We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, ok service”
Review of The Gryphon

The Gryphon
Ranked #17 of 255 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 October 2018

The food here was great, but unfortunately, the hospitality wasn't. We arrived at 5:00 to a sea of empty tables and was told that they were all completely full. There's some math that's not quite working there...we were seated at the (super crowded) bar which ended up being just fine.

The food though, totally redeemed this place. We had the sweet potato nachos, pierogi, beet salad, and the Cuban sandwich all to share and everything was really well prepared. We really enjoyed our night - maybe next time we'll get a real seat!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank klvoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

The food was great. Everyone enjoyed their choices. There was also a fun cocktail menu. It is in an old building, so the decor was also a plus.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank stasee000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

The Gryphon's menu is great for lunches and dinners. The food is always prepared well and the portions are enough to fill you up. The lunch menu boast delicious starters from a Vermont cheese plate to pierogis. From there you can get a soup or salad. The main course options focus on sandwiches, but these are not just sandwiches you slap together at home. They are filled with flavors, from tasty breads that fit the fillings to add ons like roasted red peppers and Cajun remoulade. For folks who do not want bread, there are also great lunch choices. The staff is nice and the location is right at the end of Church Street Marketplace. They also always have great local beers on tap alongside small breweries from other states.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kfountain44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Had dinner before seeing Joe Jackson, spur of the moment, was excellent all 4 people loved their food. The Seafood Grits are especially good. Also had lunch there, Got a bloody mary, which was like a meal. $14, three large grilled shrimp, 3 loves, dilly beans, celerly carrots and to boot the bloody mix was right up there with the best i've ever had. I had the steak salad at lunch it was good, steak was perfectly cooked. Wait was a nice guy not pushy but attentive.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Stopped in for dinner with another couple, based upon their past experience. While two of us enjoyed the petite filet with bacon wrapped shrimp, we didn't realize how petite our serving would be. Smallest I have ever seen. One of us tried the trout, and it was on the tasteless side, and a bit rubbery. Service was OK, but when we mentioned we would like two separate invoices, the waiter forgot and gave us one. Our overall impression was ho-hum.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gryphon also viewed

 

Been to The Gryphon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing