We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This little corner of Vermont is so charming and beautiful. It was nice to come up for the weekend from the city - so quiet and peaceful. Nancy and Ralph are such gracious hosts. I hope I can stay with them again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sas7202013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
161
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The house itself is delightful, as well as being excellently positioned for the Vermont countryside. We stayed in Hannah's Room which has a beautifully spacious and luxuriously appointed feel and excellent outlook. But the very best aspect of our stay was the welcome we received from Nancy and Ralph. We were given very helpful advice about the environs and amenities and also had long conversations about all manner of interesting topics - making us feel truly 'at home'. A most memorable two nights on our journey across the USA.

Room Tip: Hannah's room cannot be fautled
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We choose Applewood as the place to meet our sister and brother in law from Texas, we having travelled from Western Australia, and our base for seeing 'the fall'.
We spent 5 glorious days at Applewood Manor in late September.
Simply put it is the best B & B we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in plenty.
Nancy and Ralph make you feel at home from the moment you arrive and spoil you until the moment you leave.
You will be delighted if you stay at Applewood Manor, good food, great hospitality and every comfort.

Room Tip: We found Noah's room is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nancy and Ralph are great hosts and innkeepers.
The house is clean, comfortable,
and welcoming.
The breakfast was delicious and hearty. (My gluten free needs were easily accommodated)
The property is convenient ( just a short .4 walk) to Castleton village, and also has its own wooded trails.
I'm going back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WadeLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We are a group of four couples that travel together once a year and always stay in a B & B at least once during the trip. We all agreed Applewood Manor is one of the best B & B's we have stayed in. The house and decor are lovely and the hosts, Nancy and Ralph are delightful, and were very gracious. Nancy made coffee for us at night as we sat around and recovered from our day of sightseeing. It was a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Applewood Manor B&B was our first night's stay on our fall foliage trip, and Nancy made us feel like royalty! After a long and late train ride into Vermont from New York City, Nancy was there with her welcoming smile, waiting at the train station to pick us up, and then she even helped carry my way-overpacked luggage upstairs to our comfy, cozy room! We had the best night's sleep ever in the most soft and luxurious sheets we have ever slept in! Because of our late arrival, she and Ralph let us sleep in by offering us the later breakfast, which was so delicious. Thank you for making our trip so special!
Nancy & Glenn Brown

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasshopper2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent three nights in this very cozy and well kept bed-and-breakfast. Nancy was a perfect hostess, serving us on the three mornings three different breakfasts beautifully served and very tasty. The rooms are comfortable and last but not least the surroundings at this time of the year (foliage season) stunning.

We can only recommend this bed-and-breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
11.0 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Rutland
247 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 319 North Rd, Castleton, VT 05735-9485
Region: United States > Vermont > Castleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applewood Manor is a national award-winning B&B. Situated in picturesque Castleton and convenient to Killington and other Central Vermont attractions, Applewood Manor is renowned for its comfortable elegance, excellent hospitality, and rich history dating back to the 1780's. Original brick and marble fireplaces grace the public rooms, and each of the five guest bedrooms has a private bathroom, deluxe mattresses, and nicely-appointed furnishings. In summer, the porch, patio & swimming pool are pleasant places to relax The 33-acre property offers woodland walks, snowshoe trail, and a river for trout-fishing. The area presents spectacular scenery; a wealth of activities including hiking, fishing, golfing, skiing, snowmobiling; fabulous shopping; and unique historical places of interest. Applewood Manor makes a great home base for exploring Vermont or just enjoying a getaway. You can get there by car, Cape Air from Boston, or Amtrak’s Ethan Allen express from NYC which stops at the beautifully-renovated Castleton station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing