We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a faclift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
boston, ma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Needs a faclift”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Also did the travelzoo promo. The public areas were well maintained and charming. The hallway upstairs was in need of repair and our room was dated with a bath with mold on the ceiling. Room was musty smelling. Small and awkward seating - more of an afterthought.

Confusing to find the hotel from the highwat since you need to go to the Point to register and website was not clear on amenties or relationship with the Point. You can use the indoor pool there. The evening meal was mediocre. Mussles were returned as bad. Generous portions but lackiing in finesse. Very expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    107
    44
    27
    21
See reviews for
54
248
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Castle is beautiful and romantic. The pre-fix dinner was pricey but excellent. However, I think they need to decide whether they want to operate like a 5-Star Hotel or a quaint Bed and Breakfast. As a Bed and Breakfast, I would have expected a lovely breakfast at no charge, not a continental (sparse) breakfast for $10/pp. I also believe they should replace the toilet in Room 4. There is a note indicating that the black stain was caused by iron in the water and they are choosing not to replace it because "it is functional." That seemed ludicrous to me. We were in Room 3 which was lovely; however, the small pedestal sink with the long neck faucet made it impossible to wash your face and there was no tub. It also did not have a seating area and the 4-poster bed obstructed the TV. I probably would not have minded expect we were traveling with two other couples who had large bathrooms with jacuzzi's and decorative fireplaces and a separate sitting area. Overall they charge like a 5-star hotel ($10 desserts), but have the ambiance of a bed and breakfast ... without the breakfast and personal touches.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRITICINTRAINING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This old Governors Mansion has always been known as a very expensive luxury hotel in Vermont.
There is nothing like this for 30 miles around. Cut stone exterior elegant 3 story mansion features solid oak detail everywhere inside. Built in the late 1890's for a family of extreme wealth and power, you will not duplicate the luxurious setting, service and unbelievable amenities. The restaurant serves Michelin quality food at very moderate pricing. The new owners from Boston have delivered culture, quality and all around first class amenities for reasonable prices. Vermont, especially the Ludlow area, does not have anything that comes near the feeling of being in a fantasy world. The Spa is over the top while being priced for the average person. The heated pool and hot tub are spotless. The beautiful buffet breakfast situated in the royal dinning room will beg you to stay and just wonder. The library and sitting rooms with soft classic music playing will let you imagine how the rich and famous feel while lounging in the luxurious confines. The views of he mountains, well what else could you want? Great wine selections galore. Put this location on your list as number 1 for sure.

Room Tip: Every room is great. A $25.00 off your dinner coupon is given if you request it. Spa discounts might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

One is a beautiful stone building a top a big hill (like you see in the Trip Advisor pic). The other building, at the base of the hill, is a somewhat non desrcipt hotel. We booked a room here via Groupon and ended up in the "standard" hotel - not the Castle Inn Resort. That being said it was clean, quiet and right on the main drag. It was perfect as we were there for some R&R and leave peeping.

Was a little disappointed that it was promoted as one thing and delivered another but thats a Groupon thing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benton2569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in medio October, having taken advantage of a Travelzoo promo. The website was not able to apply the promo (for 2 rooms/6 people), so I had to book via phone, where they did not mention the promo. When we were arrived, we found the rooms spacious (and clean), but with a "nothing-to-brag-about" decor, and a bit worn-down.

In respect to dining only the Castle restaurant was open and not especially fitted for bringing 3 kids to. So we went to the - at least out of season - absolutely dull town of Ludlow a couple of (dark) miles away.

This was an OK hotel with the promo, but definetely not if we had been charged full price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Took advantage of a Travelzoo midweek promo for this property, and would repeat in a heartbeat! Without the promo, might be a bit outside our budget, so will definitely keep on alert for future specials and packages, since this property is definitely worth a return trip.

Stayed in Room 11 in the historic castle/mansion, which was spacious yet cozy; ample sitting/lounging areas and sumptuous king bed. Walk-through closet to large vintage bath with claw foot tub...a charming treat! Plumbing a bit on the quirky/aged side, but for a 100+-year-old property, not bad! I believe most of the wall-mounted light fixtures and woodwork throughout the manse are original, and in amazing condition.

Our promo included vouchers toward massages in the adjacent Aveda spa. While the massage prices were quite a bit more than what I'd typically expect to pay, it was well worth it. Treatment rooms are cozy and serene. The whole building is the mansion's former carriage house, repurposed with care and detail. Fitness equipment in sizable gym on lower level was varied, with something for everyone. Easy walk out to beautiful pool and hot tub, which is outdoors and purported open year-round....would love to see this in winter!

Promo also included voucher toward dinner in the main dining room. An elegant treat! No pretense, just amazing food. Three-course prix fixe menu offered plenty of seasonal options, and was a great way to indulge in unique dishes, like the escargot appetizer and sublime beet carpaccio salad. Atmosphere was cozy elegant, and staff prompt, gracious, and knowledgable. Three-course meal for two including wine was about $125, so definitely a "special occasion" sort of place! But food is top quality, artfully prepared and presented, and portions are ample.

After dinner, enjoyed pretending for a time that this lovely place was all mine, while lounging in the rich wood-paneled library, reading vintage volumes in a plush chair while the grandfather clock chimed and the warm embrace of history and Gilded Age living washed over me...

A magical place, one I highly recommend for the history-minded, charm-seeking, small-town, simple-life loving person who appreciates his or her overnight getaways with a bit of imperfect rustic elegance, served up Vermont-style!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ramblingsandroasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As a frequent traveler, I always try to stay in small places and look on the Small Luxury Hotels of the World. I was happy to see Castle Hill. It was definitely not what it claims to be.
When we arrived, instead of helping us, the woman at the front desk told us rudely that we should have gone first to the other hotel down the hill to check in.
No one was there to greet us at the door or to help us with our luggage.
We were not even offered a glass of water.
The room where we stayed (in the castle) room 11 - was dark, the tv did not work, the water in the shower dripped so slowly, it was unbearable, the hot water took forever to come up. The library which is supposed to be the highlight seemed dusty. There was a smell of an old hotel. I am surprised to see it on Small Hotels of the World.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irishami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
0.0 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
4.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
263 reviews
16.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
325 reviews
17.8 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Resort And Spa

Property: Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Address: 2910 State Route 103, Junction Routes 103 & 131, Cavendish, VT 05142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hill Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance are the words best used to describe Castle Hill Resort and Spa in Ludlow, Vermont. Located in the lush Green Mountains, the resort is a member of the prestigious “Small Luxury Hotels of the World” and listed on National Register of Historic Places.The full-service Castle Hill Resort and Spa features a unique collection of 10 Castle rooms, which exude timeless elegance and luxury. Each room has its own layout, architectural elements, and character, and is warmly decorated and furnished with period pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Hill Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Resort And Hotel Cavendish
Castle Hill Hotel
Castle Hill Resort And Spa Cavendish, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing