We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountaintop Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountaintop Paradise”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My family recently stayed at MTI and were pleasantly surprised by everything we encountered. I cannot rate the location, staff and amenities highly enough.

The best part of the resort is definitely the location. Located in the mountains, every view is spectacular. More amazing is the Reservoir that the resort sits above. Not only does it complete the landscape, but it is readily accessible to resort guests. During our stay it seemed as if the Resevoir was utilized by only resort guests. Even among guests, the beach was always quiet. Surrounded by forrest, we enjoyed canoeing, kayaking, swimming, sun bathing and building sand castles. It is by far the most peacful beach I have ever visited.

Despite being in a very natural setting, the resort offers many upscale amenities. The heated outdoor pool and hot tube are beautiful. The patio area has been completed very tastefully to match the scenery. Changing rooms are clean, luxurious and well stocked with bright white towels and toiletries. My children enjoyed a movie in the new "theatre" on comfy bean bag chairs with a big screen TV. The fitness room appeared well equipped; however, we were so busy with outdoor activities we never used it.

Rooms at the inn are just what one might imagine. They radiate warmth. Again, the decor has been well thought out. In addition, anything you might want is within arm's reach in shared sitting rooms. We could sit and enjoy a magazine, board game or utilize the wifi throughout the lodge, including our room. Important to me was the resorts cleanliness. I was not disappointed in my room or throughout the lodge. Housekeeping and landscaping staff were clearly visible and everything was perfectly manicured.

The staff at MTI was extremely accomodating and friendly. It almost felt as if they were extended family members you WANTED to see. It seemed as if each staff member truly enjoyed being at the resort as much as we did. Staff was always smiling and quickly and eagerly met all requests.

This was definitely our families favorite vacation at a fraction of what we typically spend.

Room Tip: Staff is very accomodating if you specify requests and/or special circumstances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We appreciate the many areas you highlighted as being the reason you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for providing so many details for future guests to consider when planning a vacation. We all look forward to seeing again soon.
Most sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    163
    57
    24
    17
See reviews for
194
228
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Everything is "ok", but certainly not what one would expect, and definitely not for the $.
Room not made up at 2:00pm when I return to get ready for a wedding. When I turned down the bedspread that night, the sheets and pillows were in the same crumpled mess I left them, just covered. Huh?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations of a Vermont inn. It is helpful to know the specifics of your disappointment, as you detailed, so we can discuss with the appropriate department(s) where we fell short. I can assure you that your photo is not representative of our standards and management will be taking action to ensure it is not repeated. In regards to the timeliness of our housekeeping staff cleaning your room, we try to work within the schedule of the ceremony and wedding reception, it is not always possible.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This resort was a real surprise for us. When we arrived we were assigned Room 213. It is right down the hall from the lobby and has a spectacular view of the Vermont mountains and the lake that is close to the property. The room was spacious with a king sized bed. There was a kitchenette and a big bathroom. Despite being close mo the lobby and with activity below our window, the room was very quiet.

There is snow skiing in the winter and during the summer the hotel offers a variety of water sports on the lake and horseback riding.

One concern I ad was the bathtub/shower. I am 64 and not as nimble as I used to be. To get into the bathtub/shower I had to climb up on the provided stool and step into the tub. Coming out of the tub with wet feet I was worried about slipping. I'm not sure what the purpose of the elevated tub is, but be careful getting in and out.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and the food was pretty average. A standard breakfast buffet.

If you want to get away from it all and spend some time in a lovely spot, this is a good bet.

Room Tip: Room 213 has a beautiful view of the lake and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell other travelers how much you enjoyed your stay at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We appreciate all of your feedback; in particular your comments regarding the tub and breakfast. We will be sure to share your feedback with all our staff as a means of improving the guest experience whenever possible.

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My boyfriend and I had a two night stay at the Inn great food friendly workers and a lot of activities to do. We went on a trail ride through the woods again great workers all friendly and helpful horses were great considering my boyfriend had never been riding before. The staff were very helpful as we were new to the area and helped us locate the movie theater downtown. I was very impressed with the room and the bathroom clean and spacious with a beautiful view( we stayed in Ikes view). We loved the private beach and access to the kayaks. They do an amazing job with there landscape and there outdoor patio. We have decided to make this our yearly getaway!

Room Tip: Loved Ikes view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you very much for the positive review of your stay with us. We shared your comments with our staff; in particular the staff at the Equestrian Center who made your first experience on horseback so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again next year as The Mountain Top Inn & Resort becomes your "annual getaway" vacation spot!
Enjoy the rest of the summer,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I had to cancel my reservations a full 6 weeks ahead of my reservations and they required me to pay a 10% refund fee from my reservation total. Although I just now found this policy on their website, I don't recall being told about it at the time of the reservation. They also told me that if I had to cancel within 30 days they would not have given me any kind of refund at all!

I realize they are a small hotel but policies like this are not very guest-friendly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
It is unfortunate that you had to cancel your reservation with us, as we know how disappointing it is when we are unable to take a trip that we have planned. As you mentioned we detail our cancellation policy on our website and it is stated on the confirmation letter that our guests receive; we will make every effort to be more consistent about telling guests when they book a reservation with our staff. Thank you for your feedback which will help us communicate more clearly with our guests.

Regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed the Mountain Top Inn so much that we will make it our annual vacation spot.
We have visited multiple times, staying in various vacation rentals, the cabins as well as the Inn rooms and they never disappointed. There are many reasons to be impressed by the Inn and its staff but here are a few points that have stood out to us during our stays:
• We have never experienced a friendlier, more heartfelt and accommodating staff anywhere. This goes for everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, wait staff bartenders and management. They truly make you feel like friends.
• The rooms and houses have always been extremely clean, including the pet friendly ones.
• At full occupancy, the Inn remains surprisingly peaceful and private; never feeling crowded. The Inn has been completely booked, yet we still felt as if we were staying at our own private resort.
• The Mountain Top does a remarkable job maintaining its beauty by keeping the grounds well manicured and seasonally decorated. Lunch on the outdoor patio is really an experience with the breathtaking views that are accompanied by the unusually common humming birds that buzz around the patio flowers in the summer months.
• The Inn and staff are attendant but non-invasive and they pull it off extraordinarily well. For example, canoes and kayaks line the beach and are available to explore the reservoir at any time. There is no need to have to “check them out” before your excursion giving a sense of having “free-range”
Again, just a few qualities noticed at Mountain Top that keep us coming back. We’ve had such positive experiences that we chose to get married here. Other venues we interviewed with were all trying to fit our wedding into a “box” and Mountain Top was the first place to ask how they could customize the day to our needs. This attitude is a small taste of what you’re in for if you choose to stay with them and if you don’t, you’re missing out!

Keith, Kristin & Maybelle

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of The Mountain top Inn & Resort. We certainly appreciate your positive comments and the details of why other travelers would enjoy staying with us. We are excited to hear that we are your vacation choice for your annual trip and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

What a great experience this was. We attended a wedding on the grounds of this Inn. We stayed in a hotel the night before the wedding, and the quality just wasn't there. We drove to the Inn in the morning, walked in and Ellen was there to greet us with open arms. We explained that we would like to stay the night as we were attending a wedding there. Not only did she get us a beautiful room, she went out of her way to let us get in there earlier than check in. The entire staff of this resort was polite, accommodating and made us want to plan a trip back. I would advise and encourage anyone visiting this area to stay here. There is just no comparison to anything else in the area.

Room Tip: Overall, this is a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We are always happy to hear that our staff offered polite, accommodating service throughout your stay. We shared your comments with them so they are aware of how important great service is and that their attentiveness means you want to return to see us again at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort.

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing