We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chef/Bad Chef”
Review of Castle Restaurant

Castle Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Chef/Bad Chef”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I guess the best part of going to the Castle was the building itself, truly beautiful . Unfortunately the meal never came close. It was as if we had two different Chefs preparing our meals. The bread rolls were excellent, hot and crispy crust, flavorful inside. The lobster/crab bisque was terrible and it was sent back. It had the chemical flavor of canned crab meat, as well as being too salty. The caesar salad replacement had very nice fresh greens but lacked enough dressing. A good sized portion of medium sized mussels came in a very flavorful broth, which could have stood on it's own. The escargot were equally as flavorful.
The beef wellington's pastry was a bit doughy and the meat a bit on the dry side, it should have been better. The lobster tail was the best of the entree's, nicely seasoned and moist. The scallops
looked great, but they were also overcooked and dry, not horribly so but enough to spoil what should have been a terrific treat. The sirloin strip also looked great, nicely browned/blackened outside slightly red in the middle. Surprise! The chef managed to turn a beautiful looking steak into one that had a mealy almost sawdust like texture. Guessing , I suspect that parts of our meal were prepared the night before and reheated. For desert, the chocolate tort was excellent, as was the coffee.
The Castle may be better at other times, but that doesn't make my experience there any better.
Summation: beautiful building, friendly waitress, elegant dinning room, worth the expense, serving
some excellent items along with some overcooked items, not close to being worth the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    24
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good service, mediocre food”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The restaurant is beautiful, and the service is very good, but the food is nothing special. Beef wellington had a slightly burnt crust, lettuce had a brown edge; rolls were so hot you could not pick them up without burning yourself. On the plus side, Escargot were nicely done, as was the beet carpacio and the dessert, but for this price I expected more attention to detail. Some of the staff members were wearing jeans, which was a bit odd in such a formal dining room. My advice is to come for a drink or breakfast so that you can see this wonderful building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WritingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, MA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner Beyond My Imagination”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The food and the service was outstanding. My husband and I both loved our food. It is a 3 course meal. I had the shrimp cocktail to start, the lobster and crab bisque (delish!!), and the maple glazed salmon for an entree. My husband had chicken tenders wrapped in prosciutto, tomato soup, and the lamb. He is picky and he raved about his lamb. Service was fantastic all while the piano player played in the room beyond us singing old songs. The atmosphere is old and you truly feel like you are in a castle. Worth going to and I really want to go back the next time we are visiting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank telenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good but expensive!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The place is amazing. Looks like a real Castle with many rooms and dark wood walls everywhere. We both took the 3 serving menu. Big portions (main Entree). One of our appetizer (bruschetta) was overcooked adn the lobstercrab chowder was too salty. Service was excellent so all-and-all a very nice place, service and portions are excellent but we were expecting a bit more for what we paid as all items on the menu are not cheap.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkB0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Both the food and service were excellent. We went of the off season, so hopefully the same is held during the busy season.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aral25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Castle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing