We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May 31, 2014 Miller Wedding”
Review of Jackson's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jackson's Lodge
1 review
“May 31, 2014 Miller Wedding”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can not begin to describe how beautiful and perfect this place was for my best friend's wedding! Never would I have found this place, but will definitely be coming back again! (I even saw a moose on the side of the road as we were driving up :) I was the Maid of Honor and was so thankful to have the owners, Gloria and Mark, do everything possible to make this weekend easy, enjoyable, and amazing. Anything we needed they provided, everything from wood for the bonfire at 11pm to advice for our speeches. They were professional and easy-going. The lodge and landscape were gorgeous and made it easy for us to decorate. Not to mention we had a huge commercial kitchen to use at our disposal. Morning breakfast they serve at the cafe is to delicious, banana creme filled crepes topped with raspberry... to die for! Every cabin was clean, spacious, and comfortable. I would highly recommend this place for anyone wanting a wedding at a lake. It was far enough from our busy lives and took us away from our cell phones and TV and brought us back to our friends and family. It was an all around great experience. Thank you Gloria and Mark and everyone at Jackson's Lodge! Hope to see you all again soon!

Room Tip: All cabins are almost identical in layout. Bridal cabin was off in the front corner and slightly dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
15
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My Daughter and her new husband had book their wedding at Jackson's Lodge, the location was perfect, The cabins were beautiful and fully furnished with all the comforts of home. The Lodge itself was also beautiful, it has an elegant rustic feel. All the guests commented to me how wonderful it was and what a great place it was for a wedding! My daughter had decided on a potluck dinner and the hosts Gloria and Mark were so helpful in helping guests (and me) get things ready as well as helping with the clean up. They raked the beach for the bridal party not once but twice! Their professionalism was the best I have seen in a very very long time! I can not give enough praises for this place! Thank you Gloria and Mark for helping make my daughters wedding the best that it could be!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 937NancyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Went to Jackson's in early autumn 2013 for a wedding. Stayed three nights in one of the many neat and tidy cabins. Mark and Gloria (the owners) ran a professional, tight and accommodating ship for the dozens of people who descended upon them for the weekend. Their proper and attentive care of this very family-friendly estate made it easy for everyone to congregate and enjoy the scenic locale.

Jackson's Lodge is easily and readily accessible from Montreal, not far from food shops (even though their restaurant is well-attended), and well stocked with kayaks, lakefront, and lawn games. Their indoor gathering hall and covered BBQ gazebo (which can easily fit 50 people) make for convenient assembly points.

Overall, this place is worth a visit to form your own opinion. I doubt you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Headed to the NEK for an annual grouse hunting trip with some buddies. Cabin was well appointed, comfortable and very clean. The proprietors, Mark and Gloria, clearly take pride in their lodge, and the comfort of their guests. They were readily available to fulfill any needs, be it a hot cup of coffee, charcoal for the grill, or directions to a "birdy" ridge.
Overall, the bird hunting was fantastic, and Jackson's Lodge was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We went to Jackson's lodge in October for a hunting camp for Grouse & Woodcock. Cabin was perfect - good working kitchen for game dinners, big enough bedrooms for everybody and their gear, and dog-friendly. The hospitality of Mark & Gloria couldn't be beat - the main lodge was great, and the stews & chili they put out for lunch was the ideal snack after a hard morning of hunting.
The birds were plentiful and land was easy to access. Lots of good early successional 2nd growth cover.

Room Tip: There are lots of cabins and all are different - talk to the owners about what specifics you need. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I just spent the weekend at Jackson's Lodge for a family wedding. The setting is peaceful and very clean. The owners truly take care in keeping up with the property and they are very accommodating and friendly. All of the cabins are unique and adorable. My family is already planning our next vacation there!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucks1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Jackson's lodge for our moose hunting honeymoon last October. (Yes, I said moose hunting and honeymoon in the same sentence!)... We had the time of our life at the best place in VT's only remaining true wilderness area. If you love the outdoors this place is for you! To make a long story short, we came back to celebrate our 1 year anniversary in 'our' cabin. We decided that we would like to come back here every year as an anniversary tradition. ITS THAT AWESOME!!!! The cabins are the perfect private getaway. Rustic yet with all the amenities you need for complete comfort. Gloria and Mark are exceptional hosts and we felt like we were visiting old friends. Hard to find places like this these days that make you feel like a real person and not guest no. 1775938220. Go check it out for yourself! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaan
10.1 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
24.3 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
13.7 mi away
Tall Timber Lodge
Tall Timber Lodge
#2 of 12 in Pittsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Motel La Source
Motel La Source
#1 of 4 in Coaticook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
23.6 mi away
Domaine Les Boises Lee Farm
12.3 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#4 of 7 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Lodge

Property: Jackson's Lodge
Address: 213 Jackson's Lodge Road, P.O. Box 384, Canaan, VT
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Canaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Canaan
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing