We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Town Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Town Farm Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome time at Old Town Farm Inn as we wrapped up our 4-day walking tour. Our room was large and comfortable, neat and clean. Ales and Mischiko were super friendly and accommodating. Very quiet and peaceful setting!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hudson valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Aleks and Michiko provided me with a custom-tailored rest after a 10 mile walk from Ludlow. As the lone, very-early-Spring guest, I was treated with relaxed generosity. I especially enjoyed their serene sitting room, with a very hot cup of delicious green tea and my good read. Michiko intuitively met all my needs and Aleks provided me with maps for my continued walk to Inn Victoria, with a HOT, hearty, and healthy breakfast stoking me for my cold and rainy day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whootowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We loved this place! Two families with 3 kids each and they had perfect rooms for both of us. The innkeepers took great care of us and the kids. Do not skip the Japanese dinner! We ordered family style and couldn't believe how much great food they served us. I would go back just to eat, but we'll definitely be back to stay there again. The location worked really well for skiing at Okemo. It was less than 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of of the front rooms that other people have said is loud. There was some noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarelypostreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This inn was the first in our four stop walking tour. It fulfills all expectations for a historic country inn and includes an excellent Japanese dinner. However, you can go beyond the ordinary if you speak with Michiko the evening before and request a traditional Japanese BREAKFAST. Enjoy the charm of a country inn, the outstanding food of a Japanese restaurant and the warm company of two wonderful hosts. Take the offer of a scenic ride to the start of the day's walk. The other inns on the route were Combes Family Inn, Apple Knoll Inn, and Inn Victoria.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This historic Inn was our last stop on the Vermont Inn to Inn Walk (vermontinntoinnwalking.com). Our stop at the Old Town Farm Inn include the most wonderful Japanese dinner we've had since being in Japan. Basically a dinner NOT TO BE MISSED!. Even better than we find at home in the Chicago area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the back of the house to avoid road noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandTara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We made reservations 7 days ahead only to find we could not get there at that time, we cancelled 48 hrs ahead and were charged 25$ since it was not 14 days prior to our arrival, not sure how that was possible!
Not a friendly way to run a business

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 411Slacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chowhound, Owner at Old Town Farm Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
When this person called to reserve, we explained our cancellation policy as we do with every reservation. It is on every confirmation we send out. As a small B&B with a half dozen rooms last minute cancellations do have a very adverse effect. When she called back to cancel the day before her scheduled stay, well within our policy limits, given her reaction we waived the fee and never charged the credit card provided. They neither incurred nor paid any fee, nor did they stay with us. We have not been here for 13 years to collect cancellation fees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

My son and I were able to secure a room at the Old Town Farm Inn in Chester, VT for the weekend of 2/7/13 trhough 2//9/13. Highly recommended, as it is a laid-back friendly B&B with a terrific breakfast.

We arrived later than we thought and both Aleks and Michiko were there to greet us, and could not have been more accommodating. We were asked at what time we wanted breakfast, which was very considerate. Our room was room #1, and featured a queen-sized bed and a pair of twin beds. Private baths are in each suite. Our room was comfortable and very clean, as was the bathroom. If you're a light sleeper, you may wish to request a room at the back of the inn, as some may hear the occasional vehicle traveling on Rt. 10 when in a front room. Our room had a TV which is connected to a DVD/VCR player - no channels. I'm glad for this, because instead of melting in front of a TV, we were able to do other things, such as backgammon, read, etc. There are a host of movies, games, etc in the Common Room (see below) as well as a room on the main floor with Dish TV and some reading materials.

Don't miss the common room, in the basement of the house, which is very warm and welcoming. My son and I were very interested in the map of Cape Cod wrecks as well as the stone floor. At the end of a long day, the fire in the common room was a great respite.

Breakfast was great. Our favorite was the french toast, as it tasted like it had a very good cinnamon/sugar coating on the outside. Breakfast was very efficient and served quickly, which was very much appreciated.

On Saturday night, the innkeepers presented a dinner for a group which was traveling from Ludlow, and although we were in our room upstairs, it sounded like a great success. When we return, we'd love to arrange for a dinner as well, since Michiko is known to be a very accomplished chef!

Overall very good aoccommodations, and a great value. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
4.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
9.0 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
4.3 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Farm Inn

Property: Old Town Farm Inn
Address: 665 Vt Route 10, Chester, VT 05143-9656
Region: United States > Vermont > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Old Town Farm Inn Chester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing