”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Definitely worth seeing for us. Really makes you ponder and reflect on the state of things. It's right by the Lake Champlain chocolate factory, so you can go see it while you're waiting for the next tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmmapeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World's Tallest Filing Cabinet also viewed

 

Been to World's Tallest Filing Cabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing