We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Hospitality in Abundance at the Inn Victoria”
Review of Inn Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn Victoria
Ranked #1 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2006

My girlfriend and I recently returned from a four-day, three night getaway to picturesque Chester, Vermont and Inn Victoria. Though we were there primarily for the skiing at nearby Okemo, it is the warm hospitality and charm of the Inn Victoria’s proprietors – Jon and Julie – that we will remember. It is clear that Jon and Julie have poured their heart and soul into this bed and breakfast and it shows in these glowing reviews – all of which are right on the money. The only disappointing part of our trip was getting back in the car to return to reality via I-91 ;(

Accommodations: We stayed in the Prince Alfred room and Princess Helena room, both of which were lovingly decorated and plushly appointed. My girlfriend made liberal use of the clawfoot soaking tub in the Helena room, while I thoroughly enjoyed working out muscle soreness in the semi-private hot tub, as we watched the stars come out at night.

Food – in a word, exquisite. Each morning Julie presented us with a delectable three-course breakfast that threatened to add on the poundage. During our three night stay, we were spoiled by dishes such as pineapple, yogurt and granola parfait; the apple, pear and ginger crepes, and the ham and cheese strata (an addicting close cousin to a croque monsieur). In addition to the breakfast fare, little treats such as brownies, cakes and cookies are available throughout the day, as are coffee, tea, and bottled water.

However, The true value of the Inn Victoria is not to be found in house amenities (which are plentiful) or culinary treats (which are top notch), but in the warmth and good cheer of its hosts, Julie and Jon. Both went well beyond the required duties and services one might expect at a highly-rated inn. Pampering aside, I think my girlfriend and I most enjoyed our numerous friendly chats with the two of them at the breakfast table and in front of the fire. They are the true attractions of the Inn Victoria, and I cannot recommend this B&B enough.

We hope to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobandCandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 494 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Bergenfield, NJ
12
Reviewed 6 February 2006

My husband & I with our two dearest friends stayed at the Inn Victoria this past weekend. Although the weather was not typical for winter in Vermont, (warm & rainy), our hosts, Julie & Jon made it one of the most lovely weekends we have had in a long time. The Inn is so charming & warm as are the hosts. Julie's cooking was absolutely fabulous. Her breakfasts were enough to keep you full the whole day. Jon's wonderful stories kept us thouroughly entertained. They was nothing they wouldn't do or arrange for us. All you had to do was ask. My friends were so impressed that we have already booked a return weekend for this summer to celebrate her birthday there.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2006

We just got back from 3 nights at the Inn Victoria and it's our new favorite B&B! John & Julie are fantastic, making us feel both comfortable and pampered at the same time. We actually extended our trip an extra night because we were having such a good time. You have to try the hot tub - on a clear winter night the stars are amazing! The breakfasts are rich & delicious ~ many combinations we would never have imagined but are delicious - especially the homemade muffins.

It's the little touches; such as the mini fridge stocked with water and soda, where you are welcome to put your wine or beer; that make the difference. Well, that and John & Julie's fabulous British accents! We have already talked to some friends about taking a trip up to Inn Victoria in the summer for some golf.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sfpaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
13
Reviewed 21 January 2006

We settled into our large and cozy room and instantly felt the warmth and character charm of a true Victorian home! Jon and Julie, both being English completely added to delectable and gracious accommodation we experienced during our stay. The festivity of escaping to the countryside from the city was matched by our hosts' jovial spirit. Each room in their home is decorated in splendor detail with beautifully chosen antiques and linens.

One of many fabulous features of the inn was our private large sumptuous jacuzzi to luxuriously soak in after a day of ski. Then down to the dining table where our formidable hosts enchanted us with stories abroad and of settling in Vermont while the brandy poured....we didn't want to leave their table...
and did I mention the breakfasts were divine?

We shall definitely return to Inn Victoria to be welcomed and spoiled delightfully again...
New York, NYC

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
12
Reviewed 10 January 2006

We had a wonderful time at the Inn Victoria. Jon and Julie are truly wonderful people and extremely hospitable hosts. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. Breakfasts are a work of art. It is easy to see that Jon and Julie put a lot of love into their inn.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
12
Reviewed 10 January 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2006

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonnybearnjennybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fullerton Inn
Fullerton Inn
#8 of 9 in Chester
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Inn at Weston
The Inn at Weston
#1 of 3 in Weston
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chester
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Victoria

Address: 321 Main St, PO Box 788, Chester, VT 05143-9864
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £76 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian Inn located on the village green in Chester, where you'll find great restaurants and fascinating shops. We have nine romantic guest rooms and suites all with Queen or King bed and furnished with beautiful antiques. Each room has a private bathroom, (some with Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub) with quality toiletries, fluffy towels and guest robes. But best of all is the warm and genuine "Royal" welcome to your "Palace" in Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Inn Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Victoria Hotel Chester
Inn Victoria Chester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing