We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cozy, family restaurant”
Review of Iron Lantern

Iron Lantern
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Castleton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ph: (802) 468-5474 ~ Fax: (802) 468-2362 ~ Email: ironlanternrest@aol.com
Natick, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice, cozy, family restaurant”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very nice salad bar with soup and fresh bread. Good size portions. Varied menu-lots of options. Food- average comfort food. Overall enjoyed experience and would eat here again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Newly discovered eatery”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

while visiting our grandson at college during family weekend we discovered this wonderful little restaurant. We had done one of the chains night before and was not looking forward to another. The salad bar alone was worth it. We were a party of eleven with a great variety of meals and no complaints
We will go back on future visits.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cttravelers_390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No real food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I were referred to this restaurant. We got in and asked for a bottle of wine. We were told they could not give us a bottle of wine, only by the glass. We asked for a shrimp cocktail and were told that we could not have that, it was on the buffet and we had to get our own. I do not do buffet, especially, when the kids in the restaurant were coughing and handling the spoons that were on the buffet. At no time did the servers change the spoons or even scrape off the food from them. They were caked with food and looked terrible.

We asked for the prime rib which was on special and to have it without any extra seasoning. No could not have that it was made with seasoning on it. Asked for the au jus on the side that wasn't going to happen either, it was already on the beef. Asked for the strip loin not to have the lobster butter on it, Nope that wasn't going to happen it came like that.

We left, for the amount of money they wanted to charge we went to the Fair Haven Inn and had a beautiful meal. No problem there. Would not go back to the Iron Lantern, nor would we recommend it to anyone who has ever enjoyed real food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Veronica049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidandlisaironlant, Front Office Manager at Iron Lantern, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I remember you coming in the door menu in hand saying how great everything looked. No where on our menu does it indicated that we serve shrimp cocktail as we do served peel and eat shrimp on the salad bar. The menu also clearly indicates that soup, salad and bread bar comes with all meals so if you don't do buffet settings maybe our restaurant wasn't the right choice for you . Our prime rib is cooked daily in a slow cooker and seasoned appropriately before cooking. As for the wine once again the menu clearing states the wines that are available by the glass, bottle or both. Ian happy that you were able to find somewhere to eat that better suited your personal needs.

Lisa Forster
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good eats”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Liked everything from the salad bar to the main meal to the drinks. Everyone in that area should try it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The salad bar is average, pretty much what you would expect. The only thing out of the ordinary would be the cold peel and eat shrimp. They were OK, but a bit over cooked. Overall the menu was interesting, I had the jambalaya pasta. Lots of pasta, a couple of scallops and 3 shrimp. A bit skimpy. The server told me the local beer on tap, but what she brought was something different. Should have a better knowledge of what is available. OK, but there are better choices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KGR1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iron Lantern also viewed

 

Been to Iron Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing