We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit place in Chester VT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DaVallia Art & Accents

DaVallia Art & Accents
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DaVallia is an art boutique with a vintage,modern country flair. Walk into our shop, or browse our collections online and you'll find fine handcrafted arts and crafts with character. Each piece has a story, an identity, and a spirit. Each piece is the unique result of a vision, brought to life by an artist's hand. Couple that special character with a function and you've got art for everyday living.
 DaVallia was established in 2009 by artists, Michael & Jessie Alon. Michael creates art furniture and sculpture from reclaimed wood, steel, and concrete. Jessie handcrafts artisan jewelry using sterling silver, terrazzo, and semi-precious stones. Together they hand-pick and curate the works form an additional 50 artist. DaVallia's collection emulates the quality of finer metropolitan galleries while still rejoicing in the inviting, warming Vermont charm. Located in historic Chester, Vermont.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit place in Chester VT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

An excellent place to visit, you are made to feel welcome as soon as you enter. We had the pleasure of meeting Michael a very talented person indeed. He spent plenty of time talking to us about his work, life in general, and the other items in the shop. If we were local to this shop I suspect we would spend a fortune on items from here. There is a wealth of fantastic art work there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtfulLivingVT, Owner at DaVallia Art & Accents, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Ray- Thanks for your review. The good news is we NEVER charge for admiring,enjoying,appreciating our work. Living so far away might be safer you, the temptation to splurge on some killer industrial accents for your home is removed. It was great meeting you both and hope you can visit us if your state side again. Thanks again for your review-Michael Alon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic place that made my holiday in the U.S from the U.K”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

When we first visited Chester we noticed Davallia Art & Accents straight away as being an exceptional place to visit just from the window display, it was the evening and the shop was closed. Upon our return the next day we were not disappointed.
We chatted to Michael the owner who was very friendly and welcoming, I was blown away by the Industrial furniture that he makes along with his sculptures.
Unfortunately for us we could not purchase any as we are from the U.K, if we lived in the U.S we would have purchased a table and put in an order for six of the industrial stools he had also made. They were of exceptional quality and very reasonably priced, we would pay three times as much back home.
However it is also a fantastic place to purchase a small souvenir to take home, not the normal stuff you see but something with a soul.
I love it when you find somewhere that the owners are passionate about, this place is certainly one of those, I whole heartedly recommend that you visit.
It really made my day.
Thank you Michael you are a very talented and welcoming ambassador for your area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenBarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtfulLivingVT, Owner at DaVallia Art & Accents, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Karen- The photos you took truly captured the essence of DaVallia. It was great meeting you both. Maybe one day we'll find that investor were looking for and have a shop in the UK. I did sport my Doc Martins in college with style. Hope you can visit our little corner of the world this year to see all the new pieces were making for the upcoming year. If you can't join us for a hot stack of pancakes, keep in touch via Facebook. Those killer stools were sold but I have some grand ideas for new industrial stools- bar height this time. Thanks again for the review and photos!-Michael Alon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Treasure Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

A friend introduced me to this lovely gallery of art and handmade artifacts. It indeed feeds the soul and awakens the senses to all that is beautiful and creative! The owners are very warm and welcoming and are delighted to open their doors to all. They are located On the Green and enhance The Green with their presence. Do not miss this charming place if you are anywhere near Chester or do take a side trip to this quintessentially Vermont hamlet.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank teacherhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtfulLivingVT, Owner at DaVallia Art & Accents, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your review. You connected with what we are trying to achieve with your comment-"..feeds the soul and awakens the senses to all that is beautiful and creative!" We are so pleased by this. We wanted to create a space where the art was more than what was in the space but about the spaced as a whole. My wife and I are both artist and needed an inspiring space to recharge almost four years ago. We could not find such a place so we ended up creating it. We are excited about the future and hope you are able to stop in and see the progress in our creative journey. Thanks again for the review-Michael Alon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Unique Artwork, Skillfully Crafted, Inspiring Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I went up to Chester, VT for our wedding anniversary, and we both being art teachers, found this place to be inspiring. The selection of artwork was unique and skillfully crafted. All of the showing artists have a great sense of design and innovation. From pottery and jewelry, to paintings and custom made furniture, this is an must see inspiring stop on your next trip to Chester.
Greg & Bonnie

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg_and_Bonnie_WHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtfulLivingVT, Owner at DaVallia Art & Accents, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Greg & Bonnie- Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed visiting us. As art teachers, we hope we were able to give you enough inspiration that some could be passed down to the "artists of tomorrow". If you ever need more inspiration but can't visit, we're trying to use Facebook and our blog more this year to inspire our fans. Hopefully another wonderful anniversary can be had in the mountains of VT. And if so, please stop in and enjoy. Thanks again for your review-Michael Alon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“heART and soul of Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I stopped at the Vermont Welcome Center on our way to Chester, VT and my wife commented how beautiful this sculpture was just outside the main entrance . Fast forward two days and we were strolling down Main St in Chester and entered DaVallia's Art Gallery. We very much enjoyed the gallery and chatting with Michael who together with his wife own and run the gallery. Many beautiful pieces of art filled the gallery and after some time talking with Michael we found out that he actually had created the sculpture we saw at the Welcome Center!! What a small world!! Do not miss this wonderful gallery on Main St in Chester.....I took some photos to share this wonderful place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimmyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtfulLivingVT, Owner at DaVallia Art & Accents, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your review and the great photos you took of our gallery. We've been changing the gallery around, finding new artist and it looks great. Hopefully if your travels bring you back up this way you'll have time to stop on in. We are talking with the Vermont State Welcome Center in Guilford to see if we can display another piece this year. Maybe a concrete and glass scuplture. Not sure yet. Hope to see you again and thanks again for your review-Michae Alon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DaVallia Art & Accents also viewed

 

Been to DaVallia Art & Accents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing