We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like staying at home while on the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
Ranked #3 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The impression you will most probably carry away is the friendliness. And yes, the teddy bears - they are all over the place. This place also welcomes children - a lot of bed and breakfasts don't. The property is a friendly old house and can do with some sprucing up. May be some bears could also be confined to the shop at the back. But we did not really mind this at all as the family that runs it is charming. For us breakfast was relaxed and we enjoyed the food and conversation. There is a bit of history around town and some prior reading and planning is advised. You would do well to plan to spend some time, if not money, in the shop at the back or the barn/gallery next to the house.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shoumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

The exterior really needed to be repainted and the inside was stuffed full of dusty clutter. It was like a room that you've seen so often and looked at so often that you stop "seeing" it. Teddy bears on top of knick-knacks on top of doo-dads--every surface cluttered with barely-cute "stuff" that needed a good cleaning. It's gone way over the edge from quaint to just old. The beds were quite comfortable, but again the room was stuffed full of furniture. Please remember that the guests need somewhere to put their suitcases! The arm chair and tables look great upon entering the room, until you realize that there's not an inch of free floor space to set down a suitcase! Breakfast was just the same pancakes, eggs and bacon I can cook myself any Sunday. I think people expect something more at B&Bs these days--at least a custom granola, maybe some artsy muffin, just something with a little more "special" to it. All in all, a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrinkledpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

we had a wonderful time, We will go back there again, The people that own the b&b were awesome people, we felt very welcome, and the food was great. I recommend this place every one who is traveling, if you are a bear collector, they have any bear you want.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Lovely place, lovely innkeepers. We really felt like part of a big family. Owner Laura is a holistic acupuncturist and Scott is an amazing artist. Everything they prepare for breakfast is either organic or natural.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This place reminded me of my auntie's house from childhood, so I mmediately felt at home. The innkeepers are lovely. I really enjoyed the Tower Room (the multi-sided room in front). I didn't notice any street noise and the bed was extremely comfortable. Wonderful breakfast--best pancakes I ever had. This is a great place to visit with a group of friends.

Room Tip: If you don't like teddy bear decor or small children, you might want to consider a different pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calicosandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We returned to the Hugging Bear Inn after a couple visits over 20 years ago. It is still a wonderful quaint bed & breakfast in a lovely little town. Georgette, the innkeeper for all these years, greeted us with a smile and hug. Little has changed in all these years. They are a family friendly hotel, although we were visiting for our 25th anniversary. There are various rooms to choose from each with different types of bed choices all with teddy bears. We were in the Tower Room which is small but charming with a private small bath. The breakfasts were delicious – Georgette is a wonderful cook – we love her apple pancakes. She is very knowledgeable about the area and was able to give recommendations of places to shop and eat. We enjoyed the inn and teddy bear shop attached. There is also an art gallery in the carriage house. We enjoyed meeting Laura, Scott and Fiona – Georgette’s family and innkeepers as well, or in Fiona’s case, Jr. Innkeeper and greeter. Chester is a lovely town and is only 30 minutes or so from Manchester where we spent a day shopping as well. Visiting the Hugging Bear is like going home. I’m sure we will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

In my opinion, you can't beat the hospitality, wonderful breakfast, and the fact that the owners are real people! I felt instantly, that I could make myself at home....and I did! Georgette and her family make you part of their family within moments of your arrival. Already booked for next year!! I can't wait. Wonderful people make the world a much better place!....at the Hugging Bear, the owner truly cares and makes your get-away the BEST! Thank You Georgette, and your family, for a wonderful 3 nights!
Tip: You might want to visit the Art gallery on site.....amazing talent in this family! I also found the Teddy Bear shop to be a must see! I HAD to bring a few of the bears home! What a delightful shop. L.H from MA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
349 reviews
0 mi away
Fullerton Inn
Fullerton Inn
#5 of 9 in Chester
108 reviews
0 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chester
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe

Address: 244 Main St, Chester, VT 05143-9358
Region: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £108 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe Chester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing