We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Just returned from a fabulous stay at the Mountain Top Inn.
Our first night in the Lago Vista Room featured some issues due to some unexpected effects of the heat (ask about that if you're staying in that room this time of year), but the staff was very responsive and moved us to the gorgeous Mountain Air Lodge for the rest of our stay.
The house was perfect and the resort itself is beautiful.
The food in the restaurant is very well made, and the tavern has a nice selection of wines and local beers in a warm setting.
The surrounding area features several nice towns for day trips, and the resort itself has more than enough to keep couples, or families, busy for days.
We'll definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms in the section near the Lago Vista are the warmest in the lodge, which leads to some unwelcome...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

We certainly appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. It is our intention to consistently provide a comfortable environment for all of our guests even if it means relocating guests to alternate lodging at our property. As you mentioned, this time of the year when the weather is unseasonably warm we have a challenge with flies who like to gather in the East facing suites due to the expansive, sun filled windows. Although our housekeeping staff is aware of the situation, unfortunately we did not keep up with the situation prior to your arrival. Fortunately you were able to enjoy one of our vacation rentals and the many great features of the Resort. We are glad that you will ‘definitely’ be back.

Sincerely,

Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

In the peak leaf season we stayed at the Mountain Top Inn for my son's wedding. The hotel was lovely, the food terrific, and the wedding was beyond amazing. We went to have an outdoor ceremony and unfortunately it rained all weekend! We stressed about it so much in the end, it really didn't matter! It was such a magnificent setting that everyone could see why the kids pick it for a destination wedding. Chelsea Howe, our wedding coordinator, was excellent at making the entire weekend run smoothly, she was relaxed and unflappable, which kept us all calm. From the welcome BBQ to Saturday late afternoon wedding to Sunday brunch, if you are thinking of having an intimate, beautiful wedding, I would highly recommend the Mountain Top Inn! We stayed in the High Meadow suite, great views, spacious, saw about 4 or 5 other rooms family were staying in and liked them all. It was clean, staff was helpful. There are many public areas to congregate in and it was relaxing to just hang with our guests, we took over the entire inn. Some of our guests stayed at the Chalet homes, although I never made it out of the inn they reported they were great as well. If you are looking for a VT destination wedding I would say look no further! Thanks so much Mountain Top for an amazing wedding weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the lake!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent a weekend there for a wedding. The lodge we had, the Wintergreen, was a series of three separate townhouses that could be rented individually or connected. The townhouses were beautiful, well decorated. We especially enjoyed the many afghans scattered over the living rooms, and the huge stuffed animals. Our place was isolated back in the trees. The view from the Lodge was magnificent.
Since it was the first snowfall of the season, and we did not own an SUV, a little bit more road maintenance so that cars didn't get stuck on the hills would have been helpful. I also laughed to myself when they offered "extended stay". They actually gave us a whole hour more. We had two small children, and were heading back to a home without electric, and were hoping to spend part of the early afternoon there.
The food was great, though the breakfast buffet had a bit of trouble keeping up with the large crowd.
Overall, a positive experience.

Room Tip: Not all cabins/townhouses have a view of the lake and mountains. Be sure to ask about this. We got...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbabe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My daughter is getting married in June of '12. We spent a weekend at the resort to check the place out and see first hand the accomodations and venue for the wedding. We stayed in one of the "cabins". The best way to describe the cabin was "rustric". Very simple with a feel of old world New England (meaning knotty pine, comfortable furniture and great fireplace). The Inn itself has much more refined rooms with great views (on the lake side) and very comfortable furniture and great common areas for reading, etc.

This inn is very traditional New England with basic emmenities, good food and service. I am looking forward to the wedding in the spring. We will be using the entire resort all weekend. The tent for the reception looked perfect and the outside patio area will be nice for cocktails before dinner.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view (vs the meadow). With a lake view you can watch the sun rise over the m...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Provided you're not looking for a busy social life (which, let's face it, no one heading for Vermont really does), this is a wonderful place for a holiday. In short, it is the ideal location for a retreat: the views of the lake, the hills in the distance, the friendly staff and much more combine to create a feeling of tranquility rarely found.
Whether summer or autumn, take plenty of books and relax. Really relax!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatGarrett11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I visited the Mountain Top Inn in August for our elopement. It was the best experience of our lives. We were married at dawn by the lake, then spent a week riding horses, kayaking, shooting, and generally having the time of our lives at this amazing resort.

The staff were just the best people ever. They upgraded us to the honeymoon suite at no charge, and were impossibly friendly and excellent in every way. When we returned home, I had forgotten my suit there and needed it asap for interviews -- when I called, they express-mailed it to me the next day. But this doesn't begin to describe how awesome everyone there is. I just hope they let me know if they ever visit New York, so I can buy them dinner here in thanks for being such great people.

If you get married here, and I HIGHLY endorse this as the place to do it, contact Kathy Hall to do the ceremony. She was just amazing. After our wedding, we woke up the next morning to flowers from her. When we return to the Mountain Top Inn for our wedding proper in a year or two (we just had our elopement, so our wedding will come up later), I hope she'll still be available.

Go here. Get married here. Bring your family here. It's the most beautiful place in the world, filled with the best people in the world. Given the size and beauty of the landscape, I'm very tempted to return in winter next time -- the sledding and skiing possibilities are endless.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FactualLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I went back and forth between choosing excellent and very good, but chose very good, because there is room for improvement AND we still had a wonderful experience. We will go back and see if they have made the improvements. The room was very clean and spacious. The view spectacular. One of the windows was broken (couldn't open) and needed a screen. They couldn't fix it while we were there but appreciated that we let them know, so hopefully they will fix it for the next person. Most of the service was excellent, friendly and helpful. There were a couple of people who were not as nice as most, so hopefully they will work on that. The restaurant is absolutely divine. We were a little wary, because sometimes when you're a "captive audience" (there are no other restaurants convenient to this getaway) the food can be uninspired. This was not the case. I had the best lamb chops I have ever had and my partner had a really delicious vegetarian ravioli. Every meal was special. We were there for burger night, which can be a problem for a vegetarian, but they had a veggie burger offering. We went for our first horseback ride ever. Went hiking on the trails. Because this place is pricey, expectations are high for exceptional service all around. So there needs to be a little more training in that area. But I highly recommend a stay there. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
423 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range: £180 - £825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing