We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Stony Brook, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stay here every year for our annual ski trip to Okemo Mountain in Vermont. My kids love the bunk beds, game room and indoor pool.. We enjoy the breakfast , the large fireplace in the lobby and the board games provided. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and neat. The rooms are particularly large which is wonderful for families..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    146
    79
    21
    19
See reviews for
108
212
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mass
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

On a groupon we stayed at the Pointe hotel and had a very spacious clean room with 2 queens. Quiet but It was was off season. Fun game room with pool table and nostalgic arcade games that cost money. Friendly, helpful staff. No complaints! outdoor pool/hot tub were really nice, beautiful setting. Spa massage was good not great had better. Castle restaurant was a memorable experience very romantic, ambiance was terrific. Food was mediocre at best. From similar posts you would think they would get the hint but they obviously either don't look or don't care because they make the same mistakes. Overcooked foods, nothing special. I had the ahi tuna and had to send it back and it still wasn't good. At least they took it off our bill. My husband had the Wellington and it was Overcooked.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwm8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, CT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed at the Pointe for a one night trip with my boyfriend (we live in northern VT). Booked as a deal on living social for around $60-70. Overall the stay was fine, I don't think I would have paid retail to stay here.
Pool and hot tub area were very clean and quiet which was nice. No complaints about bedroom, beds were very comfy. Bathroom on the other hand looked like it was partially renovated, mirror and lighting were pretty dated and overall it was pretty cramped. Faucet wasn't sealed properly and leaked water all over the counter drenching my make up bag, thankfully I forgot my straightener at home because that could've been bad!
Thought the grounds of the property were beautiful and even got a chance to explore the castle. Can't comment on the food, restaurant was a little pricy so we ate at Sam's Steak House down the street (it was fantastic!). Staff was always super friendly and welcoming.
I would return, but I would rather cough up the extra cash to stay in the castle.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a great place hidden away for a short getaway. Staff was very nice, the room was clean and comfortable! good food around there too. The lobby has a nice big dining table and the pool looked great- though we did not have the chance to visit. Not sure about what there would be for kids to do, but the hotel was nice for couples. the grounds were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexjustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in one of the condominiums and we had a marvelous weekend. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They recommended great restaurants and the dinner we had at the Castle was great! The spa was fabulous and we went swimming in the outside heated pool and it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had stayed at this hotel several times over the last 20 yrs - under various ownership. I must say since the Castle Hill purchased it, it is well run, nicely appointed and made for quite a pleasant stay. Desk staff was very helpful, room was clean, and it was a nice 2 night stay. Close to Okema and all the nice breakfast spots in neighboring towns.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our fall foliage weekend getaway when staying here for two nights this past weekend. We got the Groupon for a two night stay, and the price was much more economical than any other regular rate we could find online within a 50-75 mile radius. The front desk was very friendly upon check-in (Jean, I think), and the staff later in the evening was happy to provide us games to play in our room which we took advantage of.
A couple of things that would have made our stay better - if the pool was open a bit later and if we would have been able to get a king room, but we did book somewhat last-minute.
With some of the comments not being all positive, we weren't sure what to expect, but the rooms were very nice (somewhat standard, but very well appointed and nice color scheme with decorations). Mini fridge with Keurig (though my husband had some difficulties and just filled his cup at the front desk the 2nd day). The mini fridge was the neatest I've ever seen with the eliminated light and I enjoyed the Aveda products in the bathroom. The beds were comfy, and pillows even better - we slept well here (good blackout curtains if you position them right). Our room did face the highway and we couldn't hear any cars passing by.
We spent one morning in the hot tub and pool and enjoyed that, but wish we would have been able to spend time in the neat, (heated!) outdoor pool up at the Castle. We checked it out one night and was hoping to return the next day, but it closed at 7:45pm (we didn't return to the hotel from driving around NH and VT until after that). We originally had reservations for dinner at the Castle, (which we heard was great), but we had to cancel because our driving took us all over back roads of NH & VT and wasn't going to be able to make it back in time. We enjoyed a few places in town to grab a drink and have dinner, so we didn't feel like we missed out on too much.
There was a drop-in yoga class on Saturday morning I was contemplating going to but missed, and I would have loved to have had a facial or massage at the spa, but it just wasn't in the cards for this stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
4.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
268 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
16.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
14.8 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
330 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort

Property: The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Address: 2940 Route 103, Cavendish, VT 05142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the natural beauty of the Green Mountains in southern Vermont, and just a short distance from Okemo Mountain, the contemporary and family-friendly The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort and Spa, offers one of Vermont’s most picturesque yet intimate settings for a family vacation, meeting, conference, or ski getaway.With a choice of recently renovated, comfortable and spacious accommodations — rooms with queen or king beds, extra-large family rooms, or family suites — all of our guests at The Pointe Hotel will enjoy the modern conveniences and wide variety of amenities we offer, including flat-screen TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe, a Castle Hill Resort Hotel Cavendish
Pointe At Castle Hill Hotel
Clarion Cavendish
The Pointe At Castle Hill Resort Cavendish, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing