We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I went back and forth between choosing excellent and very good, but chose very good, because there is room for improvement AND we still had a wonderful experience. We will go back and see if they have made the improvements. The room was very clean and spacious. The view spectacular. One of the windows was broken (couldn't open) and needed a screen. They couldn't fix it while we were there but appreciated that we let them know, so hopefully they will fix it for the next person. Most of the service was excellent, friendly and helpful. There were a couple of people who were not as nice as most, so hopefully they will work on that. The restaurant is absolutely divine. We were a little wary, because sometimes when you're a "captive audience" (there are no other restaurants convenient to this getaway) the food can be uninspired. This was not the case. I had the best lamb chops I have ever had and my partner had a really delicious vegetarian ravioli. Every meal was special. We were there for burger night, which can be a problem for a vegetarian, but they had a veggie burger offering. We went for our first horseback ride ever. Went hiking on the trails. Because this place is pricey, expectations are high for exceptional service all around. So there needs to be a little more training in that area. But I highly recommend a stay there. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We arived early at this hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and showed us to our room without delay. The room simply blew us away. What a stunning view!! Also the room was very well presented and clean. The bathroom and linen were superb and the whole initial feeling was one of "WOW" We were extremely impressed. The whole experience got better as the staff overall were etremely friendly, courteous and helpful. We ate at the hotel dining room and also the tavern and on each occasion service was good as was the choice of food, which was also very good. In fact we found the helpings too generous!! We were sorry when our time to levae arrived. If we are fortunate enough to return to this area then we would have no hesitiation in booking a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground level facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We lucked upon this lovely place to stay while in Vermont looking at leaves. We booked a 1 bedroom able to sleep 4 with 2 queen beds. When we arrived at 1:00 am we were welcomed and shown a cottage with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and a large living room with a fire place at the original price. It also included a hearty breakfast the next morning. The people were lovely and very helpful. The view is incredible. I recommend this lovely inn to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytravel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We attended a meeting at the Mountain Top Inn, Chittenden, and couldn't have been more impressed! Front desk help was instant and accurate with every request -- views from all rooms as well as decor quite impressive--food service and entertainment/activities delightful! Don't forget if you are there in the summer, and fit enough to hike a mile uphill after the trek down, to walk the little road to the lake, it's simply stunning! If you love to get out and see the sights, nearby shopping, history, nature and food experiences are numerous, however, it's difficult to think of leaving the comfort of the inn and its rustic setting once ensconced. Honestly the most pleasant setting and professional service we've experienced in 16 years of consecutive meetings! (NOTE: we rate the "fitness center" category excellent even though the "fitness center" consists of trails for hiking and horseback riding, a lake for canoe trips and swimming, a tennis and fitness courts, and indoor Zumba classes. It's just the kind of fitness in fresh air that will keep one truly healthy)

Room Tip: We were there with 16 other couples/individuals and they all were impressed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaddog3104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

We are always pleased to know that when someone travels to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for a meeting, they are able to combine business and pleasure. Certainly your review reflects that you succeeded in doing this during you visit in July. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and your creative thoughts regarding our “fitness center”. That is a wonderful tribute to our staff knowing we are #1 for you after 16 years of meetings. Hopefully you will have the chance to return for a completely relaxing and fun stay with us in Vermont.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

If you are looking for the cozy feeling of an inn, this is the perfect retreat for you! Top notch food prepared with care can be enjoyed in causal clothing from your day spend outdoors. A wide range of outdoor activities include hiking, free kyaking, horseback riding, cross country sking, sleigh rides and much more. The bed, linens, and service are excellent. The rooms that face the mountains offer spectacular scenery, but there is no elevator service. The trip to the third floor is a steep 30 steps. This can be difficult with bags, children, or a bad knee. Be sure to ask the floor level of your room becasue a "2" does not necessarily mean the second floor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is rewarding to know that we have created the sort of ambiance that a “classic New England inn” is known for with our travelers. As such, being an historic inn we do have the challenge of no elevator and appreciate your tip to future guests regarding how the rooms are situated in the Lodge. We always have a member of our staff available to assist with the trip to the 3rd floor. When you return to see us, be sure to request a room on the lobby level if that is your preference.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed in the main inn for three nights at the beginning of the foliage season. We checked in after the sun went down but we were immediately impressed with the location and how beautiful the place was. We had great service when checking in and were happy with the room that was provided. The room was clean and spacious.

When we woke the next morning we were difinitely amazed at how spectacular the view was. Our stay there was a great time and we had a nice interaction with the staff. They were always friendly and helpful when it came to suggesting things to do in the area. They also washed a load of clothes for us when we inquired about a laundry facility so I was impressed with that. Breakfast was good and their steak was amazing for dinner.

We did a horseback ride, pontoon boat ride, and clay pigeon shooting with Brian. He was easy to talk to and made us feel comfortable.

The resort is not the cheapest place to stay but you get what you pay for. The views and the service exceeded my expectations and I would recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

We appreciate that you took the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. It is always our intention to provide warm, friendly service to our guests and we will certainly share your praise with our staff. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Realizing that you travelled a long way to see us, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you travel to New England.

Most sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Mountain Top Inn is an all around wonderful resort. My family and I recently spent a weekend in one of the chalet homes, which was absolutely beautiful. The views over the Chittenden Resevoir and Green Mountains are spectacular. The chalet was very well kept. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the dining room as well as a hearty VT brunch on Sunday morning before leaving. The staff throughout the resort was all very welcoming and accomodating. We also spent an afternoon horseback riding through the resorts numerous, well-kept trails. This place truly makes you appreciate the beautiful state of Vermont. I would recommend this place for a romantic weekend with your spouse or a fun, activity filled weekend with your friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort with other travelers. It is always our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests and it sounds as if we have done that for you. We hope you will visit again and continue to spread the word about the beautiful state of Vermont.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
456 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
23.9 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
288 reviews
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range: £179 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing