We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn Victoria
Ranked #1 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife & I spent three nights here recently and really enjoyed our stay. Clean, comfortable bedroom plus a bathroom with everything you could possibly want. Lovely lounge & dining room where the breakfasts were terrific and full of Jessica's flair and imagination - the recipe for the baked apple is a real winner back home in England!. Lots of advice on places to visit & things to see. A great pleasure in recommending this Inn.

Richard & Sue

Room Tip: Go for the Princess Alice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellope C, Owner at Inn Victoria, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you Thank you…..we are soooooo glad the recipe works well with friends in England. What a blessing! Thank you for recognizing Jessica as you have, she truly is a blessing for us!
God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
303
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked our stay at The Inn Victoria after all the five star reviews on Trip Advisor. I booked two nights over this Columbus Day weekend for our stay. We arrived "very late" due to the Green Mountain Railroad train arriving late from Rutland, Vt. back to Bellows Falls for a day trip. Our check-in was from 3:00-6:00 p.m. at the Inn, and both the wife and I had no internet phone service on the train ride into Bellows Falls to call the Victoria Inn to say we would be arriving late. We contacted Dan on the final stop into Bellows Falls to tell him we would be late on arrival. Dan's response was "No problem!" We arrived and checked in over 45 minutes late, but Dan spend the time to explain the Inn Victoria to us in detail. Long story short, our stay was outstanding, the room, bed, and staff were all first class! Penny and Dan are true B & B owners! We cannot wait to return to the Inn Victoria!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are outstanding!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellope C, Owner at Inn Victoria, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Yes, I remember that evening, you were tired! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Inn Victoria. Thank you for taking the time to write the note....we dearly appreciate it
God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife stayed here as one of the stops on an Inn to Inn walking tour. We loved it and highly recommend it to anyone. The hospitality is fantastic. Jessica and Penny really make you feel at home.

When we came in from our hike, our grapes from the morning hike were smushed from being in our backpacks. Jessica offered a new grapes and provided a nice place for my wife and I to sit while we enjoyed a bottle of wine and the grapes. They really go the extra mile here. In total, we stayed in 5 bed and breakfasts in NY and Vermont, and this was by far the best one. My only regret is that we had only one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellope C, Owner at Inn Victoria, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
WOW!....thank you for taking the time to write this note...we dearly appreciate it.
God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent just one evening on an inn-to-inn walking tour. Inn Victoria was the best! Comfortable, clean, lovely amenities, great food, fun location. Jessica, the 'duty' innkeeper, could not have been more welcoming, hospitable and competent. The combination of the lovely inn and outstanding and enthusiastic service of Jessica and her assistants are just hard to beat! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdandAddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellope C, Owner at Inn Victoria, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Can't wait to see you come back....the In to Inn walking tour is great and we also have private routes you can do directly from inn victoria in the future. Thank you
God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Inn Victoria is one of the best inns I have ever stayed at. .Both Penny and Dan go out of their way to please, and they manage to do it too. When you first enter you are greeted with the aroma of maple syrup. Their Victorian tea at weekends is something quite special, and should not be missed. The breakfast is very special too, and is fully explained before you start.
The Inn is spotless and the sitting rooms are cosy. This really can only be described as a Victorian home, complete with all the Victoriana lying around, both in the sitting area, dining room and the bedrooms. The high four poster bed sets the scene.
At first you might think that the cost is a little high for the location, but believe me it is worth it.
Parking is right in front of the inn, on the street, but that is no problem in a place like Chester.
The couple have devised a scavenger hunt that will take you around the local War of Independence and Civil War cemeteries - it is very interesting. This is fairly new and because we got lost, Penny even drove us around the route - admitting that it needed a little tweeting. Don't be afraid to try it - it really will take you into the backroads of this part of Vermont, through some of the smaller villages which you would never dream of looking at.
All in all we had a fabulous time, and would not hesitate to stay there again
Keep up the good work Penny and Dan - we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euchreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellope C, Owner at Inn Victoria, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
OH WOW!....you folks are amazing! I can't wait to see you come back! Thank you.
God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our walking between the picture perfect small towns of Vermont found us in Chester for night #3, staying at our favorite Inn Victoria. Why a favorite you ask? Because owners Penny & Dan go out of their way to ensure you have an excellent stay each and every time. We love the Princess Helena room on the main floor as it provides direct access to the fantastic backyard deck and hot tub (a real plus after the 10 mile walk from Weston VT!). Dinner was simply delicious as are the breakfasts that are included in the Vermont Inn to Inn walk package. After dinner you can relax inside in the living room with big screen movie projector or like us, head to the back deck to chat with family about the day.
Since this was our 5th stay at Inn Victoria, you'd say we are sold on the hospitality and comfort of the Inn. Oh, a special shout out to Jessica and all the staff for their desire to make your stay pleasant.
What more can be said: "Don't miss a chance to stay at Inn Victoria when enjoying the relaxation that Vermont brings"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandTara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellope C, Owner at Inn Victoria, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
WOW!!!....how do we say thank you!??......For one, we love having you and second...we LOVE having you! Thanks for giving the "Vermont Inn to Inn Walking Tour" a try.....it truly does offer a great taste of Vermont.
Keep smiling!....and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This inn is one to put on your must visit list! The inn keepers are wonderful, the accommodations are first rate and the food is fabulous! High tea is so much fun and breakfast was delicious. The town of Chester is a quaint New England town and you'll feel right at home at Inn Victoria. And if you have an allergy, Penny will take good care of you!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camcamMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellope C, Owner at Inn Victoria, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much....we miss you already! You are right about Penny's ability to cook through any allergy. ......you name it, Penny & Jessica can cook around it. Thanks for recognizing that; we work hard at it and we know it is dearly appreciated by people.
God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
312 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chester
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
1.3 mi away
Motel in the Meadow
Motel in the Meadow
#1 of 1 in Chester
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Victoria

Property: Inn Victoria
Address: 321 Main Street, PO Box 788, Chester, VT 05143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian Inn located on the village green in Chester, where you'll find great restaurants and fascinating shops. We have nine romantic guest rooms and suites all with Queen or King bed and furnished with beautiful antiques. Each room has a private bathroom, (some with Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub) with quality toiletries, fluffy towels and guest robes. But best of all is the warm and genuine "Royal" welcome to your "Palace" in Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Victoria Hotel Chester
Inn Victoria Chester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing