We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great for the young and young at heart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
Ranked #3 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for the young and young at heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This beautiful old Victorian is wonderfully situated just across from the village green in Chester. Reasonably priced and friendly. If you like teddy bears, you'll love this Inn. We'll certainly return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    14
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I spent a lovely overnight at the inn. Georgette was so welcoming and her teddy bear shop is amazing! If you are a teddy bear lover, this is the place. She carries all the very best teddy bears, such as Steiff, and many are collectibles. Looking forward to another visit. Vermont is a beautiful state to visit and there are many artisans and their crafts there worth seeking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hugging Bear Inn in Chester,Vt. has become our home away from home in Vermont. We have been going there for over 23 years. Every season has it's own special qualities. Overture weekend in December is our family favorite. It is located in the center of town. The Thomas family is as welcoming as the 1,000's of bears. Laura and Diane are carrying on what Georgette started. Every room has its own personality and decor. It is a child/family friendly inn. Our daughters have enjoyed their visits also. They have been going with us since they were infants. They've missed our latest visits due to college and work. Our oldest daughter Megan is now a nurse at Dartmouth Hitchcock Hospital and her first visit was when she was 8 months old! You won't find a better breakfast anywhere. Breakfast is also a nice time to meet other guests(from all over the country). We have made many friends over the years. The den and living room are always accessible. It's a great place to relax with a book, magazine, craft or friends. Chester is such a quaint friendly town. There are many places to explore-especially the covered bridge across the street. Once you visit Hugging Bear Inn you'll surrey want to return. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The Tower Room is a cozy couple room while Room 2 is a family sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnHennessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice place to unwind after a long day of skiing. We travelled 2 families with kids and our stay was comfortable. Nice hot breakfast in the morning. Beautiful, quiet town of Chester about 12 miles from Okemo Ski resort. Loved our stat

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have been going to the Hugging Bear for almost 10 years. We stay 2 or 3 times a year. It's like a home away from home at this point. Inn keeper Laura is lovely and is doing a wonderful job following in her mother Georgette 's footsteps. Location is super convenient on the Village green. The inn is quaint and cozy. Rooms have all the basics for a country B&B. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica060708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunellen, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Hugging Bear Inn and Shoppe combines all of the best qualities of a classic Victorian Inn in a charming town in central Vermont, with all of the love, affection and fun of teddy bears. The famous Teddy Bear Shoppe (open to the public) is connected to the Inn and gives visitors a chance to browse bears ranging from plush toys perfect to kids, to high-end artist and collectible bears from Steiff. The family-run inn is well-run, clean, friendly and right in the middle of town. This is a perfect place to stay for romantic couples or families and located perfectly to explore Vermont. The location is excellent, so it's worth staying here even without the Teddy Bear decor. And, if you do love teddy bears, it's a great place to stop by even if you're not staying here. If you do stay, ask about package deals sometimes available with discounts to the shop. A great find and a place to return to often.

Room Tip: The Tower Room is cozy and comfortable, for couples only, with a great view of main street Chester...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

A great place to kick back and relax - for the past 3 years have made an annual weekend trip with 8 of my stitching friends up there and we have a great time every year. More like visiting family than staying at an Inn, and the breakfasts are fantastic. It's the type of place where you can kick your shoes off and be comfortable, and is a great central locatiion for day-tripping around Vermont.

Room Tip: The Bear Den and Pandamonium rooms are my favorites - Panda has the biggest bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckydory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
24.7 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#2 of 9 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe

Property: Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
Address: 244 Main St, Chester, VT 05143-9358
Region: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe Chester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing