We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Birdseye Diner

Birdseye Diner
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Castleton
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Salisbury, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice little diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stopped by for a late lunch mid-week. Service was great and the food was good. The inside is well maintained to keep that 40s style diner intact. The only little problem I notice was that customers tended to congregate in front of the main entrance/cashier area making it difficult to come in or out especially during busy times. I will definitely go back next time I am in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty and satisfying lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Food was good, staff friendly, clean. Plenty of choices on the menu. Good stop after a college tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Though the outside of this place looks a little shabby, don't judge a book by it's cover. If you look a little closer, you will see the flowers growing in pots by the door and the inside is fresh and cute and clean. The food was plentiful, good and reasonably priced, with lots of choices. I was afraid being a diner, that it would only have burger type food, but there was a Portobello mushroom sandwich on the menu as well as many other non-fried foods. Our waitress was very attentive and personable and we really enjoyed our visit here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markleysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Food Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

If you are in Castleton VT, please stop in the Birdseye Diner, the food is excellent and the staff are wonderful. This year we went almost every night to eat at the Diner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelas24153114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Clarendon, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Classic American Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Been going here every time I visit my family in Castleton for the past 3 years now. I really have no complaints on the quality of the food or the portions. The pricing is on par with all other American Fare diners as well. The staff is very friendly but at times seem to forget about you, not always but sometimes mostly simple things like a refill. The $4 burger night is awesome, over a quarter lb. burger with tons of fries, really can't beat it. The meatloaf is delicious, spaghetti was surprisingly good, and to be honest with you I walked there every morning for breakfast. I will always be a customer unless anything changes. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birdseye Diner also viewed

 

Been to Birdseye Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing