We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cute but disappointing”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I went here for an event and was a little disappointed. Totally cute location, building and ambiance, but it fell behind in some of its basic functionality. The rooms I looked in were total cabin in the woods, what you should expect from a New England Lodge Resort. I had quail wallcovering with matching window treatments. The bathroom had a nice size jet tub enclosed with a overhead shower.
The problems were discovered upon closer inspection and over time. The room was uncomfortably warm and dry which made it somewhat difficult to sleep. I am usually always cold but this was one of those rare instances where sleeping above the covers still didn't satisfy. I overheard my neighbor at breakfast say they had to open their window to cool off (40 degrees and raining outside). I did not see any controls in the room so that did seem like their only option.
I thought it would be fantastic to take a big bubble bath, but I noticed a good deal of what appeared to be black mold on the tub surround wall tile. I decided to stick with a shower for fear that the bath experience would be disturbing. Not that it was, I just had a fear to find out. The last disappointment was that the fire alarm went off at 6:30am and again at 6:45am in the hallway, for unknown reasons. I knew the sound transmission to the corridor was bad the night before when I mistook house keeping knocking on the door next to me as being my door, but it was even more evident when you are tucked under your pillows hiding from an alarm that the front desk informs you is some sort of false alarm.
I may have just had a bad experience, and like I said the place was really cute and cozy. The breakfast buffet was small but tasty and the service was friendly. If they can tackle the dry heat issue and the black grout at the shower tile it would make guests, at least me and my talkative neighbor's stay much more pleasant.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so if you are staying more than a night and have large luggage, pack lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Specific comments such as yours can help us to implement procedures that will create a more positive experience for future guests. Making changes to how the fire alarm system works is prohibited, due to fire safety regulations; however we can take steps to make the in-room thermostat more obvious as well as including instructions for operation. Additionally we have advised housekeeping about the grout in the room where you stayed.
Thank you for your positive comments as well, and we hope you will find a reason for a return trip soon.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    164
    57
    24
    18
See reviews for
198
229
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Could not be more happy that my daughter and son-in-law chose VT as their venue and the Mountain Top Inn instead of a typical "NY" style wedding. The scenery is beautiful, the food is delicious, the wedding coordinators, manager and the staff were a pleasure to work with and did everything we asked for. We love the Inn and the 2 houses we rented. We all want to go back and do it all over again!

Room Tip: You will need to keep the drapery open for more light as the rooms are slightly dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the resort and our staff. Weddings are very important to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, so it is rewarding to hear that we created a memorable experience for you, your guests and of course the bride and groom! We all look forward to welcoming you back to see us.
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We used a package deal to stay three nights. Although it rained around the clock we totally enjoyed ourselves. Our room was absolutely beautiful and looked out on the lake and the mountains. On our last morning, the rain had cleared out and we saw the most beautiful sunrise as the sun crept up over the mountains. The food and service was quite outstanding and we found all of the wait staff to be extremely effective and most friendly. My only complaint was that the swimming pool heater was broken the whole time because the water temperature unswimmable. We shall always remember our 46th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Lake-side rooms are the clear choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing for feedback with fellow travelers. We are happy to hear that you chose The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your anniversary get away; and pleased that we made it a memorable one for you. We are sorry that the new pool was not available while you were with us. The issue with the heater was addressed and it was used regularly all summer. Perhaps a return visit next summer is in order so you can give it a try!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Mountain Top Inn & Resort. It was beyond our wildest dreams! Our guests were all able to stay at The Inn or one of the rental houses on the property, so once they parked their car they were able to stay put all weekend and experience all that the resort has to offer! When we initially expressed interest in having our wedding there, Khele Sparks hosted us and both of our families and gave us a thorough tour. Once we set a date, we were put in touch with a coordinator on site. We had the pleasure of working with Leah Boyer, who coordinated every vendor and decoration with great ease and precision. Whatever we wished, she helped us make a reality. The food was delicious- from the pizza and wings at the Meet 'n Greet, to the passed appetizers, to the reception dinner (herb roasted chicken, prime rib, vegetable risotto), to the late night sliders and fries, and then the breakfast - all of our guests were happily fed! One even said, "this is the best wedding food I've ever had," after having the prime rib with horseradish sauce. There is so much to do right on the property- everyone went for a hike, my cousin taught a private yoga class in the gorgeous studio, they made snow on the hill so everyone reverted to childhood and went sledding, and the horses were an added attraction. The ambiance at the Mountain Top Inn in the shared spaces and the rooms/houses and the barn, combined with the professionalism of all staff members (Anne at the front desk, Ashley serving food, and all bartenders) made every single guest's experience at our wedding weekend a total blast! We highly recommend this quaint and beautiful Inn for a weekend getaway, an overnight trip, or a wedding! Thank you, Mountain Top Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Your thoughtful and thorough review of your visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your wedding is sincerely appreciated. We are proud to have had the chance to host you and your family & friends for such an important occasion. Thank you for mentioning staff members who were particularly instrumental in providing professional service and friendly hospitality. Be assured that we will share your review with our staff.
Congratulations and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I visited the resort for a 2 night stay for a wedding weekend. I shared a lovely house with seven friends- cozy with big fireplace and comfy lounge, nice kitchen, private outdoor hot tub with pond and lake view. We visited the rustic lodge for a dinner and breakfast (fabulous made to order pasta bar as part of pre-wedding dinner). Staff were friendly and helpful and multiple people remarked on an especially awesome older bartender. We drove down to the lake's beach, just a mile from the lodge, and would be great to use the canoes and kayaks in fairer weather. Despite a popular wedding venue (3 weddings our weekend), it felt like we were the only people there. They did a great job of organizing events so each group felt they were the only guests. Also lots of activities available- clay bird shooting, horseback riding, etc. The cute college town of Middlebury is an hour drive, two hours to funky Burlington, and Rutland is quite close in case you forgot something. It's an amazing place to relax away from it all (but free easy wifi in cabins if you just can't). Enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended, as well as your stay with us. Your positive comments have been shared with our staff. We hope you will come back again for a 'non-wedding' vacation.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Was recently here with my wife for a wedding. The property was beautiful, and had a great history. From the moment we arrived it was pretty clear that folks working at the property were calling it in, and honestly if it wasn't for the wedding we might have cut our stay short. The front desk clerk looked honestly surprised when i asked her if there was a elevator to get our bags to our room of if there was a bell clerk. The next day room service barely made our room, it looked like someone jumped on our bed and ate cookies after making it. Also both of the shower cap boxes were empty when my wife tried to take a shower.

We were also disappointed with the activity desk. In the itinerary for the wedding there were a list of activities for the day and there was also hand written sandwich board with the list of the days activities. When we went to book them they were "unavailable", upon further inquiry the best i can tell was that the person just didn't show up or something. Lastly they were running two simultaneous wedding brunches the server running them was rudely directly folks to sit in rooms where there wasn't seating and when we were able to convince her that the room was in fact full we were sat in a room with the lights turned off.

On the bright side the wedding was beautiful and well run. Also, the bartenders in the lounge were really fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. It is always most helpful when guests identify specific areas, as you did, where our service was lacking. As you noted we are fortunate to have a beautiful property, with a great history dating back to when elevators were not standard in a 3 story inn. Our staff is trained to always assist our guests with luggage and I am sorry that was not offered to you and your wife. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and the service provided by our bartenders. Your review has been shared with each department head, so that every detail can be addressed and avoided for future guests.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you were to imagine the perfect country inn, nestled in the mountains of Vermont--one that offered stunning views and country comforts, you'd find yourself dreaming of The Mountain Top Inn. Top notch staff, food overall was good, a couple of misses but the kitchen was also handling a large wedding party. It shouldn't have been a problem, but it happens. Chicken special was overcooked, bar was out of seasonal beers. That aside, I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are happy to hear that most of your stay was enjoyable and that you will return; however we are sorry that your dining experience was less than perfect. Sharing comments like this helps us to focus on inconsistencies that should not happen. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
416 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
22.8 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
584 reviews
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing