We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Garden with Magnificent Quiche”
Review of Baba A Louis

Baba A Louis
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Chester
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Secret Garden with Magnificent Quiche”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

While the lunch options are limited, the quiche is magnificent (mostly vegetables), and the soup is often very good. The setting feels quaint and quiet, with a garden and almost European feel. The bakery is known for its bread; the deserts are also excellent. There is something magical about Baba A Louis, almost like The Secret Garden. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunfl0werVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stop for Bread--Skip the Lunch”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have been enjoying Baba A Louis bread for years. The bread is fresh, often hot and always delicious. The building is also worth a visit. If I were just rating the bread, it would get a 4 or 5.

Unfortunately, we made the mistake of getting lunch yesterday. Our hopes were high for a ham and swiss sandwich on their warm bread, particularly at $7.50 for a sandwich. When we got out to the car and opened it up, there were a measly two thin slices of ham and one slice of cheese--it was actually hard to see any filling from the side. I went back in to ask, very calmly, if this was a mistake and was told that no, in fact this is what I was entitled to for $7.50 because "Ham is an expensive ingredient". I doubt it is more expensive than losing a loyal customer, which is what it cost them (and they seemed quite unfazed when I expressed that I would never be back for lunch). In short, the sandwich was a rip-off (at $3.50 I probably wouldn't have complained) and their response to my question was even worse. If I were just rating lunch, it would get a 1 or 2.

We are likely to be back for bread, but that is all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmichalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Daily Bread and serenity”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This restaurant is beautifully built with naturally stained beams in the shape of a boat, tall and arching over the tables. The smell of freshly baked bread envelopes your senses and the owner/chef was right at the counter to show us the specials and take our order. Prices were so reasonable, we had to take another look to make sure we had it right. Family of 4 had a beautiful hand crafted meal of eggs, sausages, waffles, oemlet and crepe for 32.00

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Devorah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabuloous breads and other baked goods”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Whether you want a nice homemade lunch served cafeteria style or want to run in and grab some great bread for home, it's the place to go.

Helpful?
Thank nlanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great breads & sandwiches!”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

six ovens bake dozens of different breads and fresh sandwiches are prepared on the spot. Simple, clean, good service, delicious Anadama bread!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmixsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baba A Louis also viewed

 

Been to Baba A Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing