We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Restaurant”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've been to Burlington, Vermont many times, and the best hotel I've stayed at in that beautiful city is the Courtyard by Marriott Burlington Harbor. The staff was really nice, the rooms perfect, and the restaurant was far better that the average hotel restaurant - the food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    270
    69
    20
    14
See reviews for
194
299
24
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've had several opportunities to stay here over the years, and it has never disappointed. The lake view can not be beat. It is world class. The staff are incredibly friendly and truly go out of their way to help you. In fact on this last trip I had a problem with my reservation which was entirely my fault, but they did everything they could to remedy the situation. The rooms are comfortable and clean and every bit at the top of the Marriott standard. The newly renovated bar area and new restaurant (Bleu) turned out beautifully and I would highly recommend making them a stop on your trip. The proximity to the lake, Church Street and other Burlington amenities are still more reasons to choose this hotel when in Burlington. I have to say, I'm a hotel soap snob, and even though their toiletries look really basic...the bar soap smelled VERY nice. They also have umbrellas to use/borrow/take if there's a chance a rain... The only negative isn't really a negative - the parking garage. I assume it's not run/owned by the hotel(s)...and the closest parking area to the hotel is convenient, but dingy. I park in the side closer to the mall. It's brighter and airier. They charge for you to park overnight in the garage, so if you think you'll be dissatisfied...maybe find street parking (is there any?) Also, while we were there, we shared an elevator ride with a man taking his bike to his room. He was not happy with the idea of "chaining up his bike in the garage"....not a fan of the garage myself, I thought I understood his issue. But upon exiting the hotel, we saw very nice bike racks in at least 2 different places attached to the hotel (with very nice bikes on them) - so i'm not sure what his problem was. From what I saw, the hotel has ample/nice bike parking...and this is a very walk/bike friendly city.

Room Tip: They cost a bit more, but rooms will lake views are well worth it. If you're arriving at night...
See more room tips
Green Features: I am only slightly aware of their practices. I do like the 'farm to table' approach the chef takes.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The best reason to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Burlington Harbor is the absolutely magnificent view of Lake Champlain, the Adirondacks, and the sunsets. You will pay extra, of course, and of the hotel’s 150 rooms I estimate that only about 25 have a true lake view when the trees between the hotel and the water are in full foliage. If this is the case, be sure to get a room on the 5th floor or above.

The room was pleasant and spacious, with two comfortable chairs by the windows and a table in between.

The downtown location of the hotel is another good reason to choose it. It is just a matter of blocks to the Church St. Marketplace (pedestrian mall) and many restaurants. If you plan your journey just right, you can manage to walk uphill both to and from the hotel. I’m not sure the opposite is true.

Bleu, a new restaurant at the Courtyard, has quite tasty (if pricey) breakfasts and dinners, and the service was gracious and efficient. Double check your bill, however, as on two separate occasions the waitstaff’s computer charged more than the menu showed.

But certainly venture out to try some of Burlington’s wonderful independent restaurants. “Farm to table” is a huge concept in Burlington. I suggest American Flatbread, New Moon Cafe, August First Bakery, El Cojito, and Magnolia.

Another Courtyard plus is the very accommodating staff at the front desk. Housekeeping was a tad spotty, but overall good and completed early in the day. I don’t quite get the concept of no towel racks, something I’ve run into in other hotels too. And a bathroom fan would’ve been appreciated; we were told they’re provided only in some rooms.

If you’ve had enough walking, biking, and sitting by the lake, the landscaped courtyard behind the hotel can be a pleasant retreat.

There are many, many pedestrians in downtown Burlington, but except for a few intersections driving is not impeded because the city has installed so many walk lights (which are generally obeyed). No whizzing around town, of course, but you shouldn’t get caught waiting for tons of walkers to keep darting across the street in front of you.

I was very glad that we chose the Courtyard in Burlington, even though it had its little quirks, and would recommend it readily.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I don't expect much from courtyard properties. They're typically clean, comfortable and not much else

This place is much nicer than that. Stylish, hip lobby and interior greet you along with a super friendly staff (even after midnight when my delayed flight got me there).

The room itself had all the bells and whistles of a full on marriott. Extra points for outlets on bedside lamp (wish all hotels would recognize we're all looking to plug the phone in bedside)

Restaurant was very good with excellent service and a solid breakfast.

Nice job to the team running this place. As a very frequent traveler, I'll be sure to come your way again

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PMFRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Rooms were well appointed, location is great, restaurant top notch, one of the best breakfasts in a long time.
All reservation requests were complied with and everything dealt with - felt very looked after

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our first visit to Burlington VT and we are so pleased that we chose this hotel for our three day vacation. The location of the hotel is excellent, easy to find, and convenient parking in the garage. We stayed in room 502 a larger lake view guest room with a whirlpool. The view is outstanding especially at sunset. Our room was very clean, comfortable, spacious, and quiet. The bathroom is exceptionally spacious for a courtyard property which was a pleasant surprise. The whirlpool is situated in the bathroom along with a separate shower and large vanity area. All local sites, stores, restaurants, and the harbor where within a short walk. The staff of this hotel was very friendly, helpful, and professional. This was a wonderful stay and we will return.

Room Tip: The larger rooms with view and spa are well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyHebron_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First time at this hotel. Phase stayed at Hilton a couple of times in Burlington. This is a fairly average hotel but you get a nice room, close to the city centre. A fairly good breakfast but pricy. I can stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwert50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKuzia, General Manager at Courtyard Burlington Harbor, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear qwert50,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I would love to hear more about how we could have turned your average experience into a more memorable experience. If you would like to discuss your stay with me further, please contact me at 802-864-4700, and I would be happy to discuss.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Christian Kuzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
730 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Burlington Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Burlington Harbor

Property: Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Address: 25 Cherry St, Burlington, VT 05401-8458
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Burlington Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Courtyard Burlington Harbor is located just steps away from Lake Champlain, Burlington Town Center, and the Church Street Marketplace . It is ideal for business or pleasure with spacious, thoughtful guest rooms,indoor heated pool, soaking tub, upgraded, state of the art fitness facility, hi speed internet, flat screen HD TV's,and a business center which all combine to make the Courtyard Burlington Harbor the right choice for your lodging needs. Also on property, is our restaurant, Bleu Northeast Seafood, which offers fresh local and regional cuisine. The Bar at Bleu is open daily, with wine, local beers, and craft cocktails. Guestrooms and bathrooms echo Vermont's serene beauty, blending form and function for maximum comfort and productivity. Art by Vermont photographer Shayne Lynn. Cherrywood furnishings. Autumnal colors. Pure Vermont air suffusion. Comfortable linens, warm comforters, premium mattresses, oversized tubs, walk-in showers. Fat fluffy towels, Wired and wireless internet, Multi-line phones. Places for work, spaces for rest. Revitalizing sanctuaries that serve you like no others. Simply and beautifully incomparable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Burlington Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Burlington Harbor Hotel Burlington
Burlington Marriott
Burlington Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing