We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Supreme food and cozy people.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Dog Cafe

Moon Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Supreme food and cozy people.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Every town need a Moon Dog. The problem is it is too individual to copy....The setting is a cozy little and interesting group of shops with an Aladdin's Cafe named the Moon Dog. The interior displays a weird and wonderful collection of gifts, art and amazing Italian chocolates.....not a bad start as you move deeper into the building which by now you are faced by gastronomic heaven, not forgetting the much appreciated music (is it samba or rumba, not sure).
I went for the homemade lemon chicken soup and toasted chunky bread......great range of homemade and healthy - excellent lentil dishes (I sound like a hippy)....if this place was closer I would be there every day, I would eat well and healthy, the staff are excellent and the usual
customers are friendly....any time is the right time to visit for quality food in a warm and relaxing environment....Two weeks before I return to the uk, will manage a few more Moon Dog visits....HIGHLY RECOMMEND......no alcohol(put this in because I screwed up the bar scene rating - sorry)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    40
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and Inviting Place for Breakfast and Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

If you find yourself in Chester, VT on a Sunday morning, make sure to stop at the Moon Dog where you will find THE MOST DELICIOUS FRESH BAKED BREAD PUDDING MUFFINS. These muffins are so outrageously good that it is worth a trip there just to have the muffins! Of course there are many other wonderful baked goods and delicious soups to also try at Moon Dog. My personal all time favorite soup is the chicken tortilla soup. The Cafe's vibe is very warm and friendly and the staff is eager to please and welcome you.

While you're in Chester -- don't miss the Vermont Contemporary Art Gallery down the street. There's also a great little store called ''The Pear Tree" that specializes in jewelery, gifts, home goods.

I can't wait to hang out in the Moon Dog Cafe each winter while my family is skiing at nearby Okemo!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stay at the Inn Victoria and sometimes sleep in and miss breakfast! The Moon Dog is a great backup plan! The food is amazing, the coffee is amazing and the vibe of the place makes us love Vermont that much more. Did I mention the Ginger Scones?? Oh My this is a must stop for great eats!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TopGeekNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best lattes in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We always make several trips to Moondog when we are up in the area. The cafe/shop itself is very charming and eclectic. They serve only organic foods and their prepared foods are really good. Seems like everything is locally sourced. Definitely get a latte or cappuccino - they will make you say, "Starbucks, who?"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveleatshoprelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Healthy Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

When traveling, it is so difficult to find healthy, fresh delicious food-nevertheless a peaceful, nurturing ambiance, but we hit the jackpot at Moondog Cafe in Chester, VT on Route 11. No longer will I dread my commute between West Point, NY, and Franconia, NH! The Turkish lentil soup was perfect on a cold wintry day, the bread was fresh and warm, and the service cheery and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BARBandSTEVE471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moon Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Moon Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing