We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Read the cancellation policy!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chester House Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
exeter
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Read the cancellation policy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I asked for a booking at 930 PM Friday night, I found out I could not go and informed the Innkeeper at 8AM the next morning, before any confirmation. He then ran my card at 9am and then held back over 40.00 for a cancellation fee.
Rather a hard sell.....i DON'T THINK i WILL GO in the future; I never even officially got the confirmation until after I cancelled!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brianpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    17
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
76
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Working our way south through VT, we stayed in this delightful B&B in Chester for a couple of nights. Bob was very welcoming, and Jan made us a wonderfully delicious breakfast each morning. We are not usually big eaters at breakfast, but the fruits, pancakes, waffles, and muffins were just too good to let go to waste. Our room was on the first floor and very comfortable and clean. We spent time one afternoon just sitting and reading in the rockers on the front porch, and enjoyed live music one night across the street. A charming inn in a great small town location, run by a couple who seem to know what they're doing. We'll stay here again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acpakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at the Chester House Inn to attend a concert at Kinhaven. My room was on the first floor, well equipped and clean. The owners were very helpful and cheerful. Breakfast was not just your typical pancakes and bacon, but a delicious egg soufflé preceded by yogurt with fruit and fresh baked muffin. It was an added plus to have a wide variety of tea and coffee available around the clock. Will come back when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knitter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This bed and breakfast was a stop along the way for our family cycling trip. Although only there one night, the stay was relaxing and the room was spacious and comfortable. The inn keeper, Bob, was very friendly and accomodating and I would stay there again just for the breakfast waffles which were devoured in an instant by all three kids.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I have stayed at this very bed and breakfast before. It is under new ownership, and the new owners are nice people, but they aren't carrying the standard set by the old owners. Our room was the Octavius Suite, with the steam shower. The shower worked well, and the room had a fireplace as advertised. But the bed was horrible. 8 inch mattresses don't provide the comfort one expects in a $210 night room. This is the age of pillow tops, and after two nights our bodies ached terribly. The other half of a bed and breakfast is the breakfast. It should be many things, but never light. The skier's breakfast (different here from the "full" breakfast) consisted of a bagel and a muffin. Most hotel chains offer hot continental breakfasts which are better. The "full" breakfast was not so much. An apple crisp and a small piece of egg casserole. And a child sized muffin. Not what I'm used to in a bed and breakfast. Breakfast is the cheapest meal to serve, yet it appeared that this inn was on a budget. And after all of this, we were urged as we left to submit a good review. Somewhat rude, I thought. Especially when undeserved. I will not return, for either of the reasons listed above.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valuesavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Part of the Inn is 230 years old with an original fireplace. You walk into that room to check in and to have breakfast. How awesome it would have been to be greeted by a roaring fire with the smell of wood smoke. There was no fire burning but thankfully they did light a fire on our second day there after we requested it. The breakfasts and home made cookies for snacks were great. Our bed was not comfortable however and we constantly rolled to the middle. We'll pick another B&B on our next trip.

Room Tip: the bed in room 4 was below average
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Haight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We chose the Chester House Inn for a ski and stay package with skiing at Okemo (about 12-13 miles away). We were not disappointed. Our room (#3) was cozy with a king size bed and gas fireplace. The breakfasts were more than plentiful, starting with either freshly baked muffins or scones, followed by a fruit course (baked apple, yogurt parfait, banana pillows (more like dessert), followed by either an egg course or pancakes or waffles, accompanied by choice of juice and coffee/tea. Home-baked cookies and snacks and coffee/tea/hot cocoa are always available. The innkeepers, Jan and Bob, are friendly and accommodating, and their suggestion for a special place to go for dinner on Valentine's Day was spot on. When we had trouble finding a television channel we were searching for (a tv is available in the shared "keep room"), Bob came out and helped. Our first day, Jan and Bob went to pick up the newest addition to their family -- Archie -- a nine week old yellow Labrador Retriever puppy. Knowing we were dog lovers, when my husband asked to take a parting picture of Archie, Bob offered to let me hold him. Our vacation was complete! Archie joined three Welsh corgis and a cat which are all kept in the owners' private part of the house. When I realized they had a cat (to which I have a serious allergy), Bob offered to move our room upstairs without our asking. He also told me he would make even more of an effort than usual to assure the cat did not come out even briefly into the dining area. We decided to wait to see if we wanted to take him up on the offer, and It turned out not to be a problem, but we appreciated his thoughtfulness. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCLESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0.1 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
0.0 mi away
Fullerton Inn
Fullerton Inn
#5 of 9 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Inn

Property: Chester House Inn
Address: 266 Main St., Chester, VT 05143
Region: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinguished, quiet 1780 B&B on the Village Green in quaint Chester, 44 miles from Vermont's southern border via I-91. All guest suites/rooms have private baths, phones, voice mail, free WiFi, and A/C (in the warmer months). Rooms accommodate 2-4. Available: in-room fireplaces, canopy beds, sitting areas, Jacuzzi, whirlpool, steam shower and TV. Scrumptious gourmet breakfast served daily. Private off-street parking, deck, library. Seasonal packages: Okemo Skiing, Theater, Golf. No children ( 10. Small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chester House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester House Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing