We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful find: lovely owners, eclectic ease, affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Charlotte Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Charlotte B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We were delighted with our stay at the Inn. It is a genuinely comfortable environment, thanks in large part to Duker, the generous and affable co-owner. The culture of the Inn is one that gives rise to long, lingering breakfasts over terrific conversation; impromptu guitar-and-song around the campfire; and shared stories about area features/sights. The Master and Garden rooms are very spacious; the Family Room is a real find for families; and the Cottage is absolutely charming. Yes, the well water is somewhat sulfurous, but the inn provides ample bottled water for drinking, and we did not find it a problem. The multicultural and artistic atmosphere was a real pleasure, and the location is terrific. Visit this inn!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dssiksika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2010

My wife and I came up to Vermont for the Mozart festival and a little r&r. The Inn was a reasonably priced B&B close to Shelburne, Burlington, Lake Champlain and the Green Mountains.

The owners Duker and Josephina are friendly and helpful. The room was nice, the breakfasts were quite good, eggs, pancakes, VT maple syrup, local cheeses, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. A nice big wholesome Vt breakfast.

My wife is working on her MBA and needed an internet connection. The Inn is set up for wireless and we had no problem connecting and had good response time.

If you like being in nature, you can easily go for a walk to Mt Philo state park and get spectacular views for your effort.

we will be returning to the Inn again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philly_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this delightful inn. I was first attracted by the excellent website, with lots of links for local activities. The location is perfect - conveniently adjacent to a scenic 2 lane country road. Our host, Duker, could not have been more welcoming and generous. We lingered over his delicious breakfasts, tailored to my dietary restrictions. Duker has an impressive knowledge of the local area; he was our own private guide, helping us map out our daily itinerary, pointing us to sites not in the guide books; his recommendations were always spot-on. We brought our bikes, and cycled nearly every day, right from the inn. We also hiked up Mt. Philo before breakfast, loved having this state park a short walk up the road. Our room was perfectly comfortable, great bed. The well water was fine for bathing; Duker provided an ample supply of bottled water to drink. We enjoyed all the creative touches, Duker's striking artwork, the friendliness that put us at ease. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunbrightsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2017

If there were one thing I'd emphasize about our humble Inn it would be the location. Honestly, i don't think there is a more beautiful area in New England. Within a 30 mile radius there is no end to the astonishing landscape, quirkiness, good food and drink and much more. Keep Vermont Weird. Our Inn is not predictable, because life isn't. Like Andy Warhol and the Talking Heads said, heaven is a place where nothing ever happens and everything is exactly the same (like a big hotel chain?). I think they were being ironic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We stayed one night in the tiny cottage - Run down & ugly with an uncomfortable bed that squeaked, well water that smelled like sulfer and the highway traffic was right outside the window. We had reservations for two nights, but the place was so bad we left after the first night. The owner Ducker Bower is a real nice guy, but this place leaves a lot to be desired!

1  Thank mactoolsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duker b, Owner at Inn at Charlotte Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are so sorry your experience was not better. No excuse, but we did inherit the Stand Alone Cottage, which we now call, grandiosely, the Chateau. We have improved it, including literally raising the roof. The sulfur in the water issue has long ago been solved. Though sulfur is harmless (and believe it or not, some people liked it; it reminded them of Roman baths and was very soft on the skin), we long ago installed a top of the line treatment system that results in incredibly clean soft water and no sulfur (the main issue). Now people really like the Chateau and request it specifically. "Charming" is the word that comes to mind. So we are so sorry that your experience was under par, and we would gladly offer you a free night if you ever return to Vermont. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank zelda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2701mauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duker b, Owner at Inn at Charlotte Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
0.7 mi away
Mt. Philo Inn
Mt. Philo Inn
#1 of 1 in Charlotte
42 reviews
12.9 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
700 reviews
14 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,652 reviews
7.1 mi away
Heart of the Village Inn
Heart of the Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
267 reviews
8.1 mi away
Strong House Inn
Strong House Inn
#1 of 3 in Vergennes
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Charlotte Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Charlotte Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 State Park Rd, Vt, Charlotte, VT 05445
Region: United States > Vermont > Charlotte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte
Price Range: £131 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Charlotte Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charlotte B&B offers spacious, well-appointed, all private rooms and suites in a beautiful Champlain Valley setting. Enjoy enthusiastic hosting and a prime location for all that makes Vermont so special: farmland, hills, great hiking and biking, the best restaurants in Vermont, shopping and nightlife in Burlington, farmer's markets, museums, the best ferry on Lake Champlain, delicious breakfasts with new friends and much, much more. There is so much to do just out your door in every direction. Come and enjoy; we'll welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at Charlotte Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing