We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is not the first time we've been to the Mountain Top. We've been 4 times over the years and pretty much anyone with bring with us returns as well. We didn't want to stay home for New Year's, but we didn't want to go too far either so we thought of The Mountain Top since there's a lot to do and I know that they've added some amenities and they had a New Year's package. We left our adult children to theiir own devices and drove up on Monday with a check out of Wednesday. We got the package that was $665 with New Year's dinner, both breakfasts and the party in the barn on NYE. We got lucky and got the Mamie's Retreat Suite. It was beautiful! Remember this is a New England Inn: it's supposed to be rustic not sleek and swanky. There are a lot of gathering areas and the tavern was great. This was a very busy time and you could tell the staff was rushed off their feet but never lost their cool and the food was great. The dinner NYE was far better than we expected with very nice choices and super quality. The sledding hill is EPIC. We tried both cross country skiing and snow shoeing....prefer snow shoeing: didn't fall down. Both great work outs. We took advantage of the Yoga in the new barn. That was harder than we expected but felt great. Back to the room...two flat screen TVs; one in the bedroom, one in the living room. Fireplace in both and a huge remodelled bathroom with a massage tub. Bedding was super high quality with extra pillows. There was a kitchenette as well but we didn't use it. They put coffee out very early so we didn't even need to make it in the room. The staff are great and the service outstanding. The only one downside: no wifi in the rooms. There is wifi in the living room and no cell service at all. I care less about the cell service than the wifi. They just need to put routers in like they did in the barn. They have a shuttle to Killington as well. All in all it really is a perfect New England experience and great for children.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms in the main inn are very nice and updated. We had a suite: Maime's Retreat whic...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtperreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed each aspect of your visit and recognized the staff as well. As a repeat guest you knew what to expect and it sounds like we exceeded those expectations, which is always our goal. Regarding the in-room WIFI, we are aware that this is unacceptable and are working with our computer company to add the routers in the Lodge as you suggested. We look forward to welcoming you back again, at which time we are certain to have the WIFI throughout the Lodge.
Many thanks,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked a trip to Mountain Top based on previous visits that were great. On a recent return, we were disappointed at the lack of overall effort from the resort. The in-house restaurant menu selection was mediocre at best and the food was very bland. The horse drawn sleigh ride was overpriced, much shorter than the advertised 30 minutes and the driver had the personality of a log. There just didn't seem to be any enthusiasm from the staff as a whole. I had expected to recommend this resort to others who had been looking forward to visiting Vermont, but I will not be recommending Mountaintop to them based on this last visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelerS5071XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

We are always appreciative of feedback from our guests, since that is how we can identify issues that we need to correct. Having stayed with us previously, you know it is always our intention to provide a much better experience than you encountered on your last stay. Each of the areas that you mentioned have been addressed with our managers and staff. If you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back, I am confident your stay will mirror the "great visits" from earlier stays.
Thank you again for taking the time to communicate with us.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We visited here the busy week leading up to New Year's. Inn was full. Bar was packed with diners. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby and lounge area so it was full as well. The room had a sitting area with fireplace, a mini bar with sink and refrigerator, and comfortable king bed. Bathroom had a recent makeover with upgraded Kohler fixtures and included a shower and large, soaking tub. Views from the room were gorgeous.Room downsides were grimy wall paper and large dark pieces of furniture. A reservation was definitely needed for dinner and we were a bit ahead of the crowd at 6:30 PM. Our group ordered salads and French onion soup (all tasty) followed by entrees. The entrees were problematic. The blackfish special was a very small serving, much smaller than the other plates. The salmon on a cedar plank was a generous piece of farmed salmon but the cedar aroma was overpowering and had spread to the meager serving of accompanying vegetables. One guest's clams and linguine dish was the largest plate, but 4 clams had not opened and had to be discarded. One guest had sheperd's pie and it was very tasty but in a crock and unaccompanied. Desserts of peanut butter explosion and a cheesecake were vastly overshadowed by homemade espresso heath bar crunch ice cream. The ice cream was the hit of the meal. If you visit with with kids, bring their plastic sleds for sliding on the great hill behind the Inn and ice skates for the little rink across the road. Great outdoor fun center.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

It is disappointing to hear of your displeasure with your recent stay. We appreciate that you took the time to share specific areas that we need to reassess, since that helps us to review things like decor and menu items. Thank you for mentioning the positive aspects of your stay as well; that way we learn what we are doing right, in addition to what we need to improve. Since Middlebury is a short drive away, we hope you'll come back and give us a second chance, and perhaps have a dish of our homemade ice cream. Thank you again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the Mountain Top Inn back in October, I had planned to review this beautiful place sooner but it slipped my mind!
Our stay began with a warm greeting by a receptions whose name escapes me for the moment, it started with an M. Regardless, she was wonderful throughout our stay-- our first room had an unfortunate temporary issue with the jacuzzi tub and she moved us quickly to a much nicer lodge room with a fully functional hot tub in the bathroom, we were so pleased!
The next morning we both awoke to watch the sun rise over the beautiful mountains while enjoying hot coffee on the back patio, and then enjoyed a hot breakfast inside while chit chatting with the friendly guests who joined us.
I cannot say a sufficient amount of positive things in regards to this hotel, Im excited to return in January to enjoy a winter retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. For a real treat, choose a lodge room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our front desk staff. It is rewarding to know that the way they greet the guests and handle 'issues' is what keeps guests returning time after time. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you for your winter retreat.
Warm regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I went here for an event and was a little disappointed. Totally cute location, building and ambiance, but it fell behind in some of its basic functionality. The rooms I looked in were total cabin in the woods, what you should expect from a New England Lodge Resort. I had quail wallcovering with matching window treatments. The bathroom had a nice size jet tub enclosed with a overhead shower.
The problems were discovered upon closer inspection and over time. The room was uncomfortably warm and dry which made it somewhat difficult to sleep. I am usually always cold but this was one of those rare instances where sleeping above the covers still didn't satisfy. I overheard my neighbor at breakfast say they had to open their window to cool off (40 degrees and raining outside). I did not see any controls in the room so that did seem like their only option.
I thought it would be fantastic to take a big bubble bath, but I noticed a good deal of what appeared to be black mold on the tub surround wall tile. I decided to stick with a shower for fear that the bath experience would be disturbing. Not that it was, I just had a fear to find out. The last disappointment was that the fire alarm went off at 6:30am and again at 6:45am in the hallway, for unknown reasons. I knew the sound transmission to the corridor was bad the night before when I mistook house keeping knocking on the door next to me as being my door, but it was even more evident when you are tucked under your pillows hiding from an alarm that the front desk informs you is some sort of false alarm.
I may have just had a bad experience, and like I said the place was really cute and cozy. The breakfast buffet was small but tasty and the service was friendly. If they can tackle the dry heat issue and the black grout at the shower tile it would make guests, at least me and my talkative neighbor's stay much more pleasant.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so if you are staying more than a night and have large luggage, pack lig...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Specific comments such as yours can help us to implement procedures that will create a more positive experience for future guests. Making changes to how the fire alarm system works is prohibited, due to fire safety regulations; however we can take steps to make the in-room thermostat more obvious as well as including instructions for operation. Additionally we have advised housekeeping about the grout in the room where you stayed.
Thank you for your positive comments as well, and we hope you will find a reason for a return trip soon.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Could not be more happy that my daughter and son-in-law chose VT as their venue and the Mountain Top Inn instead of a typical "NY" style wedding. The scenery is beautiful, the food is delicious, the wedding coordinators, manager and the staff were a pleasure to work with and did everything we asked for. We love the Inn and the 2 houses we rented. We all want to go back and do it all over again!

Room Tip: You will need to keep the drapery open for more light as the rooms are slightly dark.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words about the resort and our staff. Weddings are very important to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, so it is rewarding to hear that we created a memorable experience for you, your guests and of course the bride and groom! We all look forward to welcoming you back to see us.
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We used a package deal to stay three nights. Although it rained around the clock we totally enjoyed ourselves. Our room was absolutely beautiful and looked out on the lake and the mountains. On our last morning, the rain had cleared out and we saw the most beautiful sunrise as the sun crept up over the mountains. The food and service was quite outstanding and we found all of the wait staff to be extremely effective and most friendly. My only complaint was that the swimming pool heater was broken the whole time because the water temperature unswimmable. We shall always remember our 46th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Lake-side rooms are the clear choice.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for sharing for feedback with fellow travelers. We are happy to hear that you chose The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your anniversary get away; and pleased that we made it a memorable one for you. We are sorry that the new pool was not available while you were with us. The issue with the heater was addressed and it was used regularly all summer. Perhaps a return visit next summer is in order so you can give it a try!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
424 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range: £180 - £821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing