We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food at a good price”
Review of Alice's Restaurant - CLOSED

Alice's Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: (802) 875 - 3344
Cortland, New York
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“good food at a good price”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

the service was great too. I had a stuffed sole and my wife had a nice salad. We were both well satisfied with the food and the price. It was a chilly night and they seated us in a nice cozy warm location.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Haight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quant New England”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stopped by for lunch on a snowy saturday afternoon. Alice's is a cozy spot located at the Common in quant Chester, Vt. Had a great lunch off the appetizer menu. Loved the grilled portobello mushroom cap with smoked ham, spinach and balsamic glaze topped with fontina cheese and garlic. The crab cakes and onion soup were good, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuddy54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherst nh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This restaurant is a gem. Beautiful building houses this quaint bistro which has fantastic food. The menu offers diverse selections and the waitstaff is extremely helpful. Definitely stop in if you are in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank banca68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Williamsport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Alice's very special chef takes great pride in presenting dishes that reflect the use of high quality and fresh ingredients. The menu is extensive and the daily specials should not be overlooked. No need to eat anywhere but Alice's while in Chester.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrunette2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch and everything about the experience was terrific. Atmosphere was very pleasant: light and cheerful on a heated sun porch, cozy and nicely lit in the main dining room and by the bar. Our food was excellent: a Southwest salad and a cheesesteak wrap. A side of coleslaw was flavorful and unusually colorful. The menu was diverse and very well presented: lots of items looked attractive, and all were reasonably priced. Desserts were $4, quite inexpensive by 2013 standards. There was a good range of Vermont beers. Service was friendly and attentive, and our waitress was quite familiar with specifics of menu items and specials. We'll definitely go there again, and look forward to trying their Sunday brunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing