We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, Delicious, Affordable B&B”
Review of Henry Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henry Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Delicious, Affordable B&B”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Paul and Pat are extremely welcoming and accommodating. Myself along with 3 other couples booked rooms at the Inn for a ski weekend and the Inn exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was delicious each morning, the rooms were spacious and the common areas were welcoming and they even put out baked goods, cheese and crackers in the evening. We enjoyed the living room with a fire each evening (we bought local beer back to the Inn after dinner and hung out with other guests) and played a rowdy game of scrabble late into the night. The cost is extremely affordable. We typically rent a house when we go skiing with our friends, but decided to try the Inn as it was much more affordable when the cost of ski tickets are factored in and we were so impressed that we plan on renting the entire place out next year! I almost didn't want to write a review to ensure we can book the entire place next year, but it is too good not to share and Pat and Paul are so accommodating!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATHERINE Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This B&B was fantastic! We stayed for two nights and left wishing we could have stayed for more. It was very reasonably priced for what is included. We were welcomed with freshly baked cookies and friendly conversation by the innkeepers who are very knowledgable about the area and willing to answer any question you might have. There is a living room area with a fireplace that is perfect to relax in front of and read or play a game with friends.
The rooms are very comfortable and just big enough. The one we stayed in had a little kitchen with a range and an oven so we were able to cook or own dinner one night. The breakfasts that Paul and Pat cook are delicious and worth getting out of bed early for!
If you're looking to ski at Okemo or any of the nearby resorts I highly highly recommend staying here, you won't be disappointed!
If you're traveling during the winter months there is a big hill in the back of the B&B for sledding and snowshoeing that's worth taking advantage of.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Williamsport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have visited with Innkeepers Patricia and Paul many times over the years but it's been four years since our last visit. This time we checked-in for long ski weekend. The Henry Farm Inn is a great example of Vermont hospitality. Rooms are large and comfortable and reflect the importance of the past in every detail. In fact the entire Inn is history on display. First used in the 1700s as a stop along the stagecoach turnpike from Canada to Boston, the Inn again provides comfortable lodging for modern travelers. This rich history inhabits every corner of the B & B. Breakfast is superb as is the service but the hosts constitute the main reason we always stay here. The location is perfect for almost any activity, summer or winter. We highly recommend it for southern Vermont bound travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbrunette2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I looked at many inns before selecting this one and was delighted with my choice. It is a traditional farm house situated on the old turnpike road. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and in summer the swimming pond nearby would be great. Paul and Patricia are excellent hosts, very welcoming and helpful with finding walks, restaurants etc. Breakfasts are amazing and when you get back from a day out there are hot drinks and cider plus freshly baked cookies awaiting you in the hall. There was a log fire in the sitting room in the evening so you could chat to the other guests or relax and read. The rooms are simple but comfortable, tiny bathroom in ours but perfectly adequate, and a large bedroom with extremely comfy bed and quilts all around. We have tried many inns in New England over the years and have enjoyed them all but if I had to pick a favourite, this would be it. Chester is the ideal base for a stay in Vermont and the Henry Farm Inn the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Stop searching you found the right place to stay.

Rooms are charming decorated with a beautiful country style. All in the inn was plan to match with that Vermont great way.

Located 20 minutes away From okemo, ok drive.

Paul is a super host and Patricia his wife a great cooker and baker ( besides all other great qualities). Bother are truly nice and willing to help as they can.

Don't miss breakfast, IT'S SO GOOD!!!! If you want to be early on the trails or simply if you start your day early, they can serve breakfast at 7.00. Coffee and tea is always available.

I can wait to return :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We have stayed at the Henry Farm Inn several times in years past, so we were looking forward to our visit to HFI and the Chester area. It was just as we remembered - a lovely old farmhouse where you are warmly greeted and your room is waiting for you. Our hosts, Pat and Paul, are very warm and welcoming and full on information. They are also wonderful cooks and breakfasts were delicious.
The day we arrived, we both had been sick all day, and Pat made each of us a warm cup of tea, which hit the spot and made us feel so much better.
The road on which the inn sits, is a lovely walk, which we enjoyed.
We enjoyed our stay (despite the rain and fog) and recommend this lovely inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainLily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The Henry Farm Inn, located on charming dirt road and nestled between a river and a flowering meadow, is the perfect B&B for a summer get-away. The rooms are beautifully decorated, immaculate and comfortable. The innkeepers, Pat and Paul, are friendly and serve a most delicious breakfast. Chester is a picturesque village is Southern Vermont and has many unique galleries, shops and restaurants. If you are planning a vacation to Vermont, I highly recommend staying at the Henry Farm Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.2 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chester
142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
2.6 mi away
Motel in the Meadow
Motel in the Meadow
#1 of 1 in Chester
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Farm Inn

Property: Henry Farm Inn
Address: 2206 Green Mountain Tpke, Chester, VT 05143-8525
Region: United States > Vermont > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stagecoach Inn, now a quintessential Vermont B&B. Nine spacious guest rooms, two with kitchen suites. Private baths, wireless internet, full country breakfasts, award-winning baked goods. Hike, swim and relax in the summer, cross-country ski, snowshoe and ice skate in the winter, all on our scenic and peaceful 56 acres of natural beauty. Reasonable rates, refreshingly friendly and casual atmosphere, children and family reunions very welcome. Golf, Pamper-Me, Quilting and Okemo Stay & Ski Packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henry Farm Inn Chester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing