We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, peaceful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We bought a deal through Living Social and hadn't heard of this place before that. As soon as we checked in, we were upgraded from our Classic Room to "Pheasant's Run" with fantastic views and a jetted bathtub. We stayed for 3 days/2 nights and spent 2 of them at the resort cross country skiing, snowshoeing, sledding, and we even took a ride in a horse drawn carriage! There was a firepit going near the *big* sledding hill to stay warm. They also offer outdoor ice skating, when the weather complies.

The drive to Killington is about 30 minutes.

They had live entertainment in the tavern. We found the food enjoyable in the Tavern and had 3 meals there. The kids menu is definitely kid friendly and the regular menu had plenty of variety. I recommend reservations for larger parties.

The staff was courteous and friendly.

Hot breakfast was included and offered something for everyone. The Inn also offers a free afternoon snack in the lobby, which was popular with our kids.

We hope to go back in the summer!

Room Tip: "Pheasant's Run" offered great views of the reservoir, 2 queen beds and a bathroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

We are glad to hear that a Living Social Deal brought you to visit us. Thank you for taking the time to add a review to Trip Advisor. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our many fun activities. We will share your comments with the staff; they always appreciate hearing that they have created a positive visit for our guests. The photos you posted are great! We look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
Kindly,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed at the mountain top inn and resort for a wedding and can say the whole experience was enjoyable . Our room was clean and well appointed (we had one of the cheaper rooms too). Views from the inn are breathtaking , and the entire ambiance is traditional Vermont. Lodging is a little pricey , but worth the extra expense . Only wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy the activities available at the resort . If you are skiing or just enjoying Vermont this is the place to stay to make your time unforgettable .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent experience while staying with us. We hope that you will find your way back again soon to enjoy the many activities you missed during the wedding weekend.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We just stayed at the White Birches. First class, beautiful, cozy and top notch equipment. We felt we had everything we needed including every kitchen utensil we needed (referencing a review a while back). Beautiful view, we spent 5 peaceful days there. The service at the mountain top was excellent, free breakfast in a beautiful restaurant. We liked the whole experience a lot. As a suggestion, we would suggest a sound bar or small home theater in one of the TV's (it has many flat screens,including in the master bath, one in the third bedroom is still crt). Killington is about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlW1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with future travelers. White Birches is one of our vacation rentals; we continue to work with the owners of all the homes to ensure our guests have a memorable visit to the resort.
Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The Mountain Top Inn was above anything we were expecting on our trip to New England. We bought a deal on Groupon and are we glad we did. We too got a free upgrade to a luxury room "The Birches". What an amazing view and room. Everything was perfect. Great bed and the bathroom was great. We loved the look of the inn and the food. The meal we had was amazing. Maybe a little expensive, but very tasty. I tried the pan seared Elk Loin and couldn't believe how good it was. I've never had it before so thought why not. Breakfast is great and the staff were so nice. We booked another night instead of staying at my sisters place in Pittfield (about 30 mins away). Cannot say enough good things about this place. Definately a highlight for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

We are always pleased to hear we exceeded the expectations of our guests. Thanks for sharing! Be sure to watch for future specials. Hope you will be back again soon.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We went there for a weekend get away and was amazed by the service, staff, and amazing views. We had a surprise upgrade to one of the homes and couldn't have been more happy or pleased with our stay....I can't say enough good things about this place and already have recommended to others.

Worth the drive off the beatten path, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Book a cabin or home, worth the view and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

We are glad to hear that you had such a great time visiting us. We shared your positive comments with our staff since they are the ones responsible for the "fantastic" time you experienced. Word of mouth is the best advertising, so thanks for spreading the word.
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We got a Living Social coupon to go here and we had a great time. The free use of kayaks on site is GREAT, we took full advantage each day we were there. Food there is expensive but the area is so nice and the view while eating outside so amazing it is worth it. Folks who say you need to get a room on the backside for the view have a point but even overlooking the parking area you still get a better view than most places (the lot is small and backs onto a fielded area they have horses). We found our time there VERY relaxing, would love to go back if we get another deal, otherwise I would think that it would be too pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoxerM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Thanks for the positive review of your stay at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We do occasionally run specials with Living Social and other flash sale sites. Also we recommend guests sign up for our e-newsletter to learn about more of our deals.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I though the place had a fantastic view, a little pricy but I asume most places are in Vermont. We were there for a wedding and had very little to do anything else. I would have loved to go hiking and canoeing, sure looked like a great place to do it. I stayed in a cabin and not the main inn, we had a fireplace that burned real logs so that was pretty cool. This was my first trip to Vermont and I though it was a very pretty state with very few people. I would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigers1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

We are pleased to hear your first visit to Vermont was a positive experience and we hope you'll be back again to enjoy the many activities we offer year round. Once is definitely not enough.
Warm regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
434 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range: £185 - £1,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing