We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Dallastown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Okay. Great experience with a few caveats. Condo was super. Had the one bedroom which was very spacious. Loved the gas fireplace. Everyone, well almost, was very friendly! A few minor issues: 1) Book by phone instead of the website if you want to ski. Wanted to book the ski package but couldn't figure out how to do so via the web. Had to do so at the front desk. The subsequent "upgrade" was shockingly significant. 2) When we pulled out the sofa beds there were crumbs in them. 3)The lady at the front desk at the spa was not very friendly and seemed a bit snobbish. 4) The drain in one of the bathroom sinks was broken. However, a call to the front desk quickly fixed the problem. One more thing. A big shout out to the young lady at the Castle mansion. Very friendly and gave us a wonderful tour. I suppose perfection is a slippery thing but at these prices it would have been appreciated/expected. We'd definitely go back but wish they'd tighten a few things up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quitadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    106
    44
    27
    21
See reviews for
53
247
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mallorca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here two nights in a castle room, number 8. Lovely room with giant sized(super king" bed which was very comfortable, best nights sleep ever! Bathroom very large with jacuzzi bath, but
NO separate shower, which was a small hindrance when you just wanted to freshen up, also not very environmentally friendly with regards to waiting water...the room had loads of character with lovely old pieces of furniture..one word of caution..there is no elevator, so if travelling with heavy cases, request someone help with your luggage, help was offered, but you may not be so lucky. Another little gripe is that there was no safe in the room, unusual in this day and age.. We had lovely meal in the restaurant with attentive but not in your face service, a great wine list also... Parking is right outside the castle and the spa is just across the way, a thirty second walk.Check in and out was very smooth, and this is done at the main Pointe hotel reception. Overall a very nice stay and we would most certainly stay here again if in Vemont.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobsonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights while snowboarding at Okemo Mountain. The resort is a 10 minute drive to the mountain. I would say the hotel was average, nothing impressed us and nothing upset us.

We had an appointment at the spa. It was a mediocre massage, the front desk employee at the spa was miserable and took away from the experience. The rooms and spa were an antique style (like most of New Hampshire/Vermont hotels). Great place to stay if you are visiting the mountain and don't want to stay right on the mountain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed for one night at the 2 bedroom condo with a few friends. The hotel and condos are well located only 3miles from okemo mountain resort and beautifully decorated with all amenities. Had a great time with our friends and would definitely visit again. They also offer discounted lift tickets in their ski package with a breakfast voucher which was great! Would highly recommend the condos! :-)

Room Tip: Choose the 1-3 bedroom condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FKD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Also did the travelzoo promo. The public areas were well maintained and charming. The hallway upstairs was in need of repair and our room was dated with a bath with mold on the ceiling. Room was musty smelling. Small and awkward seating - more of an afterthought.

Confusing to find the hotel from the highwat since you need to go to the Point to register and website was not clear on amenties or relationship with the Point. You can use the indoor pool there. The evening meal was mediocre. Mussles were returned as bad. Generous portions but lackiing in finesse. Very expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Castle is beautiful and romantic. The pre-fix dinner was pricey but excellent. However, I think they need to decide whether they want to operate like a 5-Star Hotel or a quaint Bed and Breakfast. As a Bed and Breakfast, I would have expected a lovely breakfast at no charge, not a continental (sparse) breakfast for $10/pp. I also believe they should replace the toilet in Room 4. There is a note indicating that the black stain was caused by iron in the water and they are choosing not to replace it because "it is functional." That seemed ludicrous to me. We were in Room 3 which was lovely; however, the small pedestal sink with the long neck faucet made it impossible to wash your face and there was no tub. It also did not have a seating area and the 4-poster bed obstructed the TV. I probably would not have minded expect we were traveling with two other couples who had large bathrooms with jacuzzi's and decorative fireplaces and a separate sitting area. Overall they charge like a 5-star hotel ($10 desserts), but have the ambiance of a bed and breakfast ... without the breakfast and personal touches.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRITICINTRAINING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This old Governors Mansion has always been known as a very expensive luxury hotel in Vermont.
There is nothing like this for 30 miles around. Cut stone exterior elegant 3 story mansion features solid oak detail everywhere inside. Built in the late 1890's for a family of extreme wealth and power, you will not duplicate the luxurious setting, service and unbelievable amenities. The restaurant serves Michelin quality food at very moderate pricing. The new owners from Boston have delivered culture, quality and all around first class amenities for reasonable prices. Vermont, especially the Ludlow area, does not have anything that comes near the feeling of being in a fantasy world. The Spa is over the top while being priced for the average person. The heated pool and hot tub are spotless. The beautiful buffet breakfast situated in the royal dinning room will beg you to stay and just wonder. The library and sitting rooms with soft classic music playing will let you imagine how the rich and famous feel while lounging in the luxurious confines. The views of he mountains, well what else could you want? Great wine selections galore. Put this location on your list as number 1 for sure.

Room Tip: Every room is great. A $25.00 off your dinner coupon is given if you request it. Spa discounts might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
0.0 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
4.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
16.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
17.8 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Resort And Spa

Property: Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Address: 2910 State Route 103, Junction Routes 103 & 131, Cavendish, VT 05142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hill Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance are the words best used to describe Castle Hill Resort and Spa in Ludlow, Vermont. Located in the lush Green Mountains, the resort is a member of the prestigious “Small Luxury Hotels of the World” and listed on National Register of Historic Places.The full-service Castle Hill Resort and Spa features a unique collection of 10 Castle rooms, which exude timeless elegance and luxury. Each room has its own layout, architectural elements, and character, and is warmly decorated and furnished with period pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Castle Hill Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Resort And Hotel Cavendish
Castle Hill Hotel
Castle Hill Resort And Spa Cavendish, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing